We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anvil

The Anvil
Churchtown Square | Cubert, Newquay TR8 5HD, England
1637 830444
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 180 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Nice Little Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I've popped in here on quite a few occasions, each time the beer was fantastic and the service very good indeed, the gentleman behind the bar is very welcoming and the pub has a nice atmosphere. I've only eaten once and had the Ham, egg and chips which was pretty good too! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“" Excellent"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We don't live very far away ( Newquay ) but we haven't been in here for a meal for many a year. We didn't have to book either. The people were friendly and the service was good. Its family run . We were mainly served by Ollie who came over every so often to check on us. The portions were also a good size. We shall come again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Cornish village pub with real ale and home cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Anvil is a delightful, friendly, local village pub with a great selection of real ale, cider and delicious, reasonably priced food. On holiday in Cubert recently, we went to The Anvil for an early evening drink and were so impressed with the standard of draught beer and cider, and the enthusiasm and knowledge of Colin and Jo, the owners, we returned the next evening for a meal. We were not disappointed; from a great menu which includes mainly local produce, the three of us chose whitebait starters which were so fresh and mouth watering, followed by mains of fish pie, steak and mushroom stroganoff and steak and ale pie all cooked by Jo on the premises. What a refreshing change in Cornwall these days to be served wholesome, home cooked dishes at fair prices plus all made with fresh, seasonal ingredients!
Good ambience too as locals were popping in for a pint, and nice background music.
Thoroughly recommend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The Anvil”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Decided to eat here whilst staying in treworgans holiday park as friends were staying in crantock so convenient for our first meal out ,apart from not being dog friendly ,so left dogs in car on road which wasn't great but as the sun wasn't out it wasn't a problem . The place seemed friendly enough the menu looked good so we all ordered our meals and drinks . We all said the meals were average and could of done with being hotter as only warm . I was also disappointed to ask for tomato sauce and be given a bottle that was nearly empty. All in all think they could of done better .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roche, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“valentines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

had a lovely meal with the family, Colin & Jo were brilliant host's and the meal was excellent, nothing was to much bother, the valentine set meal was reasonably priced including a glass of bubbly. The waitress Zoe was confident and polite, a good ambassador for The Anvil. Thanks from the Morey's

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anvil also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Anvil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anvil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.