We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“special and informal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bodhi's Beach Cafe and Bistro

Bodhi's Beach Cafe and Bistro
South Fistral Beach | Pentire, Newquay, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 172 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“special and informal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Enjoyed a relaxing meal whilst the sunset over Fistral beach. Food and service excellent, great atmosphere and manages to balance informal with exclusivity. Book your balcony or window seat in advance!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    41
    15
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, Uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“very poor, very slow”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Waited over an hour for a couple of paninis.

After about 40 minutes waitress said "there's been a bit a mix up in the kitchen... - we're doing them now"
"
(translation: we had forgotten your order, but have just found it).

After another 25 minutes (how long does it take to assemble a sandwich and heat it up on a griddle?) 2 paninis arrived - mine was covered in burnt "bits" - tasted OK though.

oh and the accompanying salad had no dressing - is this 2013 or 1973?

£16.60 for 2 waters, 2 paninis (1 burnt) and a 60 minute+ wait

no "was everything OK?" halfway through the snack or when paying.

yes I could have complained - but we were on holiday - didn't want the aggro - so thought I'd write a grotty (but 100% accurate and honest) review instead

overall rating: very poor

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A special place, stunning views and a secret worth sharing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We have spent our first weekend in Newquay, staying at The Esplanade Hotel. Bodhi's beach bar/Bistro is a real find, situated down the steps to Fistral Beach, opposite our hotel. Nice wines, cider and soft drinks. Delicious seafood, burgers, steaks etc.. Open all day.. From breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals. Open all day. Bodhi's has a relaxed informal atmosphere. For me, the view has to be one of the most gorgeous I have had the good fortune to sit and look at. Highly recommend - thanks for 2 delicious meals. We'll be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great spot for a relaxing drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We called in here a couple of times for a drink and sat on the balcony overlooking the beach. Friendly service and a great spot.

Most of the tables appeared to be reserved for the evenings, so probably best to book in advance.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Small and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A little on the expensive side for food but offers great sea views and the food was very good. Think it is a family run place, very friendly and welcoming.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodhi's Beach Cafe and Bistro also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Bodhi's Beach Cafe and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bodhi's Beach Cafe and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.