We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst crab sandwich” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fern Pit Cafe

Fern Pit Cafe
19 Riverside Crescent | At Pentire Headland, Newquay, England
1637873181
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 180 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Cafe at Crantock Beach, at the seaside and at the same time riverside, near the ferry
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worst crab sandwich”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We have been visiting the Fern Pit for over 25 years but today we visited and had our usual crab sandwich but what a disappointment. Had to wait ages and when it did arrive it was very poor the bread was just basic sliced bread and that was stale we really would expect more for £7.25

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FernPit, Manager at Fern Pit Cafe, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Firstly thank you for your 25 years of custom. We are however very sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received this year. We do take comments and criticism seriously as it helps to improve our service. It is however unfortunate you did not bring this to our attention while you were here so we could at least attempt to resolve the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    15
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Fantastic Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This wonderful family run Cafe is a real gem, set overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock Beach it is a delightful place to visit and enjoy their range of food. Eat indoors or out and there is an excellent Children's room where the youngsters can play once they have had their fill.

The Crab Sandwiches must rate alongside the best anywhere in the country. Freshly caught by the Cafes own fishing boats they could not be any fresher and they are simply prepared so that you get the taste of the Crab rather than the dressing as in some places.

I highly recommend this Cafe. We visit there each time we go to Cornwall, superb.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyland, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, casual lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great walking stop on a sunny day as the views over Crantock beach and the Gannet Estuary are beautiful. Sandwiches and cheesy chips are a must have!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ssh..keep this lovely place secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place, lobster and crab so fresh it is almost rude. Just don't tell everyone or it will change and I wouldn't want to change a thing!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Best place for fresh crab salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

As mentioned this place is 'off the beaten track' but the views sitting outside overlooking Crantock beach were stunning. The outside area is protected. The crab salad was a huge portion. A great meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fern Pit Cafe also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Fern Pit Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fern Pit Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.