We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Kings Head Inn

The Kings Head Inn
Lane, Newquay, England (Formerly The Kings Head)
01637 875385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #114 of 180 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: THE KINGS HEAD is a traditional family friendly pub a few 100 yards from Morrisons in Newquay.At The Kings Head we endeavour to serve fantastic good value food, using local produce wherever it is possible.We offer a wide selection of beers, wines & spirits.We provide a warm welcoming atmosphere for you to enjoy while having you meal, a drink with friends or a game of pool or darts.We also hold a quiz night every thursday night.There is a large car park opposite the pub with plenty of room for over 80 cars - handy for people popping in for lunch.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

The food was excellent and the staff that was working where so helpful and friendly ......BUT the drunk,swearing and almost fighting between the assistant manageress and what we later discovered was her other half is enough to put us of for life! !!! Definitely not a family pub !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    15
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok Carvery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

We had been out for the day 3eeks ago and were looking for somewhere to take to small children for a carvery. We went to the Kings Head and were asked to use the family room this was fine as we didn't want to disturb other diners.We ordered 4 8.99 dinners and one 6.99 to share with the children. There was a choice of 3meats roast potatoes suede mash and Yorkshire puddings. I could not eat mine as it was to salty and the Yorkshires were to hard obviously been there sine dinner because when we went in the had just opened.One of our party eat half the others eat nearly all of it. The only potatoes roast other than the suede mash. If I may suggest other varieties it would go down much better. Having said all that if I was passing I may go in again

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Friendly Welcome, ok Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

We visited on Sunday for the carvery. The welcome was friendly and the staff were very helpful. The pub itself needs a bit of a revamp, the decor is dated and it is certainly a bit "rustic", but if you don't go expecting anything fancy then you will be fine.

Firstly I have to say they were extremely busy, they had already served 100 more carvery than on a normal Sunday, or so we were told. They are situated just down the road from a big caravan/camping site and it was the first sunday of half term. I mention this because our food wasn't great, but I think how busy they were might have been a factor.

4 of our party had carvey, 2 ordered from the menu. The carvey was average, meat on offer was Lamb or Gammon, with a selection of veg, not the most interesting or varied selection of veg, but veg none the less. All 4 ate what was on their plates so nothing specific to complain about.
Of the 2 menu meals, one was ok the other really wasn't, in fact I left the majority of mine uneaten. There was no offer of condiments when the meals were served, and we could find none on a quick scout around the pub, all the staff were too busy to ask.

We won't be returning, but other reviews of this pub make me think we just got them on a bad day.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great meal, Great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014

We wish we had found THE KINGS HEAD INN the first night we spent in Newquay rather than the last.We had a lovely meal,the staff could not do enough for us,we really enjoyed the whole evening spent there,would recommend THE KINGS HEAD INN everytime,if we are in Newquay again will definitely go again,thank you.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgend
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“saturday afternoon pint”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

this place want a good clean it is scruffy and dirty, it was 50p dearer for the same two drinks in other pubs which were of much better standards than here!! will not be going back here in a hurry!!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Head Inn also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Kings Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kings Head Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.