We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant

The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant
39-41 Fore street, Newquay TR7 1HD, England
+44 1637 620975
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 172 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $46
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, British, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant under new management as of May 2013! The Dolphin is the oldest trading restaurant in the beautiful Cornish town of Newquay and is a traditional yet vibrant venue, with a friendly staff and a strong focus on sustainable and ethical practice. All produce is fresh and is locally and responsibly sourced, allowing for an exciting and dynamic food menu that appeals to people of all tastes. The lounge bar provides a relaxing area to enjoy well maintained draught lagers, ales and ciders, a carefully chosen range of wines and spirits, with a small but perfected cocktail list. The Dolphin is situated near to the Harbour in the centre of the town which is surrounded by gorgeous beaches famous for their golden sands and excellent surf conditions on the North Cornwall coast.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Dolphin looks so small from the outside but ascend the stairs and its huge with a great atmosphere and a warm welcome from friendly staff. We had the Sunday roast and wow! Locally sourced produce cooked and presented so well and yes very epic portions! Both the food and drink represent excellent value for money and we will return!

PS thanks for saving our turkey :-)

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello Robert, thanks so much for taking the time to review us, we love to get feedback from our customers. It is lovely to read that you enjoyed your meal with us :) absolutely our pleasure to reserve your meal of choice. We hope to see you again soon. Bex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    38
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“The best ribs I've ever tasted!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our family had a lovely meal at this restaurant on a trip to Cornwall for my dads 50th birthday. I ordered ribs, as I do in most places I go to, they were scrumptious the best I've ever tasted. Even better than the ribs I had at bubba gumps restaurant in America last year. The service was excellent too. Couldn't fault anything. Would 100% recommend going here, gorgeous food, lovely atmosphere and great people!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Jessica thank you so much for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your ribs! It is always an honour to host such a special event. I'll be sure to pass on your kind words to all of our staff :) Bex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Absolute gem of a place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We found this amazing place and would recommend it completely, the food, service and atmosphere is excellent.
Great menu with locally sourced produce every course was perfect. Incredible value for money, our only wish would be to live nearer although it is well worth a journey just to eat there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hello there, thanks for taking the time out to review us, it is greatly appreciated. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed our food and our service too, hopefully we will see you again in the future. Bex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, fab staff one of my faves”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband and I have returned here several times with the most recent being last month, I understand this has changed hands recently but certainly not to the detriment our experience. The choice on the menu is ample and every dish comes out looking and tasting amazing. Fab staff and just a great place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hello! Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated. It is lovely to read that you had a nice evening with us. Myself and my partner, Dan took ownership of The Dolphin in May 2013 and are working hard to create a restaurant to be proud of. It is brilliant to read that you have been coming here for years and hope to see you again :) Bex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

So pleased to have found this restaurant. Excellent quality ingredients very, very well cooked. Something for everyone on the menu as well. The Cornish mussels were a novel dish for us but we were so happy we ordered them, so delicious. We chose a house wine which was good. Service was efficient and friendly. Nice to be able to keep your table for the evening, this isn't always the case.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca H, Owner at The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Hi Elizabeth, thank you so much for taking the time out to review us. We really are passionate about our food and always endeavour to buy the very best quality ingrediants from local and ethical sources. It is great to read that this was apparent to you and that you felt the menu catered to all tastes. It is also fab to read that you went for the mussels when this is not a norm for you, our recipe for this dish is one of a kind and it's brilliant to read that you enjoyed them. We are very lucky to have such a lovely bunch of people working for us and providing such a high level of service to our customers, I'll be sure to extend your thanks to them all. Bex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dolphin Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.