We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Group Holiday - short break in October” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barrowfield Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Barrowfield Hotel to your Saves list
Barrowfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Group Holiday - short break in October”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great value for money. Good food, attentive staff, adequate entertainment to suit many tastes. Most people very satisfied with their rooms just a few adverse comments regarding the poor water flow in showers. We all enjoyed the food and realised that by keeping to our tables and ordering early, it speeded up service - no complaints. The swimming pool is great but only cold shower available - hope this is hot by now. Would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxed, friendly and entertaining short break for a group.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties and need the lift, choose a room on the top floor as the lift fills...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    84
    34
    18
    12
See reviews for
40
106
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

What can we say about this Hotel (FABULOUS) We found that the rooms was of a high standard Top marks for the Chef and all the staff we found them very helpful and friendly the food we found was just great,Well done Richard give all your staff a pat on the back for making our stay so good and we will be back again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise" Room 309 very clean and tidy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Recently returned from a 5 night stay at the Barrowfield. Having been on many coach holidays with several different companies my wife, I and our two friends thought that the holiday was good value for money.
The hotel was very clean and tidy and the food was to a good standard and served by friendly staff. The entertainment was average for this type of establishment. One game of bingo, a quiz. Followed by music & dancing not quite suitable for the age group on these type of holidays more hip replacement than hip hop. The hotel offers excursions and there is a bus stop close to the hotel serving Padstow, St Austell and Truro. Only complaint which is common in most older hotels creaky floorboards. The hotel has a small swimming pool and a snooker room. All the staff were very friendly and we would go to the hotel again if it was in a different resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were a group of 41 guests booked in for 4 nights. There were three other large groups staying at the hotel at the time. This hotel felt like an institution with a set time for each group to eat and our choice of dinner had to be made at breakfast. This was obviously for the convenience of the hotel feeding so many people. We would have liked to sit with different members of our group but were told we must stay at our own table for every meal. After some discussion with the management there was some leeway but this only happened on our last night. The food was very poor quality (except for the bacon which was remarkably good) and the restaurant staff were very smiley, helpful and mostly efficient in serving. The room we were allocated was ancient and very tired looking - desperately in need of renovation - only one top-hung window would open and the frames were black with mould. The tiles, bath sealant and plug were black with mould and the exposed pipes behind the wash basin stand had fur coats on them. The radiator was directly under the towel rail and was extremely rusty from water splashes. We asked for a different room and, all credit to the hotel, were shown another. This also had the same mouldy windows and although they all opened, they had to be propped as the restraining mechanism didn't work - not too much of a problem as we needed them open because of the smell of damp. This room appeared to have had some renovation although it was very shoddily done. As we were with a group we stayed but certainly would not have had we been on our own. However, we did go elsewhere for dinner after the first night of thick powdery soup with dried veg in it, decent chicken but covered in an acrid tasting (packet?)sauce and hard sweetcorn, grey peas and boiled potatoes that had hard skins and grey insides. The overall impression was of ' get them in, get them out, get the money'. The final straw was when we were told to have our suitcases outside our rooms at 7am so they could be loaded on the coaches before we left at 9.15am - and this was supposed to be a holiday?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just returned home from a mini break at The Barrowfield with Daish's.

On the plus side the food was good, and Paul our waiter was great and very entertaining,
The rest - the beds were harder than ironing boards, plenty of tea and coffee in the room but very little milk, Our windows either had to be wide open or not at all, and in the bathroom we had to perch it open with a cup. Hot water in the bathroom did not get hot until we had to run it for twenty minutes, and the walk in shower was a very slow piddle, I ended up hosing myself down withe the shower hose after taking the shower head off. The tv was very small and like a small blob attached to the ceiling. We asked for a twin room and ended up with a double bed and a childs bed. The room also had ONE plug, as everything else electrical seemed to be wired into the wall. Their is also NO coat hooks. We asked to swap rooms twice a day for the first three days (we were their for four), was was told they were fully booked. Every time we asked fat reception for someone to fix the window, they said they would be up 'in a minute' an dof course they never did come at all. The day trips they offered were good and priced well, but on picking up people after each drop off they didn't seem to check we were all back on the coach. Weather was good for mid September, bus stops close by, entertainment was good but a little bit rude as the evening went on. A reasonable hotel, but needs bringing into the 21st century.

Room Tip: I would not choose to go to this hotel again, go at your own risk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Staffs
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have been traveling with Daish's for some years now, and the standards at the Barrowfield are slipping badly. The Daish's brochure states "book early for the best seats and best rooms". We booked this holiday 11 months in advance so that we could get a walk in shower, both of us have walking difficulties and can not use a bath, it was also clearly stated on our booking confirmation. We got 3rd floor with a bath!!! Doesn't this contravene advertising / trading standards. However, after complaining, we did get moved to another room. Our alternative room was a good size, but needed some serious attention. Radiator badly stained and chipped paint, old screw holes still showing in walls, flaking ceiling in the bathroom, thread bear carpet. Again, 11 months prior booking you would expect a much better room. Dining room was "ok". Again some flaking paint on the ceiling in places. Service was very slow, you had to wait until it was your turn on the waitress's numbered rota. Sometimes we waited 20 minutes between courses. Food was adequate. Entertainment was poor to average. Supposed to finish at 11:00pm, all finished between 10:40pm and 10:50pm. Bar service was a little slow as one of the staff kept disappearing and leaving one guy on his own to cope. Bar prices are a little on the expensive side. On our list of Daish's, the Barrowfield was 2nd. Sadly, it has now slipped to 4th behind I.O.W., Eastbourne and Bournemouth. Will 2014 be any better????

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We travelled with Daishs from Leicester on 23.08.13 For 7 nights. On of our party of three was in a wheelchair and because we had asked for a walk in shower we were put on the third floor.
Could not fault our rooms , one single and one double. We overheard guests on other floors complaining about theirs.
The breakfasts were very good but the evening meals were only just adequate , more attention needs to be paid to the quality and quantity of the offered vegetables because on most if not all occasions they were very poor.
The staff however are a credit to the hotel.
Overall though we enjoyed our time there and met some geat people and will probably try another Daish's hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms on the third floor had a walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barrowfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barrowfield Hotel

Address: Hilgrove Road, Newquay TR7 2QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Barrowfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barrowfield Hotel is ideally situated just 200 yards from the seafront yet close enough to the beautiful beaches of Lusty Glaze, Tolcarne and the rugged Cornish coastline yet only a five minute walk to Newquay's Town Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Barrowfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barrowfield Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrowfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.