We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Family Experience on a Special Occassion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Resort Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Watergate Rd, Newquay TR7 3LX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 for 3 nights
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Family Experience on a Special Occassion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We travelled to the resort for my 60th birthday I was accompanied by my husband two daughters their partners and three children aged between 3 and 6 months. The resort was everything we hoped for and it catered for us all. The children enjoyed the facilities participating in the activities both indoor and outdoor using both pool facilities the adults joining in whether it was competitive golf in the high wind or hide and seek in the maze. As the children were happy so were we.
The food was first rate the childrens high teas had plenty of home cooked food with fresh vegetables and fruit. We enjoyed the food so much that we decided to eat every evening in the resort even though we only booked B&B. The quality was excellent and good value for money, the wine was also reasonably priced. We enjoyed this all the more as we took advantage of the listening service.
The rooms were spacious we had three rooms with sea views although the view at the back of the hotel would have been just as good with unbroken coutryside. We found the rooms clean and well maintained. Hotel staff were courteous and helpful at all times.
The resort was well located with short journeys to numerous beaches.
The only downside was the size of the TV in the room.

Room Tip: We had sea view on first floor, However no lift so had to negotiate two staircases. Though we could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    125
    38
    16
    3
See reviews for
517
39
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here primarily for business with a colleague but also invited my partner along for a couple of days leisure. In terms of the business traveller the hotel was poorly equipped. There was a lot of noise day and night due to babies and children; doors slamming; there was no desk or proper chair in either of the 2 rooms I stayed in; broadband reception was variable and slow; wired connection was offered but at a high cost; both bathroom were very small with no shelves on which to place your wash-bag and the connection for shaver or toothbrush was high with no shelf on which to put the item connected!!! Bizarre. Breakfast would be best classed as average with a less than wide choice and nothing cooked fresh; hot food all on hot-plate. Sorry, except toast you cook yourself!!

I initially stayed in the family comfort room which was a good size, divided into 2 sections for sleeping (1 for kids with bunks and other with the double bed) and had opening patio doors but with no patio just the safety fence. Tea and coffee facilities were fine, fridge to use and 2 chairs to sit in with a small table; a very stained and old chaise-long. However, the bed was very soft, the TV in the kids sleep area had no remote and both TV were a bit small for the size of room; The shower pressure was very poor indeed.

Because of prior booking I had to move on my third night into an ''upgraded'' contemporary room. I had to pay £25 for the upgrade. There was NO difference in the 2 rooms, DON'T be conned. I did report this to the manager who tried to convince me the décor was improved!!! mmm same pictures, same bed, same colours....... In fact the second room was worse. There was 1 less chair so only one chair! the bed was in a different position which meant more of the room was unusable, there was a chest of drawers less leaving almost none. There was an extra sink outside the bathroom, not quite sure of the value in that but it meant the tea making facilities took up the only desk top that could be used for placing any items!! The TV did not work which I reported and second TV was old CRT type with very limited channels. Shower pressure better than previous room.

On a positive note I did find the staff very helpful and pleasant.

Overall, I would definitely NOT recommend this for business or couples. And warning for family travellers, do NOT get conned into paying more for a contemporary upgraded room as this is complete nonsense.

Room Tip: Road noise is annoying in sea facing rooms when the window is open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband found the Sands Resort on the internet and I am very glad he did. We had a lovely relaxing week and the hotel is fully equipped for anyone with young children (we have two). The staff were friendly and helpful without being overbearing and the location is perfect for child friendly beaches and activities. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed for eight nights and it was our second visit, our first being last summer. The bed linen was not changed the entire stay. I know this as my daughter spilt chocolate on the pillowcase on the first day and the mark was there the day we left. I asked them to change the linen half way through the stay and I was assured they would but it never happened. The room was serviced daily but not always vacuumed and by the last day the dust was noticeably think on the surfaces.

The play area has some toys but all are broken in some way, it was the same last year but we were at the end of the season so I didn't think much of it but there has been no attempt to fix anything. The general maintenance of the place is a bit shoddy, our uPVC door and window in the room were perished and rusted so that they did not close properly which was very draughty in the high winds we experienced and also very noisy.

Last time we were there the hotel had an extensive programme of early evening entertainment for children that was mostly outsourced to professional locals. This time most of the entertainment was in house and every other night consisted of a DVD being played.

On the plus side, the child listening service offered by the hotel is fantastic and really makes the stay. There are lots of activities for kids of all ages, mostly outdoor, but as long as the weather is dry there is plenty to do.

The food in the restaurant is very good and the staff are lovely. They put on entertainment in the form of live music some nights, the guitar duo DNA are excellent.

The location is fantastic and the views breathtaking.

It just felt like some of the equipment, ie wetsuits you can borrow, kids toys and games room equipment is overtired and in need of replacing and other shortcuts on housekeeping are being made. It is expensive and I think the value has diminished because of this.

Room Tip: The family suites have a separate sleeping area. The ones on the top floor have a very high ceiling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at Sands for four nights in a two-bed suite and it was just what we all needed.

Our room, 20, had a stunning sea view and had plenty of room with three children (aged 11, 2 and 8 months), and suited us perfectly for the length of our stay.

We stayed during the Easter hols and we were able to join in with the family activities, which our two year old adored. The pool was a big hit, though the changing room set up was confusing initially and not ideal for larger families, especially if it's busy.

The food and drink was brilliant. We took advantage of the baby listening and had two wonderful child-free meals in the evening (having read previous reviews we were curious to see what the food would be like), which were delicious. The wine list was great and reasonably priced.

We'll be back in a shot, but to make it affordable, we'd need to take advantage of their offers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We made a roundtrip through Cornwall and South England with an Austrian group and came-against former planing-to Newquay to Sands Resort Hotel!!!Congratulation!Being member of the group we got the room nr,66 with a bright,magnificant view over the sea and a gorgous comfort!!!The hotel is furnished very pretty and also it is a family hotel you are not disturbed by the children.Please don`t misunderstand this ,because I like children,but there also areas which should be only for adults and at 8pm children should be in bed........The bar and its prices are totally okay.The BEST OF ALL IS THE DESIGNER FOOD-EVERY EVENING A DREAM served be friendly and politly waiters and waitresses!
what a pity that weather is mostly cold and rainy in Newquay,because Sands is my favorite!!!!!

Room Tip: Room Nr.66!!!!! A magnificant view ,a very beautiful (junior) suite There is no spa rating or ranki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed over the May bank holiday, our kids 3 and 6 had a very enjoyable week - hotel is as the site shows very much tailored for every family's needs and it does it well with a smile and nice staff . Great facilities, food was really very good indeed - rooms were good sized (room 38) and quiet too.

Great place and would go back again for sure - highly recommended for families and for the very genuine and nice staff.

Room Tip: room 38 - beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Rd, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2012 Sands was voted Best Family Hotel in Europe and the UK by the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Resort Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.