We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Party Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Resort Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Watergate Rd, Newquay TR7 3LX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 for 3 nights
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Davidstow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Christmas Party Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We all had a fun evening at our Christmas Party, as soon as we arrived we had a warm welcome from Leeanne at reception. We enjoyed a fabulous evening with friendly and efficient service, excellent food and we all had fun on the dance floor. The price was such good value and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    125
    38
    16
    3
See reviews for
517
39
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We had a great time at Sands over New Year. Great children's facilities (morning clubs, soft play, late afternoon entertainment), including a night-time listening service which meant we could enjoy the evenings. Food really good too.

Our first time but there were a number of other families who were coming year after year and I can see why.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Having had a run in recent years of about five truly awful Christmas events I attended the Sands evening with trepidation! We were delighted to find a warm welcome from Leeanne personally; the dining room tables looked lovely and the meal was excellent........ I tend to find that Christmas Party meals rarely are. The service was excellent too and my staff commented on that in particular. The disco was great fun and we all had a fabulous evening. On the way home the girls were talking about booking for next year! The price too was significant; it was affordable and offered good value. The pre-event correspondence was friendly and efficient too - Leeanne again! Now if only they could have laid on better weather...........................!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I cannot rate this hotel highly enough, we had wonderful Christmas Party and stay. Organising the event was quick and easy. On the night we were met and welcomed in the reception by Leeanne whom I had been liaising with, which was a very nice touch. The food both in the evening and at breakfast was excellent, which is not easy when catering for so many in one sitting. Our rooms were extremely spacious, clean, attractive and comfortable, as was the hotel itself. The staff were professional, gracious and accommodating. I would not hesitate to recommend The Sands resort to anyone.

Thank you for making our night so special we hope to see you soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Had a fantastic night, facilities, food and service was first class... Special thanks to Leeanne who helped no end and nothing was too much trouble. Everyone had a very enjoyable night... the accommodation was very clean and comfortable. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone... Sands Resort! you should be very proud of your staff they were great!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My partner and I decided to go to Cornwall for a long weekend at the end of November. What a great find this hotel was! Normally 'family friendly' hotels lack the finesse and finer details that you often find in boutique hotels. Sands was a refreshing surprise. For families, it has excellent amenities that will keep the children occupied for hours. For adults, the spa, pool, excellent restaurant (the food was fantastic!) and relaxed bar have everything the more discerning traveller could want. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and well designed. And as that wasn't enough, the views are amazing.

But like with any experience, as great as the hotel itself is, it is only as good as the staff and the service they give. Every employee we encountered was friendly, fun, attentive and couldn't do enough to make our stay a memorable one. First class all round!

All in all, great value, great service, great facilities mean we will DEFINITELY be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I have just taken my team of 30 Barclays Branch Managers and Assistant Managers to the Sands Resort.
We used a meeting room in the morning , had a lovely christmas lunch and then had an afternoon of relaxing and enjoying the vast facilities.
The food was fantastic and the service was world class! The hotel is modern and very well equipped and nothing was too much trouble. The staff are a credit to the company and brand.
With these facilites,views,quality of food and service....would will certainly be returning again and will be recommending to all. Well done Sands Resort Hotel & Spa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Rd, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2012 Sands was voted Best Family Hotel in Europe and the UK by the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Resort Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.