We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Resort Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Watergate Rd, Newquay TR7 3LX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 for 3 nights
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Truro
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We have recently returned from a weekend break at Sands and had such a lovely time. We wouldn't normally stay at a family hotel but with all the good reviews we thought we would give it a try, and we're glad we did! The room was a spacious suite, modernly decorated with a stunning sea view.

We booked to have dinner at the hotel which we thought was excellent, as was the reasonably priced wine list. Breakfast was very relaxed, we enjoyed a cooked breakfast and pastries whilst seated in a lovely sea view restaurant.

The hotel offers very good leisure facilities. The gym was great, as was the spa and pool. The sauna and jacuzzi was out of action whilst we stayed but we were told this is whilst they are installing a new steam room, however this did not affect our stay. I had a great massage and facial in the spa with a lovely girl called Chloe and at a great price in comparison to other spas ive used in Cornwall!

I can see why this hotel is so popular with families due to all the child friendly facilities they have on offer. Out of season this is also a perfect choice for adults. The staff were extremely accommodating and nothing was ever too much trouble. We will definitely be recommending Sands to our friends.

Thanks for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: If possible book a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    125
    38
    16
    3
See reviews for
517
39
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We recently returned from our third lovely weekend stay at The Sands Resort Hotel. Our bedroom was huge, the bed comfortable, stylish armchairs in the full length windows overlooking the sea. The bathroom was warm and perfectly clean, masses of towels and piping hot water for a bath or shower.
As usual we were incredibly impressed by the standards of food and service. We ate two evening meals and even though the dining room was busy the food was fantastic, freshly prepared and delicious. Great care has been taken, we thought, with the menu to offer a quality dining experience, fresh ingredients, lots of Mediterranean style touches. Nice wine at reasonable price. The buffet breakfast was amazing, everything you could ask for, fresh coffee, fruit, yogurt, full English, toast, and smashing Danish pastries, croissants and pan au chocolate. The staff are so helpful and seem to take pride in their work. Waiting staff were efficient, friendly and smart. Reception staff calm and effective, able to advise us where to visit and what to do in this part of Cornwall.
We walked along the coastal path right opposite the hotel and went down to the fabulous yellow sand beach a few hundred yards away. Surf was crashing in and this was an exhilarating experience. The Sands Resort facilities seemed to us particularly good, loads of toys for kids, special facilities for little ones, listening service, games and so on. We did not use the Gym but swam in the nice indoor pool which is free and warm. Perfect. [Also had a few games of ping pong, also free] My wife had her hair done and checked out the Spa. Came away very happy Excellent value! Outside is a maze for kids plus too many other sports and activities to list. There is a surf shack where you can borrow boards and wet suits to try out surfing so that is our aim for next time. So good we will definitely be back. Thanks to all at The Sands Resort for such a good break.

Room Tip: Large rooms overlooking the sea, perfect for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The best thing about this resort was the golf!
The rooms are very basic & not very clean. There was broken glass from the lampshade in the bed, the bathroom was damp with mildew & the towels were old & hard.
The kids clubs are good but are EXTRA so please remember this.
The swimming pool has a limit of 28 which is kids & adults so 6 families & it's full!! This was a huge problem for other families when we were there as the weather was bad so the outside pool was too cold & the outside play area too slippy with the bouncy castles not in use. i felt so sorry for the families with 2 or more small kids as there was nowhere for them to play & no toys for them to play with unless they paid for the kids club.
The food was just ok. For adults the evening meal was good on the first night but went downhill, for the kids the whole experience was like a bad school dinner hall with slop! The fresh fruit was on ration but there was always a fruits salad with apples pears & grapes. The salad bar was miserable, the fish fingers were minced fish (cheap) in fact mostly it appeared as if they were scrimping on everything apart from the herbal reas!
The beaches around Nequay are fantastic there is so much for the kids to do even in the rain, with wellies & spade/bucket.
We played golf in the rain which was great fun, the high wire was a favourite, the tennis coaching was cancelled but we still managed to play a couple of games.
I would only rate this place as 3 star at most.
The reception staff talked amongst themselves & ignored little children that were trying to ask for toys or bats. They were also rude.
Tips.
Get a glass of milk from the bar for kids evening drinks.
Go to the swimming pool early.
Ask for poached eggs.
Ask for fresh fruit.
Do NOT miss the early evening entertainment, this is on just after the kids dinner & all of the acts were fantastic, they encouage all of the children to get involved & they were all great fun.
There are far better places to go with children in Newquay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandsResort, Owner at Sands Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review, I must admit that this is the worst review from a family we have ever had and whilst it is clear that as your title suggests it doesn't agree with many other reviewers, we do take your comments most seriously.With 18 reviews in the last 3 months, you do obviously visit a lot of hotels and the views of seasoned travellers are always important.

It is difficult when you get persistant wet weather as we have had this year. Coastal properties do always seem damper anyway but when you add the rain and wet clothes to a room it doesn't help. We dont get a chance to re-decorate rooms during the season but do so every winter.

Our indoor pool is usually busy between 4 and 5 in the evening but as you say the rest of the day is very quiet. The swim limits are for safety, if we built a pool to take all guests safety at the peak hour it would have to be olympic size which I am afraid is not viable. I'm glad that you worked out that varying your swim time worked.

I'm sorry that the outdoor play areas were wet during the rain, unfortunately it isn't safe to use bouncy castles in the wet or high winds but we do put them up whenever it is safe.

I'm glad you enjoyed the golf and the childrens entertainment. We do make all charges very clear on the website and at rates from £3 and hour for childcare we do think they are reasonable.

I was shocked to hear about broken glass in the bed, was the shade broken when you arrived? If so please let me know as this should have been dealt with by Maintenance.

I'm sorry that you didnt like the fish fingers, they aren't economy range but they are not home made either. We do however offer at lest 3 choices for tea, one fast food like fish fingers, beans and fries, one freshly cooked meat with vegetables and a vegetarian option. Plus puddings yoghurts and fruit salads. We do prefer fruit salad to whole fruit as after a large tea whole apples or bananas tend to taken and wasted as the children are full. Childrens teas can be lively with 50 kids and parents with varying needs but I thing School Dinner Hall with Slop is a little harsh.

Allthough it seems unlikely that we will be seeing you again we do thank you for your feedback. Whilst the good feedback we get is very nice and rewards our normally friendly helpful staff, when we do fail to meet a customers expectations it is good for us to re-access our service and ensure that we strive to please most of the people most of the time.

Nicholas Malcolm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have stayed twice now in the past 6 months and cannot speak highly enough. The room was lovely, the food for the kids and adults was great (a good selection of wine on hand for those who like a varied choice) the staff couldn't do enough for us. In the past two years we have also stayed in the very upmarket, toddler friendly, hotels in Fowey and Bournmouth and whilst I can say these are also very nice (they come with a very different price tag) - value for money wise you can't go wrong with the Sands Resort Hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We visited Sands for the first time for 5 nights over half term with our 4 and 2 year old children. We had a very relaxing holiday and would thoroughly recommend it. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Our contemporary suite was very spacious and clean and worked perfectly. Our children loved the soft play area and the swimming pool. The baby splash pool was great. They also loved the maze, the outdoor sandpit, pirate ship and zip wire. We were a little worried that 7pm would be too late to eat together but we adjusted easily. I think this was down to the entertainment before dinner. The food was fantastic. We don't eat meat and were very impressed by the fish and vegetarian options. Not sure what some of the reviewers wanted for breakfast as the choice was very good. At no point did we feel stressed about anything! We went to Watergate Bay, Padstow, St Ives and the Eden project which were all great. We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent a great week here over half term. The hotel is located next to a gorgeous beach with rock pools and caves where the children spent most of their time in wellies with fishing rods. Masses of mussels and limpets stuck on the rocks made it great for teaching them about nature. We had a standard sea facing room (94) which was very spacious and nicely decorated, only slight downside was that it was a very windy week and the wind whistled in really loudly through tiny gaps in the windows which disrupted our sleep slightly but the sea view more than made up for it!

We were really impressed with the quality of the food both for the children and for ourselves, 3 courses and all really high quality, locally sourced. Kids activities were great, especially the 5.45 slot where the hotel put on a different event each night, magician, circus skills, fancy dress etc. fantastic to kill the hour between teatime and bedtime.

Loved the outdoor activities onsite - climbing frame, football pitch and maze and we even ventured into the outdoor pool! Indoor pool was nice but the changing areas are a little frustrating, there are only 2 rooms which means you need to change in your room really. Jacuzzi & sauna are right next to the pool so not really relaxing for adults unless you go once kids are asleep. Games room inside fantastic, loved the air hockey! Also found the Harbour Lounge which no one seemed to have discovered, a lovely room with toys and a sea view.

Great selection of DVDs available for free hire (DVDs in room) and all the staff we met were really lovely and helpful.

A few little niggles.. kids teatime was 4.45-5.45 and if adults ate then they had to eat the kids food or else you could all eat from 7pm but this was too late for our children. Ideally we'd have liked a family dining slot from 6-7pm where we could eat from the adults & kids menus. Also, breakfast didn't start til 8pm, again would be better to have a 7am start as our kids wake up very early!

We visited the spa but note this is really just a treatment area and gym, not (as we thought) a separate adult area with sauna / jacuzzi. Treatments very nice though & lovely staff.

Lots of things to do locally, we went to the Eden project and to Watergate Bay. All in all a great week!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We went back to the Sands this year as we had such a lovely holiday there a few years ago. This holiday was equally as great, but there were a few niggles. As stated in the title, this hotel is fantastic for families with younger children. Our daughter was just 6 on our first visit and this time, she was 9. The kids club is really for young children so she did not visit this time.

The free loan of body boards and wetsuits are a huge plus which we took advantage of on more than one occasion. We also used the pitch and put golf course as well as the indoor pool. My daughter enjoyed the games room as well.

I did mention that there were some niggles. We had booked the dinner bed and breakfast option. Dinner is served in zones. We reserved zone B as it was for families with children 8 and over. Unfortunately this rule was not adhered to and we had screaming little ones in the dining room with us more often than not. When we asked about this at reception, we were told this was not the case...our other complaint was the breakfast and salad bar. Breakfast was hit or miss (some days it was really good and others not). Finally, the salad bar at the nightly dinner could hardly be classed as an actual salad bar. Each night you could count on mixed greens but after that it was anyone's guess. Sometimes rice with raisins, tomatoes, cucumber, beans??? It was mediocre at best.

These issues did not detract from us having a fantastic holiday. The Sands is positioned across the road from one of the best beaches in Cornwall. The views are amazing and they are great with small children. I would be remiss if I did not mention Lilly in the restaurant. She was friendly, helpful and always made an effort to remember what we liked. She also decorated my daughter's chair with balloons when she found out it was her birthday. I would recommend the Sands for a great family holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the contemporary suite on the 2nd floor. Great views and loads of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Rd, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2012 Sands was voted Best Family Hotel in Europe and the UK by the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Resort Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.