We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Resort Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Watergate Rd, Newquay TR7 3LX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 for 3 nights
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Jersey, Channel Islands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

I stayed here recently with my wife and children (aged 4 and 1) on the strength of reviews on tripadvisor. It truly was an amazing hotel for families. The weather was pretty terrible but there was so much to do within the hotel that the children were kept happy. It's all on the hotel's website so I'll not go into detail, suffice it to say that the facilities were second to none and everything was provided with young children in mind. The room we had was very spacious and beautifully decorated with a spectacular sea view. It was great to have the children in a separate ajoining room. The only problem was sneaking out through their room to escape to the bar and restaurant once they were asleep! We were unsure about using the baby listening service as we don't even have babysitters to go out ourselves when we are at home, but we trusted it and were so grateful for it as we thoroughly enjoyed having a lovely three course dinner every evening without the constant demands of messy little people! The kids loved the children's tea time. The quality of the food was very good and you could be as healthy or unheathly as you liked. I think that what stood out for us were the professional and caring staff. They were all so helpful and good with young children. When we checked out our 4 year old cried. We will definitely be going back. I can't think of anywhere else in the world we would rather go as a family.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    121
    36
    14
    3
See reviews for
498
38
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We booked because of our friends' recommendation and we were so glad we did. A really wonderful holiday which our 4 year old enjoyed as much as we did and we all want to go back. The hotel obviously listens to its guests and caters for what families want. The baby listening service meant we could enjoy the lovely food and spend some time on our own. On the night we were called back to our room the restaurant staff very efficiently served us the rest of our meal on a tray. Excellent service and, though not cheap, worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Our fourth (or fifth?) visit and Sands delivers again. Our children love it here - they love the clubs, the entertainment, the swimming, the gardens, the beaches, the freedom at Sands. And we love it too - easy, welcoming, good value and peaceful. The baby listening and good food is such a treat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

I have 2 very energetic children & whilst it is lovely spending time with them, it's nice to have a break from them.

For me The Sands is ideal, the baby listening service enables myself & my husband to have a meal in peace & go to the bar for a quiet drink, without the children.

The facilities for children at The Sands are very good, there's the baby listening, the swimming pools, the kids clubs, the soft play, the maze, adventure playground, zip wire, sandpit & pirate ship - to name but a few. The hotel is a good base to explore Cornwall, but also there is enough to do at the hotel on a rainy day.

There's also a spa for Mummies (& Daddies) to relax in.

We've been to the hotel 4 times now & whilst it isn't the prettiest to look it, it's friendly & unpretentious & each time we've all had a good holiday & I've felt like I've had a break - which for me is very important.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

A great holiday that caters for all ages, we travelled with our Daughter and her two young children (aged 5 and 18 months). The holiday is family and child centric and we took advantage of the baby listening service and kids clubs. This meant the adults were able to enjoy the fantastic 3 course evening dinners. On a couple of occasions, our Daughter was unable to join us for dinnerr children and couldn't join us for dinner. The restaurant staff took her order and we were able to take a tray to her after we'd had our meal - you rarely get that level of flexibility - just great!

The children enjoyed the swimming pools and park, and we have great fun in the maze.

The only negative was that the cooked breakfast items were sometimes a bit cold

We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Third year running and we've come to Sands at Cornwall - we love it so much! The hotel caters so well for kids and their parents so everyone gets a break. The kids are never bored and mum and dad get quality grown up time in the evening with the fab baby listening system. Bliss.
Spa and other facilities are all top notch. My only complaint... it's a five hour drive on a good run. But so worth it when you get there. Location wise you have gorgeous beaches and lots of theme parks and other things to do when it rains.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

A fantastic family friendly hotel. Our trip didn't disappoint. We went again in march and again it wasn't busy. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The facilities are as good as ever. Baby listening is a definite bonus. The only negative point, and it is minor, even though the hotel was nearly empty we were put in a room next to another family whose kids made a lot of noise.

Room Tip: There's no lift so ask for one on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Rd, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2012 Sands was voted Best Family Hotel in Europe and the UK by the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Resort Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.