We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most child friendly hotel I've ever stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sands Resort Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Watergate Rd, Newquay TR7 3LX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4 for 3 nights
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Farningham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Most child friendly hotel I've ever stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed at the Sands for 6 days a couple of weeks ago and I was pleasantly surprised throughout our stay. The layout and contents of the rooms was well organised for a young family. Things such as a step for a toddler and a separate nappy bin were welcome additions to a normal hotel room. Our interconnecting rooms were perfect for making sure that our children didn't wake each other up during the night as they each had their own, separate from ours. The children's meal at 4.45pm - 5.45pm was very fit for purpose. High chairs were available, a buffet of hot and cold food each evening specifically designed for young children and a relaxed atmosphere. After that comes the best bit as far as we were concerned... Once the children are asleep, we would turn on the monitors in their rooms and then tell reception we were going to the restaurant. We were then able to sit and enjoy a three course meal (the menu was changed every night) and if one of the children started to cry we were tapped on the shoulder and informed. Luckily for us this only happened once and the rest of the meals were completely peaceful and very enjoyable. The prices to include dinner on top of bed and breakfast were a bargain as on the whole the food was of a good standard and nicely presented. They also have great play areas for the little ones (including soft play) and clubs in case you want some alone time with your other half. The pool is nice and warm and the baby pool is perfect for toddlers to splash in. The staff were incredibly friendly and couldn't do enough for us. My trip to the spa (courtesy of a very understanding husband) was wonderfully relaxing and I also enjoyed trying out the Flabelos machine which was interesting! All round, this was a great place to stay with children and we will definitely be going back if we holiday in Cornwall again.

Room Tip: If you have two children and would prefer them to sleep in separate rooms, ask for the interconnecti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    125
    38
    16
    3
See reviews for
517
39
7
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

From the excellent and very friendly reception staff through to the very clean and exceptionally spacious rooms we would recommend The Sands for a relaxed escape away from home.

The food far exceeded our expectations for quality and especially presentation. All in all our stay at the hotel was a great experience which even the rain could not dampen.

Thank you Sands for an excellent break.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Second visit to sands resort with my two sons (3 and 5 years old) and they loved it again.
All the staff were really freindly and nothing ever seem too much trouble.
The Comfort suite was great with the baby listening idea for an evening escape to the resturant and bar to make you feel like you are on holiday as well as the kids.
The complementary loan of surfboards, wets suits and everything for the beach is a great bonus with Watergate bay just five minutes away.
When the weather not so good still plenty to do with the little ones.
Great holiday destination.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We stayed at the hotel at the end of August with our 5 year old boy and 3 year old girl. We stayed in a contemporary suite with our room overlooking the sea and the children's room at the back of ours connected through a door. The facilities were first class and the staff were very friendly and professional. The food was of a good quality and the children loved the independence of serving themselves breakfast. The only downside was the road noise at night and first thing in the morning. We would recommend this hotel for young families but go for the bed and breakfast option to give you flexibility at meal times as they like children to eat separately from adult dining in the evenings which is a good idea if you are comfortable with the baby listening service. If not then you will have to eat with the children after 7pm which could be too late for some. If you an afford it we would recommend upgrading to the Bedruthan Steps hotel a few miles down the road. It is a sister hotel in a beautiful location and no road noise. Overall Sands Resort was a great place to stay android recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you don't need a sea view then get a poolside room overlooking garden as there should be less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. The dining arrangements for the children and later the adults were pleasant and relaxing. Thethree rooms for our family were all excellent and kept clean. With so much still to do I think we will have to return. Although the hotel has lovely views over the sea I think we realised that a very short drive to watergate bay was the best way to enjoy the beach with no long climb up for the four little ones. A great family hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Just got back yesterday from Sands' Newquay. The location is lovely, less than 10 min walk (downhill) to the main sandy beach. We had a quick 5 day break, after reading the reviews here, decided that Sands sounded ideal.

Rooms- are basic but pretty clean and the suites provide ample room if travelling with family. Nice clean bathrooms but could do with some more storage space for lotions and potions. Someone here had commented about the lumpy pillows and I agree but just didnt have room to take my own! I was provided with replacements but they were no better.

Restaurant/ bar- The service was quick and efficient every time with just one exception at lunch. In the evening you can help yourself to tea/ coffee at the bar if u r the lucky ones whose kids are fast asleep in the room. The baby listening is great, we actually managed to have dinner by ourselves one evening!

Food- Good breakfast, OK lunch and dinner. As a mum of two I am very grateful when I dont have to cook so I tend to be very unfussy about what is put in front of me.
We had dinner at the hotel every evening and found the standard to vary. On our second night I had what I can only term as a very disjointed dish!! (Beautifully cooked fish,would have been lovely with just a bit of lemon and butter) but was served with a cream sauce which clashed completely with what it was sitting on....olives, raisins, sweet potatoes, tomatoes, sundried tomatoes.......I forget what else. My husband had apricot stuffed pork one evening which he didnt like at all. The vegetables were soggy and the dish was tasteless. The food was well presented but could definitely do with improvement.

Kids menu- Good. but as is usual, had a few refusals. The staff and kitchen were very accommodating and brought replacements without fuss. The kids have a separate tea time which we tried once but it wasnt ideal for us as it was a bit too early for them. So the kids ate with us every evening which tended to be a bit later than their usual time!!!

Kids club- Nice bright room with lots of toys and a nappy changing area fr the little ones. My 20 month old wouldnt stay so had to be returned to us :). Another area for older children to play. My 4 year old did some pottery/ painting and was kept occupied fr and hour or so.
The childcare / kids clubs run in tandem with breakfast, lunch and a late dinner.

Couldnt use the outdoor play areas (bouncy castle, playground, maze) as the weather was atrocious! Same goes for the outdoor pool which is small but has a slide which the kids would enjoy.

Spa- only had a pedicure but looks nice and the girls were very friendly.


Evening entertainment- Loads of stuff.. for both kids and adults..they give you a leaflet so you can choose which ones to go fr and which ones to avoid!
There are a lot of separate lounges/ areas where you can hang out,play games etc.
Overall impressions: Good with some room for improvement.
The staff are all helpful, polite, friendly and very efficient.
If in Cornwall, will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We absolutely loved Sands. We have never had a successful hotel trip away with our 22 month old due to have to sleep in the same room etc - Sands changed all that! We booked an amazing value gap filler, had a D, B & B package, and had a brilliant weekend break with our newborn and toddler. We used the baby listening each night, and ate as a couple (with baby under the table asleep!) and enjoyed a drink after our meal and even a game of pool one night! It was all so well organised, and the staff so professional and friendly, that I had no qualms about leaving our toddler in our room (and would never normally do this). I found the food delicious without being pretentious.

Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they were happy to put our toddler's beakers etc through the dishwasher, and being able to borrow equipment and towels for the pool made packing a lot easier. Our daughter was in heaven with the bouncy castle, maze and swimming pools, and she would happily have stayed on site all weekend.

We will be saving hard to go back!

Room Tip: Check out the decriptions on the website - good layout maps available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sands Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Watergate Rd, Newquay TR7 3LX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa overlooks the Atlantic ocean to the west and countryside to the east. The hotel offers a range of free sports facilities and children's clubs as well as a beauty spa, two pools and a gym. Most suites have separate sleeping areas for children and are in a contemporary design. A free baby listening service is also available.In 2012 Sands was voted Best Family Hotel in Europe and the UK by the TripAdvisor Travellers' Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Sands Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Newquay
Sands Resort Hotel And Spa
Sands Hotel Porth
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Resort Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.