We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're here to surf, the best place to stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Christopher's Inn Newquay

Save Saved
You added St. Christopher's Inn Newquay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay
1.5 of 5 Inn   |   35 Fore St, Newquay TR7 1HR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 109 Newquay B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“If you're here to surf, the best place to stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

You can check the surf out as you enjoy your included cereal breakfast in the bar. I've stayed there a twice.

It's ideal for those who are there with friends to just surf all day and get drunk in the evenings. Which is why we were there. They had 2 for 1 on food in January as well. The food in the bar below is probably the best and best priced on the whole of the West Coast and they have the silverware to back it up behind the bar. A major plus for us given the appetite you work up spending hours each day in ice cold water.

I can see where the other reviews are coming from in terms of cleanliness, but my experience wasn't as bad. And we were after a place that you could leave wet salty footprint through, not a hotel. They were polite and gave us a decent discount because we were a large group as well.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the TOP FLOOR, away from the noise of the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    4
    7
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

I can't Imagine that prison is any worse than this place. The rooms are sparse and rickety with paint peeling off the walls. The bathrooms (which contain the only toilets) are wet, dirty and have nowhere to hang your relatively very clean things. It should have been redecorated 20 years ago. So it has a certain ironic charm at least.

This would be ok if it was cheap, but at £31 per night per person, despite the central location, a 4 bed bunk seems very expensive.

Unless you plan to be drunk during your entire stay then this will be an unpleasant visit...the 10am checkout will test the patience of the most committed drinkers.

If you can stay elsewhere, don't hesitate.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Managed to stay here twice during March, came back to the same hostel as it suited us perfectly. Cheap & tasty food, good facilities and friendly staff. The second time we stayed, it was a bit noisy, people banging on our door in the middle of the night and music coming through the floor. But other than that, it's perfect and very reasonable. Looking forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: Room 1 was very quiet, Room 5 not so much (right over the bar).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Arrived just before Christmas booking into a large female dorm. Due to low occupancy the manager kindly offered me a double room to myself, complete with ensuite. Sure, it was basic but the room was surprisingly spacious, the double bed (with bunk on top) very comfy, clean and view spectacular! It also included two comfy chairs and a small table. It was on the second floor so bar noise was minimal but I can imagine it gets quite noisy over busy periods. Only downside was sound of some doof doof in the wee hours - sounded like it was coming from upstairs - but who knows... it couldn't have been the bar as it closed at 11pm. Breakfast was basic hostel-style continental fair but it absolutely did the job for such a low price. I was especially chuffed as they normally pack it up at 10am but let me sleep in and eat at 1030am. Both the manager and duty/bar supervisor were very nice and courteous. For a last minute booking, I couldn't have asked for better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

i absolutely love newquay, ive stayed here a couple of times last year (2010) the rooms are your basic dossy hostel bunker rooms n a couple are a bit stinky, but, you get what you pay for!! clean fresh bed linen and bathrooms always been clean for me, basics.
its in a a fab location!! walking distance from fistral for surfing in the day and we always use the downstairs bar as a starter and work our way around the town centre for a good night.
would recommend this place for any group of friend that just want a place to shower n lay their heads for the night.
also i recommend the burgers in the bar downstairs! Yummy!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

i stayed at this hostel in newquay for a week, and i found it to be one of the best weeks i have had in a long time. The hostel its self is in a great location, with breath takeing viwes of the sea, so you can chill out and eat your brecky with a viwe. the rooms are bright and welcomeing, and a very clean,the beds are comfortable. the bar down stairs is perfect for a nice pint and lunch but also is great for a night out. and all the staff are very helpfull and make you feel at home, i would recomened this hosel to anyone looking for a good time in newquay, i have stayed in other hostels in this town and this one out shone the rest. i will defo be visiting again.

Room Tip: try and get one with a sea viwe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

... Had to stay two nights in this Hostel but after the first one I had to leave. (Wasnt even given a refund for the night that I didnt stay there). First of all the room that I had was next to the sewage system so it smelt badly. Secondly, we were just above the bar, that means that if you want to sleep you cant since people will stay there till late. The majority of the guys were 18 or a little bit more, so you can immagine the noises at night.... I ve stayed in hostels but this was surely one of the worst.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to St. Christopher's Inn Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Inn Newquay

Address: 35 Fore St, Newquay TR7 1HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — St. Christopher's Inn Newquay 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your St. Christopher's Inn Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Christopher's Inn Newquay Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Christopher's Inn Newquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.