We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 217” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Western Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Great Western Hotel to your Saves list
Great Western Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Room 217”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed for one night and I must admit I was a little wary due to the mixed reviews on Trip Advisor. The corridoors leading to the room were quite dark and narrow, but when we opened the door we were amazed to find a huge room overlooking the sea with a big bay window and a smaller side window. It was well furnised and looked like it had recently been decorated. There was a large dressing table, a small table set in the bay window with two chairs a double sofa as well as the bed and a big telly. The bathroom again big had a bath as well as a seperate shower. Breakfast was disappointing!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    157
    56
    26
    21
See reviews for
56
203
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Bit pricey but right on the sea front. Went there in February and had a great room overlooking the cliffs, in April the room was smaller and nearer the front of the hotel with the view of a great big blue wall! Overall clean and tidy, decent breakfast without being great. Make sure that you book a parking space (payable at £5 per day) as there is no other parking close by.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2010

I ended up in New Quay by accident when traveling in the South West of England. When I arrived I needed to find a hotel and the looked round the entire town, the Best Western looked one of the most well kept so I went in asked about rates. I was very surprised how cheap it was so wasn't expecting much.

I found the hotel room was very modern but floorboards were noisy. This didn't effect my sleep though. The views were amazing but my cheap room was next to a very run down building next year (hopefully that will be pulled down) but the money I cannot complain.

The hotel was very quiet and no problems with youths or party crowds. It seems the hotel has a strict policy on groups of people.

I will be going back again! It is just a shame it is 8 hours on the train from me.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

We were very pleased with the hotel, the view from the restaurant was fantastic. All the staff we came across were very pleasant and helpful. We thought the meals and especially the breakfast were very good. We had no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

At £45 for the room and £5 for secure car park, we thought we had good value in this somewhat dated hotel.
There is evidence of some cosmetic refurbishment. The location is good, right on the sea front. The rooms facing the sea are probably nicer but more expensive.
Our room was perfectly adequate if dated, the new windows are good protection from street noise.
The breakfast is poor with a wierd system of ordering at the bar from a small menu- a buffet system would be much more practical and generous.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

Me and the girly decided to have a belated valentines wknd away and thought of Newquay as we both hadnt been there for over 10 years.
The great weston was an awesome choice. From the moment we walked in the front door service was polite and friendly i had a car parking space right outside the front with a cctv cam pointing at it which was a big piece of mind as my car cost loads of money! lol staff were polite and friendly plus i got my end way loads! bedroom was good and clean with a telly and freeview etc i would stay here again next time i visit newquay for sure A+ and all for a good price, cost me for 2 nights inc parking £60

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

Just returned from a long weekend away at the Great Western.The room and views were fantastic and the staff could not do enough to make our stay great.
We have been to Newquay on holiday for the last 26 years and never been inside this hotel but that has now changed and we will pass on this gem to all our friends.
Excellent service thanks very much!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#17 Family Hotel in Newquay
#17 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Western Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.