We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Western Hotel

Save Saved
You added Great Western Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Great Western Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 51 hotels in Newquay
Newquay
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Most impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I have lived in Newquay for 25 years but have never before visited the Great Western. My visit yesterday was, unfortunately for a funeral 'wake'.
The hotel isn't very impressive from the outside but once inside it is excellent. Very spacious. A well stocked bar and the buffet was one of the best I have ever enjoyed. Friendly and efficient staff.
Excellent views over the coastline from the back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    135
    52
    19
    16
See reviews for
47
175
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in comfortable, clean rooms that were serviced each day to a high standard. The staff were helpful and friendly at all times. The only criticism was the creaking floorboards and voices through the the walls from other rooms.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Once again stayed here, came to celebrate New Year and certainly not disappointed. The staff are a credit to the hotel as they are always smiling and so very helpful, always a word for their customers, even after midnight when they look so tired. Hats off to you all. The meals are excellent, fresh produce cooked beautifully and great value. The rooms are comfortable and clean as is the entire hotel. The sea view is good, this you can enjoy having your meal or a quiet drink. Such honest people. We left a coat with our car keys in it hanging over a lounge chair and it was the next day or we discovered it was missing. We asked at reception, and there it was safely kept behind the counter. Thank you to whoever handed it in.

I recommend this lovely hotel to anyway looking for accommodation in Newquay. We will be back soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have just spent 4 nights here and would certainly recommend it. We had a standard and a budget room booked for our party. Both rooms were adequate. In fact the budget room had a lovely sea view despite overlooking the unsightly gym building next to it. Breakfasts were good value. The staff were always very polite and helpful. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can afford it get the rooms with sea views - stunning scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Dorset, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I have no trouble recommending staying here its very clean and friendly with a great location and views, but our stay was unfortunately marred by the extraordinarily loud and creeky floorboards in the room above ,we stayed in room 115 which is a great room otherwise with a view looking back towards the harbour.
The only other problem was the cramped car park which resulted in someone damaging our vehicle after having blocked it in overnight ,not happy after paying five pounds a night to park it safely.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed at the Great Western three times in the last two months the were short stays due to personnel business. What a nice hotel. We have stayed at nicer looking hotels.But what makes the Great Western a cut above the other hotels is the staff what a cracking set of people the bar staff so friendly and always had a big smile for everybody. And we must mention the young ladies on reception who were most helpful so much so we were upgraded to a superior room.And what a beautiful room and a view to go with if. If anyone is looking for a stay in Newquay you must try the Great Western

Room Tip: Telephone the Great Western directly for options
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Lovely clean rooms and helpful staff... even the budget room was spacious with shower room, toilet and all you needed.

I stay here everytime i go to Newquay, and they never disappoint me.

The poor night staff man even helped me re print my boarding pass to fly home as i had not been able too .. at 5.30am... now thats dedication to its visitors.

Room Tip: Gotta love the seaview rooms best.. perfect view over beaches, and you can leave your window ajar to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#14 Family Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Western Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.