We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Western Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Great Western Hotel to your Saves list
Great Western Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Wedding weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My family stayed over for 1 night for a family wedding. Everything was fantastic. The customer service, the food, entertainment. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and excellent value for money. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    171
    62
    27
    25
See reviews for
59
234
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed early september for two nights and the views were fantastic over the bays. The room was really nice and spacious and very clean and modern and the staff freindly. My wife and I would definately stay here again if visiting newquay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at the Great Western for the third time last week.
As usual, both the hotel and our room were lovely and clean with breath-taking views.
Staff were very friendly, welcoming and obliging.
We had a small problem but Bex at reception sorted it for us very efficiently and professionally.
We had full English breakfasts and they were beautifully cooked every time. We also had two evening meals - the Steak n Ale pie (scrumptious) and the Seafood Celebration was delicious and beautifully presented!
The Great Western is our favourite hotel in Newquay - we'll definitely be returning again next year!

Room Tip: Get a seaview room if poss!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We booked parking, and when we arrived, our name was already on the space. When we checked in, we were informed that we had been upgraded to a premium room as the hotel was not busy.
The staff were friendly and welcoming, the food was reasonable and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a two night stay here. Room was spacious and had a sort of sea view . We stayed in room 215 the bed was huge and very comfortable must say all of the hotel was very clean . we were given complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room which was a nice touch . We had a family room and both my children said their beds were very comfortable.All staff were very friendly and polite . I would however recommend you book a parking space( £5 per night) when you book your reservation at this hotel as parking is limited ,its not a big issue as there is parking across the road which will cost you £10.00 for 24 hours . My parents stayed in another room in this hotel and were equally as pleased with cleanliness . It is also in a good location just a short walk andyou are in Newquay town centre .

Room Tip: there are plenty of rooms with a sea view with stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just returned from a two night stay here and had a lovely time. We stayed in a standard plus room which was clean and had a really nice bathroom. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and mornings, the food was great and good value for money and the staff were really friendly. The location was perfect with beautiful views and only a short walk into the town. Would definately stay here again :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Sadly we weren't staying here, we just ate in the restaurant but that was so good I felt I had to put a review. The staff were very friendly, with great customer service. The food was very high quality, and plentiful too. The views if you are lucky enough to get a window seat is amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Western Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.