We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Birthday break to Newquay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Western Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Great Western Hotel to your Saves list
Great Western Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday break to Newquay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I was treated to a surprise holiday to Newquay by my boyfriend. He picked this hotel due to its amazing location. When we arrived at the hotel we missed the car park turning and ended up turning onto the beach road...NOT ADVISED! It's very difficult to turn a large car and get back to the top again. Car park is very neat, however we had a lovely space next to the door. It costs £5 per day to park, but does save a bit of a walk.
Hotel reception staff were lovely! Very approachable and friendly.
We had a non sea view room, which was over looking the side of the hotel and Indian restaurant next door. However it was very quite which was good. Lovely size room, fresh looking colours. We had a double bed which was very comfortable, pillows and mattress very cosy. There was a good two sweater leather couch and dressing table with chair. The shower room was an excellent size. Very bright and clean. There were tea and coffee sachets and lovely biscuits available which were replenished daily.
Our t.v caused an issue on the first night, it lost signal. We were not in the room for long so reported it in the morning. The shower was also blocked, again we reported this in the morning. The reception staff got onto the issues immediately and by the time we returned in the afternoon it was sorted. We were offered another room of the same standard, but we chose to wait and see if the problems were resolved...which they were.
We sat in the bar garden the first night for a drink. It's was set in a beautiful garden I between two stunning beaches. There is a nice covered area to sit in if it rains. We did not book breakfast, but did choose to eat there on the last morning. Prices are very reasonable. I had poached eggs on toast and my boyfriend had sausages in a roll. Both meals were very tasty and were brought to us very quickly by a lovely friendly girl. Bar staff were also very friendly and welcoming.
There are two stunning beaches at either side of the hotel which are easily accessible.
I really enjoyed my stay at the Great Western. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others thinking of staying in Newquay.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms would be stunning, however with them being directly above the bar area and garden it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    171
    62
    27
    25
See reviews for
59
234
10
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We called in for drinks on several nights over our stay in Newquay and ate here on one evening. The location is great with amazing views over the bay, which make seeing a beautiful sunset with glass of wine in hand very easy. The food was also good, well cooked and a great choice. I would recommend especially on a nice evening so you can enjoy the sunset!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have two friends who we meet up with every couple of months, and they suggested this hotel as our previous regular venue has sadly changed for the worse in the past year or so. I must admit we were a little apprehensive it was always an average pub at the side of the hotel for many years with little attention to décor. On entry we were amazed how the place had expanded it was very busy but not at all cramped with a lovely area outside overlooking the bay weather permitting of course.
We went to the bar and placed our food order to I think the barman,s name was Jahmeil who was most helpful in separating our prices per couple .We gave our table number and our meals followed shortly the New York chicken was really nice as was my wifes chilli at £9.95 each.
After we retired to the side separate seating for drinks before getting the taxi home, a lovely relaxed evening we will certainly be back soon. Newquay has become a young persons town in general, but I think as the hotel has kept it,s old character appearance externally it is bypassed by late night revellers new to the town who head straight to the centre.

Room Tip: we were only using the restaurant and bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed with my friend for 2nights during August. We could barely move in the room with the suitcases open.the towels and the room were smelly, not in a "bad"way but smelled like very cheap soap. Also, our "double" bed was a semi-double or large single. We end up spending the day in the restaurant/pub to enjoy the stunning view we couldn't see from our room. i wouldn't really mind if the hotel wasn't a chain one. But I d rather pay less and not expect much from a hotel rather than been left down from the poor standards.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Three of us stayed in a triple room on Tuesday August 6th. The room was spacious and clean with a view towards the road. The beds were comfortable and bathroom was refurbished. There was no noise from the road and had excellent parking for an extra £5. If you book breakfast at the time of booking its cheaper which we had wished we had done now as it was lovely. Overall a lovely experience with beautiful views at the back overlooking the sea. Get a sea view room and it'll be the icing on the cake !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed in July, the room over looking the sea was a pleasant surprise and was to a high standard. My partner left his ID card there and would not have been able to fly back without it, the receptionist Elisa called us and posted it to us for free to an address over 200 miles away.

Room Tip: ask for a superior room over overlooking the sea !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We recently visited Newquay for the Boardmasters Festival. After a trip to Fistral Beach we stopped in the Great Western Hotel for dinner.
we found the Bar Manager very rude and insulting.
the food we ordered was not cooked to specification. also for someone who has allergies to animals I found it to be highly inappropriate and unhygienic for dogs to be roaming in the dining areas. the table next to us had a long haired dog which was moulting and exploring underneath our table for scraps of food. This we find to be highly unacceptable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Western Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.