We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely garden but overpriced admission” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Japanese Garden & Bonsai Nursery

The Japanese Garden & Bonsai Nursery
St. Mawgan, Newquay TR8 4ET, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 18 Attractions in Newquay
Type: Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Somerset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“lovely garden but overpriced admission”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We visited this garden in June 2013, which is lovely but only takes about 15 mins maximum to walk round. Thought the £4.50 admission charge was a bit excessive. St Mawgan is a beautiful village and the tea garden there was superb. highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    31
    17
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Germans , Cornwall
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“A tranquil place that exudes the beauty of nature in every detail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

There are other Japanese style gardens in the UK and elsewhere that have all the features of a Japanese garden but I do not know another which quite captures the spirit and timeless qualities of an old Japanese garden as this one does.
This is a place to sit and contemplate and celebrate the beauty of raw nature in every detail. A seemingly natural setting that merges with the landscape of old woodland is in fact a careful and detailed study in balanced asymmetry. The gnarled tree reclining against a carpet of moss or irregular rock, The play of light and sound of moving water all please the eye and calm the soul.
This garden is inspiring even on a damp day
The garden continues to improve with age

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A wonderful atmosphere to enjoy this very unusual place. Well worth a visit and we will return again..

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire, united kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“interesting garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

visited this garden while on holiday and it was lovely to walk around and see the different plants, trees etc. Lovely to look at the fish in the pond. Lots of plants in nursery to sell but i found them
to be overpriced. If a keen gardener you would love it. Good admission price.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An interesting concept but a bit repetitive in planting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We passed through on our way to st ives as I thought it would appeal to my other half. It is an interesting garden with mature acers and bamboo and very tranquil but the planting is quite limited and my partner lost interest because of this. Also the plants for sale are quite overpriced and look a little undercared for, especially the reduced bonsai area where it appears any old sapling has been put in a bonsai ceramic dish (oak, Elm, acer, beech). I used a 2-4-1 for entry, wouldn't have wanted to pay more.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Japanese Garden & Bonsai Nursery also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Japanese Garden & Bonsai Nursery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Japanese Garden & Bonsai Nursery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.