We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goood 3 star hotel but needs updating...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel California

Save Saved
You added Hotel California to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel California
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 51 hotels in Newquay
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Goood 3 star hotel but needs updating...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hotel short walking distance to Fistral Beach. Good views over river Ganel. Nice lounge and spacious reception. Plenty of family facilities such as pool and bowling. Restaurant good although set menu a bit limited. Beakfast ok but needed more choice. Friendly staff and atmosphere. Parking ok providing no coaches staying. My room below ground level with no views-also cold and damp-clean enough.Expensive for the quality of its location. Choose room carefully!! Other rooms seemed much better. Hotel looks dated and needs upgrading. Check out too early at 10am. Quite happy overall.

Room Tip: Some rooms are below ground with no views!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    98
    57
    56
    51
See reviews for
78
149
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

we stayed in room 214. 5th / 9th august 2013.staff were friendly. fantastic views.breakfast was great with good service.even the boss took time to talk.decoration a bit dated in rooms but the staff building and location made up for that.even was allowed to keep car in car park after we checked out.would go again.nice stay.stephen & stephanie.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

From the moment we went through the door we were greeted by friendly reception staff,The views of the River Gannel estuary,from the lounge,terrace and dinning room were stunning,our room with a balcony had the same views.We found the public rooms and our room to be very clean.The breakfast was very good,and the evening meals were fantastic (I understand they have a new chef and they are very good) The fact that the owners dinned in the hotel during our stay speaks for itself.It is nice to stay in a family run hotel where people count and our experience was that nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff or management,This a dog friendly hotel,with lovely walks,I would recommend Fern Pit Cafe,which is on the side of the headland,if you want a sandwich or a cream tea,the tea garden has views over Crantock Beach and the estuary
WE LOOK FOWARD TO OUR NEXT STAY

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Spent 5 nights here in early July 2013 bed and breakfast. The view alone was worth the price not to mention the lovely cooked to order breakfast every morning. Staff were wonderful and Kelly was as helpful at the desk for all my directions and "secret" beach adventure. Having travelled a lot in the last 10 years, it is mindboggling to think I spent £50 a night and never saw a cloud the whole 5 days. Cornwall and Hotel California<>MAGIC

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torbay, Uk
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Booked a three night stay but left next morning what a disappointment, many people give this hotel a high rating, all I can say is they must be easy to please or blind! We booked 2 rooms 109 and 107 the décor is really not very nice, there were nail heads sticking out from the woodwork in places and the décor and furniture was very dated and worn, the wardrobe was dirty, the on-suite was ok the bath was stained the shower head missing but it appeared clean.
The other room our two sons stayed in was also in similar poor condition.
The main entrance is quite grand and the public lounge is ok but dated the views are lovely of the estuary. You cant help but notice parts of the building are quite clearly neglected, gave us the opinion that no money was being spent in on the premises. Didn't fancy the swim pools, though they looked ok.
We stayed b&b and breakfast was poor, dirty cups, cutlery and table clothes had stains on from night before, staff were courteous but some looked a little tardy. Poor selection for continental breakfast cereals in big open steel bowls hygene came to mind, it was just a bit naff, no meats or cheeses or fresh fruit. Cooked breakfast was cheap, one sausage beans one egg one bacon one greasy hash brown tasteless. Was not the worst but could be a lot nicer.
In general with a lot of work this could be a very nice hotel with lovely views, but it desperately needs tlc and a lot of updating, We don't expect 5* but it is not cheap and parts were dirty, staff try hard but some have no idea. Duty manager refused to come and speak to us as he was busy in the dining room? Sums it all up. The reception staff try hard and are very courteous, the night receptionist didn't know what time breakfast was served on Sundays.
In all avoid this hotel unless your really not too fussed about standards and cleanliness.
Not recommended.

Room Tip: I think some of the rooms facing the estuary are probably nicer but more expensive. So avoid the che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Yes the decor is old fashioned and they could lose the artex walls. The dining room is bright and airy with lovely views over the gannel. It is not as good as the likes of the headland but it is not headland prices so value for money is great. My room was adequate and roomy. Breakfast good with excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We just wanted to say what a superb stay we had last week (16 - 19 July).

We have been visiting Newquay now for over 40 years and in that time have stayed in many of the top hotels along the front including the Kilbirnie, Barrowcliff, and the Atlantic, but we have never had such a glorious view from a room as last week.

The welcome was warm and the dogs were made just as welcome as we sand nothing was too much trouble.

Our only regret was that it was only three days, and we shall definately make it our first choice in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Address: 32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock beach, Hotel California a 3* listed hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Newquay’s famous Fistral Beach & Vibrant town centre packed with some of England's best bars, restaurants & Nightclubs. There are 2 swimming pools, sauna, games room, Solarium, Hairdresser and free parking. The hotel also has a 4-lane bowling alley, squash court, table tennis and snooker and pool tables.Guests can relax with a drink and enjoy the sun terrace, or sit down for a candle lit dinner in our restaurant with views over rolling countryside, the Gannel estuary and Crantock beach.Away from the town centre, Hotel California’s peaceful rooms each feature a TV, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, Direct dial phone, Trouser press & Hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Newquay
Hotel California Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel California, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.