We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Esplanade” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Esplanade Hotel to your Saves list
The Esplanade Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade Road, Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1PS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Christchurch, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“The Esplanade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

just arrived home from 3 nights at this ""smashing"" hotel. special deal price for 3 nights bed,breakfast and 3 course evening meal !!!! no sea view, but that was our choice !!! as we thought that the time we would spend in our room would be dark anyway,but would say that on longer days a sea view would be fab....i will start with original telephone booking,taken by becky? who explained in detail what we would be getting with our booking and made the NO CANCELLATION TERMS really clear. on arrival we were very quickly booked in by cheryl and all details of meals explained and then she rang us soon after to make sure all was to our liking,, now thats what i call service and we were very happy ... lovely big room,large bed,spotless linen,mattress topper( very comfortable) roomy bathroom with big fluffy towels again spotlessly clean,compimentary shower gel,shampoo,conditioner.the restraurant was lovely with the most fantastic view over Fistral beach and the thing we enjoyed the most was the waiter/waitress service at dinner. with a good selection of starters,main course and desserts, thanks at this stage to" julie the chef" beautifully cooked and presented food on lovely china with nice cutlery and REAL linen napkins you dont see that much in this throw away day and age. polite and well mannered staff,again special thanks to Scott who looked after our table (and happy birthday too Scott) Entertainment in the bar at 9pm each night,quite low key but exactly right for the clientel in the hotel. all in all we had a really lovely break and felt that the staff overall really enjoyed looking after the "" paying customer"" again not something that can be taken for granted in this day and age.. the old style care provided is a credit to the hotel and much apreciated.and must reflect from the TOP down through the ranks............now the down side...... well there really isnt one. it was all so good it was a real pleasure to stay...so please (management) pass on our thanks to all members of your staff.............. and i am sooooooooo sorrry that we checked out and forgot to settle our BAR BILL !!!! all sorted out now

Room Tip: sea view rooms really are worth the extra that you pay for them... on the days when it is light for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Christine, Thank you for your lovely review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your festive stay with us, I will ensure all your feedback is passed onto all members of the team and we wish you a very Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    243
    82
    34
    21
See reviews for
265
228
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

A wonderful hotel, very welcoming,staff friendly and helpful.
Facilities very clean and enjoyable.
Rooms very clean.
Didn't enjoy the pigeons cooing outside our window or squeaky corridor floors outside our door.
An enjoyable stay

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view it's amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Joanne, Thank you for your kind review and we hope to see you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Another visit to this wonderful family friendly hotel - perfect views, perfect breakfast, perfect bar, perfect resturant, perfect room, perfect friendly staff, perfect pool, perfect company!!! Highly recommeded for a great base for surfing, walking or just relaxing!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you again for your lovely review and it was lovely to see you all again, hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The staff at the hotel were friendly and welcoming upon our arrival and through our trip. They were happy to help us out as we had never been to Newquay before. We stayed for 2 nights during some very bad wind and rain but really enjoyed it. Only negative was that the toilet window let in a draft and the toilet seat was freezing! But I don't see this being a problem in the summer or in nicer weather conditions.

The coastal walks are amazing and the view from our window was beautiful even in the storms!

The swimming pool and sauna area was very clean and well kept and very relaxed.

Overall a great hotel.

Room Tip: The Sea View room was amazing, but staying in Novemeber during some of the worst wind and rain made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Alexandra, we are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and managed to get out and about in Newquay even though the weather wasn't that pleasant! Hope to see you again in sunnier months!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed for 1 night for £89 Per Person. This included Breakfast, a 3 course evening,a treatment in the Fistral Spa and a room with a sea view!

Excellent Value for money. The nicest 3 Star hotel i've stayed in by far.

Room Tip: Any with a view of Fistral
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Darren, We are delighted that you enjoyed your Fistral Spa break with us and we hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed for one night with our dog. Our room was very spacious with enough room for our big golden retriever, we were lucky enough to be put in a room with double doors leading on to a grassed area so we could take our dog our out.

The only criticism about the room was that the walls and ceilings are very very thin and creeking, every time the people in the room above moved we could hear it, the floor boards were so creeky, and we could hear drawers and wardrobe doors being open and shut, it did wake us up very early in the morning.

The best thing about this hotel is the location it is absolutley stunning with breathtaking views, we walked the short way to the Lewinnick lodge to eat our evening meal as the view is even more stunning from there and the food is gorgeous.

The breakfast at the hotel was very good, good selection and the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we will ensure all your feedback is looked into, we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Excellent in every way. Three star, not our normal choice but the sister hotel is being renovated. I was shocked at how fabulous this hotel proved to be. Our room was immaculate. The cleanest toilet I have ever seen. Well done to the cleaning staff cleaning room 242 ready for us to stay on sat 17th. The staff were brilliant on reception and in bar! I would definitely recommend this hotel. Well done

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Esplanade Road, Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#7 Business Hotel in Newquay
#11 Family Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Esplanade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.