We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fristral beach and SPA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Esplanade Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Esplanade Hotel to your Saves list
The Esplanade Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade Road, Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1PS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fristral beach and SPA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Just spent the Easter weekend in this hotel. Ideal location in front of Fistral beach, 15 minutes walk from the city centre.
Rooms are pretty average in terms of furniture and size (they are spotless though) but the spa in the hotel next door (free access when staying at the Esplanade) makes up for it.
Only negative side is that our room was on the first floor in the morning and it got really noisy when people were on their way to the restaurant for breakfast.
Reception lovely and really helpul, the guy behind the bar is lovely.
Overall a really good experience. We will go back in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you in the summer, we have refurbished a lot of our sea view rooms this winter and are making our way through the rest of the hotel, so hopefully next time you will be able to stay with us in one of our sea view rooms, don't forget on your next stay you will be entitled to join our loyalty club!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    243
    82
    34
    21
See reviews for
265
228
31
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We didn't stay at the Esplanade, we hired a cottage close by but used the bars facilities during our evenings in Newquay. On Tuesday evening there was a quiz night. The children and adults have separate quizzes - it is great fun for all! Especially the chocolates that the children won! We returned again on Thursday evening when it was Bingo - again so much fun for all the family! The staff are so helpful and polite. Happy Hour between 8-10pm and children were offered a fruit cocktail at £1.00 which they loved!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Sophie, Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed our family quizzes during the Easter holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Excellent location for the hotel,close to the town centre,which is easily walking distance.The hotel caters very well for families and all the staff were very welcoming and helpful to whatever was asked.I had a problem with my room booking,but the receptionist sorted out a bigger room for our stay at no extra charge!
Overall the main issue which needs to be sorted out is the breakfast time in the morning,which can be a long wait to get a table,as the breakfast closes at 9.30 am,which seem rather early for the late risers!! Who turn up at 9.25 to get their Breakfast and there is nothing left in the Hot Section!
The pool area can get crowded with Kids at certain times of the day,hence would suggest to use early in the morning.The fitness centre at the sister hotel The Bay,has fantastic facilities which allows Adults only to use the Gym&Pool.Food at the restaurant is average and the Menu needs some more variety in its choices and the price whichs £24 for 3 courses.
Overall,I would recommend it for families and will certainly be coming back next time when visiting Cornwall.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a Sea View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Raulypatel, Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we will take on board and have a look into the comments regarding breakfast times and the evening meals. Hope to see you again in the future and don't forget you will be entitled to join our loyalty club on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My wife and i had a great stay, 2 nites B and B, plus 1 set dinner. we paid extra for room 201 with a fantasic sea view across Fistral Beach it was well worth it {see photos }all the staff were very friendly and most helpfull,we used the pool area which was clean and tidy.would stay here again if in Newquay.

Room Tip: go for seaview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post some photos along with your review, looks like you had some brilliant weather! Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Booked lunch with the hotel and can only say we had a fantastic experience. Food was more than acceptable, service friendly and efficient.
The child centred activities were fantastic it made the who experience great, with a 6 & 4 year old occupied between courses it made lunch a pleasure.
We will book again and are trying to find a similar hotel further from home for a family holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed your lunch with us on Mothers Day, hope to see you again soon either making use of the swimming pool or at another of our family lunches!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Went there for a hen night, we all got there was greeted nicely into the hotel, staff was really friendly, the room was lovely size needed a bit more cleaning but was ok, we went to the bar had to wait a while to be served but through winter times I expect that.. cocktail was lovely. Enjoyed the pool and sauna, the food was lovely too well presented, next day went to the hotel down the road for our spa treatments of which was lovely, really nice stay we all enjoyed it and would stay again :)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for your review, we hope you had a fantastic weekend and hope the wedding goes well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Highly recommend the hotel for small workshops, and large conferences.
Responsive and responsible staff.
Excellent WiFi, conference facilities etc
Separate break-out rooms

Will be back to use again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, General Manager at The Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Esplanade Hotel

Address: Esplanade Road, Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1PS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#7 Business Hotel in Newquay
#11 Family Hotel in Newquay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Esplanade Hotel is a contemporary family-focused hotel overlooking the world-famous Fistral Beach in Newquay with stunning views from inside and out. The Hotel is more than just a place to sleep - it's a place where you can enjoy quality family holidays on the North Cornwall coast; from splashing about in the heated indoor pool and dining together in the informal family-friendly Ocean View Restaurant to exploring the indoor and outdoor play areas or chilling out in the reception lounge whilst soaking up the view and enjoying a coffee. The hotel is also home to the Quiksilver Surf School and all guests receive discounted surf lessons and equipment hire- the Esplanade Hotel really does have something for all the family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Newquay
The Esplanade Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Esplanade Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.