We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice country pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Albion Inn

Old Albion Inn
Langurroc Road | Crantock, Newquay TR8 5RB, England
01637830243
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #85 of 189 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice country pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Nice thatched country pub, visited with friends on two occasions in last few days. Nice people working there, think lady behind bar is the management, had a very substantial burger with chilli which was very nice!!followed by a Devine sticky toffee pud!!its a welcoming pub with some renovations going on, if it wasnt covered in scaffold it would be such a pretty pub, however better they do it now, it'll be a fab place to visit in the summer,would recommend this place after a mooch around crantock, take a walk on the cliff path and then go here for dinner !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn B, Owner at Old Albion Inn, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for your nice comments, Crantock is a wonderful little village and the best beach in the world, in fact i believe that it has just been voted for best beach in cornwall, hope you visit again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    56
    27
    15
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“old fashioned inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

this pub was like going back in time, very old with lots of character, even had some grumpy old cornishman sitting at the moaning, all in all its a good old fashioned inn,

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Food and Drink!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Lovely olde worlde pub currently undergoing some renovation. Initially we thought that the pub was closed as there was scaffolding etc erected all around. Fortunately for us we saw the 'still open' sign in time. We had a lovely meal, starting with olives and bread, would perhaps have liked a little more of both but maybe that would have been being greedy. Nothing wrong with the main courses I had moussaka while my husband had the fish pie, both very good. One thing buying the wine by the glass was cheaper than buying the bottle, which is unusual.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn B, Owner at Old Albion Inn, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback, and oops about the wine, but all in favour of the customer, hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A lovely old pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I recently visited this pub during a South West Coast path walking trip where I stayed at a local B & B. The service was really good with the ale being of top quality. I ordered my meal and was surprised to find such a substantial portion, this was well received after completing 9 hours of hard walking. I was on my own and found the landlady kind and talkative to me which always makes the evening more pleasant. The pub was clean and tidy and would recommend this to all that visit the delightful village of Crantock.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Old Albion Inn, Crantock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have been visiting Crantock for many years. My husband spent his childhood summers there and has many happy memories of the Old Albion. It was very distressing to see the deterioration of the pub over the years resulting in it being closed down for a time last year. We are delighted that the new management has turned it around now. It is clean, warm and welcoming with excellent food. Thank you so much for restoring the Old Albion to us all.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evelyn B, Owner at Old Albion Inn, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I hope we can keep those memories going for you, and there is more restoring to come. thanks again for visiting
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Albion Inn also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Crantock, Cornwall
 
Crantock, Cornwall
Crantock, Cornwall
 

Been to Old Albion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Albion Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.