We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault! Go see them.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Green Surf School

Big Green Surf School
20 Tower Road, Newquay TR7 1LR, England
+44 7790 477099
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 60 Activities in Newquay
Type: Surf Camps, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Big Green Surf School we pride ourselves in giving loads of personal attention in the water to ensure you're getting the most out of your surfing. With amazing accommodation available in-house at Base Surf Lodge we've got everything you need to make the most out of your time in Newquay. Come and join us at Newquay's Premier Surf Experience!
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Can't fault! Go see them.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Been around a year since myself and my girlfriend went to Newquay to surf, but we are hopefully going back this summer with friends and won't surf with anyone but big green. Amazing instructors who will cater for all levels, I wanted to go out further so Dale humored me and was there to pick me up when I inevitably wiped out! All of the instructors and great people, fun to be around and patient. The best!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigGreenSurfSchool, Owner at Big Green Surf School, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks so much for the review dude, we'll get you back out on those bigger waves this year when you're down - look forward to seeing you guys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Surfed with the company and Dale whilst in Newquay and couldnt have asked for a better instructor very helpful and a good laugh even ended up booking a second lesson ! Would definitely recommend !!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigGreenSurfSchool, Owner at Big Green Surf School, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thanks for the review - look forward to seeing you back in Newquay again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Great tuition - most of the other schools have huge classes so there is no way that you can get the personal instruction so brilliantly given by Dale. The equipment was top quality, the pace and content of the course was perfect. My 11 year old daughter is now raving about surfing and asking when we get a board. Many thanks.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigGreenSurfSchool, Owner at Big Green Surf School, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
You guys really made the most of the small group and the waves we had! It was great to see so much surfing passion from someone so young! Look forward to the next visit and pushing that surfing even further!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I really couldn't recommend the Big Green Surf School more, me and a couple of friends went for the 5 days of lessons and had an absolutely awesome time. The coach Dale was fantastic, his passion, enthusiasm, patience and incredible knowledge of surfing helped us all to build up our technique and confidence, and so we all progressed rapidly over the 5 days. He was constantly giving us great pointers and tips to get better and get the most out of every wave. The surf science lesson was fascinating and also recording us from the beach on video camera on day 3 helped hugely. His relaxed, down to earth and open character was great too and he quickly became a friend not just a tutor. If your thinking of learning to surf in Newquay, choose big green surf school, its such good value for money, seriously just do it. You wont regret it!

Visited March 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigGreenSurfSchool, Owner at Big Green Surf School, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Cheers for the review dude, it was great to see you guys improving throughout the week, and that Video Coaching really seemed to jump things up a gear! Look forward to seeing you all later in the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome surf school in an awesome location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

The Big Green Surf School is the best surf school in Newquay hands down. Head coach Dale is extremely knowledgable on the technical and cultural aspects of surfing. I went with 2 of my friends and we all enjoyed it so much. If you're looking for a surf school in Newquay then look no further! Awesome week Dale! Already planning the next rip! Thanks again!

Visited April 2014

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigGreenSurfSchool, Owner at Big Green Surf School, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thanks for the review bro - you guys did so well, especially braving the March weather but it was great to get to know you all. Look forward to seeing you again later in the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Green Surf School also viewed

 

Been to Big Green Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Green Surf School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.