We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mermaid Inn

Mermaid Inn
Alexandra Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3NB, England
01637 872954
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 172 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Corby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Just been here and had the fishcakes which were lovely. the views were stunning but would have liked more seafood on the menu specially as it couldnt get much closer to the sea. looks a bit dated, other than that it was a lovely meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    92
    43
    24
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good...but not as good as it used to be!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was the chosen eatery for family get togethers for a number of years..the meal portions were generous, the steaks were always good and they had a great selection of meals on offer including fresh fish meals.

We didnt go for a year after the passing of my mum and as a tribute got together recently for a meal. The atmosphere was a little different than normal...not bad, different, a little quiet.

The meal portions were significantly smaller and I was a little disappinoted by the quality of the steaks. Dont get me wrong, its got the views, its a decent pub, and the food is ok, but its good from a well above average pub to and average pub....

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryde, United Kingdom
1 review
“friendly pub on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

can be a very busy bub but always good food hot and tasty at agood price

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Friendly place for a drink on the beach !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Visited the pub during my stay at Porth. Very family friendly place. Good garden outside looking onto the beach, so a great place for a sunset drink. The beach itself is a quiet one so is a nice place to hangout. Didn't get to taste the food but looked good and people seemed to be enjoying it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Lincs
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Doesn't look much but great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Was encouraged to go here by friends who had visited the area before and recommended it. This pub has probably the most unfortunate archtecture possible, it really is not an attractive building, squat and flat roofed. Inside it is all pretty dated and a bit scuffy. There is a large family room and a quiter lounge and a large patio area that extends right to the beach with a good view straight to the sea.. The service was fine, good range of beers. The really best bit was the food. I wasn't expecting much to be honest and was pleasantly surprised. A friend had a vegetable lasagne and usually in pubs she is given something frozen that has been microwaved to extinction; this time it was very good indeed. I had a steak and chips that was done to perfection.
We liked the food so much that we came back twice, one evening to watch the football (Euro2012) and although v full the atmosphere was good. On another evening we came back just for a meal - yet again all was good.
So this was a surprising find, if your'e not too fussed about the decor give it a try.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mermaid Inn also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Mermaid Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mermaid Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.