We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is getting pricey but excellent view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of steam bar

steam bar
The Great Western, Newquay R7 2NE, England
+44 1637 872010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #106 of 180 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Food is getting pricey but excellent view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This little brewery run place is a cracking little pub/restaraunt attached to the Great Western Hotel.

4 St Austell real Ales available, All flavours of Rattler and local ciders.

The food is not bad but has got very pricey recently.

The best thing about this pub is the clifftop terrace overlooking Great Western Beach.

Perfect for viewing the surfers - childrens play area with train and slide - really beautiful hidden gem.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    45
    27
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Penderyn, Aberdare
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Superb views, Excellent staff, great food, lovely atmosphere,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in the hotel and used the Steam bar frequently, lovely staff, very efficient ad helpful. Remembered us after the first night, personal touches are good. Excellent pint of Strongbow!! We only had one evening meal, but had breakfast most days there, that was lovely too!! Lovely lovely settings, spectacular sea views!, only one thing I'd improve and that is that I would arrange to have the 100's of Windows cleaned more regularly, (im definitely not offering to do them!!) then it would be a tip top setting. made our stay wonderful thanks guys xx

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning sunsets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have visited this bar on a couple of occasions now and find it to be fabulous on a warm summer evening as there is a beautiful beer garden with stunning views over Great Western Beach. There is a good selection of good basic food ar a reasonable price

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wombourne England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good location and good bar food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Ate here one evening the food was the usual bar fayre, the service was good. We sat near a window overlooking the beach, unfortunately the weather was poor but if fine it would have provided good sunset location.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Views From The Beer Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

A good sized pub set within a large hotel. This place is very child friendly and has an excellent outdoor area with a decent childrens play area. The views across the bay are spectacular and well worth a visit just for this. We never ate here this year, but we have in previous years, and the food was good quality and reasonably priced when we did. Alcohol prices are what you would expect in Newquay, but some brands are quite pricey compared to other establishments. I recall the till showing £4.05 for a pint of Berry Rattler Cider which I think is getting far too high. The service could be better here, with some of the bar staff seeming to forget what a queue is and serving the nearest person to them, rather than the person waiting the longest. We regularly had to wait in the region of 10 minutes before getting served. Overall though, a good place to visit and well worth a look.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed steam bar also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to steam bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage steam bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.