We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tuition, nice beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fistral Beach Surf School

Fistral Beach Surf School
Headland Road, Newquay, England
01637 850737
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 60 Activities in Newquay
Type: Surf Camps, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are the only surf school located on the famous Fistral Beach, offering 2.5 hours for all abilities. Whether you are a beginner who wants to give surfing a go for the first time, or someone who wants to improve their surfing ability, we will have a variety of lessons from group to individual courses. With a pay and display car park and no walking to and from the beach, Fistral Beach Surf School is the perfect choice.
Warwickshire, UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good tuition, nice beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Fistral Beach Surf School was easy to find, right on the front of Fistral beach. 2.5hrs training was £30. Our instructor Pete was friendly, informative and helpful throughout. His friendly, laidback attitude made us all feel at ease but confident in him (he's trained in surf instruction and a trained lifeguard). The only downside was that the portion of sea used for surfing was quite crowded as it was a busy day and there are a couple of other surf schools that use this beach. This is not the fault of the surf school though. I would definately recommend booking with them.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beginners Surfing Lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We decided to 'have a go' at surfing whilst we were on holiday in Newquay - when in Rome etc.
After enquiring at receiption we chose to go with Fistral Beach surf school.
They were really friendly and helpful, explaining all about beach and sea safety before we got on a board, and paid a lot of attention to helping the kids (aged 10 & 15.)
Thanks to Jenny and the guys for a really good morning - we enjoyed it that much we had to go again during the holiday. !!!!
As kids tend to do my Daughter left her coat in the changing room - the school even rang everyone who surfed that day to track the owners down - Service above and beyond the call of duty !.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Me and my boyfriend booked a 2 and half hour lesson with Fistral Beach Surf School and we had a great day!!! All the staff both in the office and the instructors were really friendly and helpful! The lesson was set up really well with a good mix of good teaching and tips on the beach from our instructor Pidge and plenty of time to put these into action in the water! Had a fantastic time and we will definately come back to Fistral the next time we visit Newquay :).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good fun, good facilities, good instructors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Took a 3 hour introduction to wave surfing today. Paid £30. The school is on Fistral beach, the only one there (all other school are in town, just 5 minutes away, but hey). Kit is good, people are friendly, instruction was fun and good. Spend about three quarters of an hour on the beach, warming up and being taught the basics, the other 2 hours were spent in the water. Managed to carve those waves in the end on my huge foamy board.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Lesson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Had a first lesson with instructor and was comfortably standing by the end of it. With board hire and wetsuit included this is good value for money, in the best surfing beach in the UK!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fistral Beach Surf School also viewed

 

Been to Fistral Beach Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fistral Beach Surf School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.