We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for a cheap meal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Towan Blystra

The Towan Blystra
12-16 Cliff Road, Newquay tr7 1sg, England
1637852970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #113 of 180 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: Diner
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Hull
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“OK for a cheap meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Typical Weatherspoon's pub cheap food which was nice and cheap drinks which were average. Little atmosphere as with most Weatherspoon's but good place to eat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    47
    23
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good pub , great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We visited this pub on a number of occasions whilst we were in Newquay recently. There are 2 whetherspoons in town , this is the older of the two, however we found the staff here much friendlier and polite than those at the Cribbar a little further in town. The only grumble we have with the Towan Blystra is the nasty smell when you walk along the corridor to the loo, other than that it's a good pub.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stag party hell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Awful place now, full of stag party's with hangovers topping up their drinking at 9am. Ordered breakfast, waited 45 mins for food to be delivered, not told when ordered of any delay or that there was no toast with the breakfast only bread as toaster had broken!! Food not very fresh or hot when it did finally arrive. Definitely one to avoid

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Not the most sparkling of Wetherspoons. Very often looks untidy and poorly lit in some areas. Tables often dirty and menus all over the place. Horrendous at weekends with all the Stag and Hen parties in town. Outside seating poor and shelter provided leaks when it rains, no shelter from the sun and dogs not allowed even on the outside patio area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Told to leave!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We sat outside on an unoccupied table. There was plenty of space for many more people. As I set off for the drinks a member of staff came towards us. He told us that dogs were not allowed even outside. We had to leave with our 10 year old Chocolate Labrador. We crossed over the road to the Griffin Inn where we were made very welcome.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Towan Blystra also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Perranporth, Cornwall
 
St Ives, Cornwall
Truro, Cornwall
 

Been to The Towan Blystra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Towan Blystra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.