We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kilbirnie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kilbirnie Hotel to your Saves list
Kilbirnie Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   narrowcliffe, Newquay TR7 2RS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for a saturday night, fist weekend in October. We took our small westie with us, as dogs are permitted on all the beaches out of season. It's ideally situated and is an easy stroll into town, and directly opposite the beach. The room was clean and tidy. We had a sea view and a bathroom with a bath. The tv was very old and the reception was bad. There was no wifi in the room. The breakfast was very nice, full english, choice of cereals and tea and coffee were in plentiful supply, served to your table. We would definately stay again.

Room Tip: If there is a function on, ask for a room away from the ballroom, sound travels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    50
    21
    10
    17
See reviews for
27
40
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I booked in initially for two nights but decided we would like to stay an extra night. The staff were really helpful as at first the hotel was full but due to a cancellation they jiggled it so we could stay in the same room. The room was comfortable and clean, the full English breakfast was nicely cooked and there was also a good selection of cereals, fruit etc. We liked the fact that the hotel was just on the edge of Newquay so not noisy and we enjoyed walking to the cliff edge and taking in the view. There was always space to park the car though sometimes a little difficult but this may have been because two coaches were taking up several parking spaces at the front of the hotel and we had to park at the back. It has two pools but these were closed when I went to check them out . The hotel may not be ultra modern but it is perfectly adequate and excellent value for money. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: worth paying a little extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st austell
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Kilbirne hotel for one night on 2 occasions in September rooms 228 & 229 to attend 2 wedding receptions one reception at the Kilbirne and 1 at a nearby hotel.
We want to give our view of the hotel.
Good points, in an excellent location overlooking the barrowfield [a large grass public recreation area] and the Atlantic Ocean, just a short walk into Newquay town centre. The reception area lounge and dining room are clean and well presented and the reception some of the staff were pleasant, the meal served at the reception was good and the evening buffet had a good selection.
Average points, the room was of average size, the service during the meal was slow at times having to ask more than once for some vegetables as not enough was served to start with as 4 guests were waiting at one end of our table for veg, car park has not got many spaces for the size of the hotel.
Not so good points, the room was in need of a makeover the shower curtain rail was rusty, the shower was imposable to adjust to a comfortable temperature as turning the taps had no real affect, 2 sashays of shower gel/shampoo which were impossible to open, just one glass in the bathroom of room 228, the tea/coffee making facilities were loose tea bags [not in any kind of packet] sashays of coffee and sugar and small cartons of milk just thrown in a well used self seal bag, the silver plated cutlery in the dining room was showing it’s age with a lot of the plating being worn off, at breakfast a waiter lent over in front of my wife who was eating at the time to serve someone else coffee. Didn’t complain at the time as we were only staying for 1 night.

Room Tip: a sea view room would best, our rooms were at the back and overlooked some derelict buldings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worksop
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed for one night and found this hotel really good. The facilities are very good, with swimming pool, sauna etc. well stocked bar and very comfortable and pleasant surroundings.
The bedroom was clean and spacious and more than adequate, however the ensuite did need a little bit of a facelift as it appearred very dated. The grouting needed replacing, the shower itself was good with plenty of hot water but the shower curtain was rather inadequate for the position of the shower. The back/end of the bath was not against a wall and was open so if the curtain was not pulled around sufficiently then the bathroom would get very wet. There were hairs and dried toothpaste in the sink which had obviously not been cleaned from the previous guests. The bed was clean and very comfortable allowing for a very good nights sleep. The breakfast was very good with quality produce but did seem small for a full English breakfast, having said this quality certainly outweighed quantity. The customer service from the staff was very good. The hotel is about a 10 minute easy walk into the centre of Newquay.Plenty of parking available with spaces on the forecourt and also at the rear of the hotel which seemed a little more secure as there was no other access to this area other than from the hotels driveway. As regards the other reviewers who stated that noise was an issue, this certainly wasn't the case for us. A very pleasant stay and will return again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for a weekend , with my husband , room was nice , clean and we had sea view , yes the walls are paper thin , I was woke up on both mornings with the sound off a extractor fan and the people in the next room getting ready , ie hair dryer , loo flushing , and general chatting ,
Breakfast was good , location not bad it's just on outskirts of town center , We enjoyed our stay , but I'm a light sleeper so don't think I would return to this hotel ,

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

There were some good aspects to this hotel - clean, good location, reasonable view but these were totally overshadowed by the complete lack of soundproofing. I was on the 1st floor and could hear every word spoken in the room above me, every footstep reverberated through the ceiling as did the sound of them opening drawers, cupboards. These guests weren't behaving anti-socially, they were doing what's normal in a hotel room (yes, that too). If you are on 1st floor and your sleeping habits don't match your neighbours you are in for a miserable time. Of the numerous hotels I have stayed in I have nevered endured noise like this.
The staff did their jobs, they spoke when were spoken to but there was no cheery welcome or even a 'good morning' and they certainly didn't ask if I'd enjoyed my stay. They had the attitude that if eye contact doesn't happen it's less likely you'll ask them for something.
Penny pinching? Definately, £1 for extra tea bags/coffee in rooms, chipped crockery, worn cutlery quilt covers 30cms shorter than quilts, outdated TV etc etc.
Would I stay there again? NO

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Booked a long weekend following recommendation from friends.
Wasn't disappointed - met by a smiley receptionist and shown to a sea view rooom (views are amazing as Hotel perched right on the coast edge!).
Relaxed in the lovely warm indoor pool and destressed in the sauna.
Stayed for dinner at the Kilbirnie and so glad we did - the food was traditional, tasty and plentiful - 4 courses!
The Kilbirnie is located at the quiter end of Newquay but only takes 10 mins to walk into town via lovely coastal roads.
Thoroughly enjoyed it and will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kilbirnie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilbirnie Hotel

Address: narrowcliffe, Newquay TR7 2RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilbirnie Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kilbirnie Hotel ***, is located overlooking Tolcalne and Lusty Glaze beaches just a short stroll down onto the golden sands or into the surf,The Hotel offers comfortable en Suite bedrooms, some with fantastic sea views, our leisure facilites inc indoor heated swimming pool, hydro Spa, Sauna, Fitness centre , and outdoor plunge pool, Bar Restaurant and snooker room, We take the time to care about your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Kilbirnie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilbirnie Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilbirnie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.