We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute - Great Find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Atlantic Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Atlantic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Silks Bistro Award
Ranked #15 of 51 hotels in Newquay
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Last Minute - Great Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

My partner and I were camping in Cornwall for 6 nights, after 3 nights in the wind, rain and cold weather we could stand it no more, and packed up and headed for the nearest hotel at 8 o'clock at night. We headed towards Newquay and the Atlantic was the first hotel we saw. We were warmly (literally) welcomed in to the hotel but the ladies on the desk. We had a beautiful room which overlooked the sea, cliffs and gorgeous coastline. The bathroom was spotlessly clean, with robes and slippers. We ate in the Silks restaurant and found the food and service to be excellent. After a very comfortable nights sleep we arrived to a wide variety of breakfast food in the restaurant which had huge windows overlooking the sea on all sides.

You may think after 3 uncomfortable nights in a tent my view may be biased, and maybe thats in some way true. However I have stayed in a lot of hotels, and this one was really great - location, service, very helpful and genuinely friendly staff. If we are in Newquay again we will definietely choose this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    268
    117
    35
    28
    57
See reviews for
76
263
13
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
north yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Just returned home from a weeks holiday at the atlantic hotel, we stayed in a superior seaview room with bed and breakfast for £85.00 room per night, what excellent value for money! The room was spacious with fantastic sea view, newly refurbished with 42inch plasma tv, leather sofa, power shower bathroom, roll top bath, toiletries supplied and kept getting topped up during our stay.

Breakfasts are delicious with a good choice, breakfast staff were so friendly and helpful, the breakfast supervisor one day took time out at breakfast to show us dolphins swimming in the bay, what a nice touch. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Can not fault this hotel - we are particularly funny about cleanliness etc but can honestly say this is one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in, the beds were so comfortable with memory foam matresses on them wanted to bring it home with me - will definatley be back - keep up the good work
T

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

When booking on the telephone staff could not have been more helpful and when we arrived the welcome continued. The suprise came when we had walked throughly the stately lounge and arrived at our new refurbished room with its magnificent ocean view .
Our room was an interesting configuration but worked well with large bathroom, smaller sitting room and balcony but a fantastic bedroom with mood lighting - I still cannot control!
The next suprise was the Silks Bistro -whay a wonderful and somewaht trendy atmospere and yet more helpful staff serving large portion of seafood and other appetising food.
Breakfast had yet another view with a wonderful egg bar.

The walks from the hotel are bracing with fanatstic scenery and easy access to much of Cornwall. The location is nicely removed from (but stiil has easy access to) the town centre .
We were so enjoying the hotel that we asked to stay on - I didn't ask the price and slightly feared that my promotional rate might have expired but no when I came to pay the bill I had a pleasant surprise.

Someone has invested not only money into this Hotel but in staff selection and training.
I felt the Hotel had good leadership and hope it enjoys the success it deserves - we cannot wait to return but it will be difficult to exceed our expectations - they are so high!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Credit
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

We got married in this hotel and returned to find that this excellent hotel was only getting better. The service was first rate and there was a warm welcome. Nothing is to much trouble for the staff both in the hotel and the excellent restaurant. The location is stunning with uninterrupted views of the alantic and easy access to fisteral and newquay. Our room was decorated to a high standard and spacious. The bed wad comfy and the bathroom had a lovely roll top bath and walk in shower. The breakfast was superb as was our evening meal. Nice indoor pool. Only two very minor groans the indoor pool is a little dated and the hot tub was only just warm, also you had to pay extra for room service and breakfast in bed. However overall couldn't recommend a stay here more. Friendly service in a top hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Stayed at Atlantic for two nights,service was good, breakfast was excellent.Couldnt wish for a better hotel for views,beaches and only 5 mins walk into town.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

Really well fitted out room, with a modern bathroom, large tv , comfortable bed, a sea view, best breakfast we have ever had, and all at a great price.
The staff are cheerful, friendly, and very willing to help. Porter service.
A great location in Newquay and we enjoyed our stay very much. I think this was our fourth stay and each one was very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

My wife and myself stayed at this hotel for four nights and were extremely pleased by all aspects of our stay.Although on entering the hotel you may at first be a little taken aback by the "stern" appearance of the reception area the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.The room was first class,obviously recently refurbished with excellent sea views,plasma tv,his and hers sinks in the bathroom,shower and bath.The beds themselves were so comfortable both of us agreed that it was the first time we had returned from holiday not saying we were glad to get back to our own bed.We only paid for bed and breakfast and the breakfast itself was first class and I notice that some of the reviews only dealt with meals in Silks restaurant which is a bit unfair on the other facilities in the hotel.We did use the swimming pool on more than one occasion and yes maybe the pool is in need of minor repair work but this did not detract from a wonderful four day stay and we would have no hesitation in returning some time in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#15 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Tingo and Booking.com so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.