We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Surprise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Atlantic Hotel to your Saves list
The Atlantic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sandy,Bedfordshire.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“What A Surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My Wife & I decided to have a Holiday in Newquay & knowing the area well thought that the Atlantic Hotel was in such a good location that it would be ideal. However the Brochue illustrations made it look more like `Colditz` from the outside so I arrived with some apprehension.
However the Inside is a revalation. The public areas are superb & the bedrooms even better
the staff were great & the food very good indeed.
We had a great stay & would certainly go again. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: Get A Refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear PeterR_10
Thank you for your positive review and high recommendations. It has been a pleasure to read your review and we hope to welcome you and your wife again in the near future.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    145
    42
    31
    59
See reviews for
88
329
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in early November. Good, well kept, large hotel in a convenient location for Newquay, close to beaches and town. Great views from large picture windows. Lovely having breakfast looking out to sea and at the beaches. Efficient, helpful staff. Food was excellent. We had a superior double sea view room, which was spacious and well equipped - really spectacular sea views. All in all very good. (Only slight criticism was it was too hot in the hotel).

Room Tip: Worth having a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear JHCGloucester
Thank you for your review following your stay in November. It was a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your two nights break at the Hotel. Hopefully you will return in the near future and maybe for an even longer visit.
Kindest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We has a lovely, large room overlooking the sea, plus a welcome balcony with sitting area. Silks restaurant excellent and well worth eating here for the freshness of the seafood plus presentation and service.
Staff all very friendly and attentive. Overall a very nice hotel, spotlessly clean and well presented.
If we are ever back in the area, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights at the end of October. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by the reception and booked in. We were given our key card and headed for our room, we had booked a superior sea view, when we entered our room though it transpired that we had a balcony regardless. Whether this was an admin fault or an off season upgrade from the hotel I'll never know. The room was very modern and spacious, with of course, stunning views. The bathroom is in keeping with the rest of the room and very modern with his/hers sinks and a roll top bath. The only slight moan i would have throughout this review is that our bathroom window was literally straight onto our neighbours balcony, i found this to be strange and ill thought out, especially as the blinds covering the window were mesh and thus insufficient at blocking prying eyes at night!! The room and bathroom was very clean and you'd be hard pushed to fault the cleaners (even our windows were cleaned during our stay!).
All of the staff (and i mean every single one) we encountered were exceptionally professional and couldn't do enough for you, whether we were asking for an extra blanket or the default code for the safe having locked myself out of it...
The restaurant "Silks" was fantastic despite having the name of a dodgy back street barbers, the service was great and the food equally as good, all for a reasonable price. We only planned on eating there once but enjoyed it so much we re-visited. The drinks list could possibly be expanded in the beer section, I was told by a waitress they only had Guinness and John smiths which i'm not quite sure if that was correct, the wine menu is comprehensive as is the cocktail menu. I did find the cocktail menu somewhat over-priced however I accept it's a hotel!
We used the pool/sauna/jacuzzi on a daily basis, each time we were the only users which may be on account of the off season but regardless it was thoroughly enjoyable.
We will definitely be re-visiting The Atlantic as soon as we can, disregard negative reviews!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Jameswilliams1987

Thank you for your recent review. We are very happy to hear you and your partner had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed your dinning experience with in our silks bistro.

We wish you all the best in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to the Atlantic Hotel.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My husband and I visit Cornwall every year and normally stay in an apartment, this year we decided to book a hotel and the Atlantic was in an excellent location, just 2 minutes walk from Fistral Beach on the cliff overlooking Newquay.
From the outside, the hotel looks average but inside it is lovely with lots of original features. The views from the dining room out to sea are breath taking.
The room we booked overlooked the sea and the headland. It was modern, comfortable with lots of extras.
The bathroom was very luxurious with under floor heating, a roll top bath and separate large shower.
The warbrobe was walk in and had plenty of space. We had a sofa in our room too and the bed was very comfortable.
The breakfast was very good with a wide selection of hot and cold items.
We ate in the restaurant on 2 nights and the food was excellent.
All in all an excellent stay, would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Louise J

Thank you for your recent review. We are very pleased to hear you decided to stay with us and not you’re usual apartment, and that you were not disappointed with your choice.

We wish you all the best for the future and hope that next year when you visit you decide to stay with us again.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just come back from a 4 night stay,the room are at a very good standard,very clean cleaned daily. we had a lovely seaview of the atlantic. we had a superior room which had a luxurious bathroom with a free standing bath, walk in shower.The breakfast was very good,both chefs were very friendly, as are all the staff very polite and helpful. Swimming pool area is being revamped which will make the hotel outstanding.Only small gripe they have a lovely full size snooker table, but all the cues are in a very poor condition.This is our second time staying here we would definietly come again .

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a superior, a lot bigger than the classic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic-Managment, General Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Edwards01284

Thank you for your lovely review. We are extremely pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and dinning experience with us yet again. We hope that when you stay again the swimming area will be fully refurbished. This work is due to commence in 2013.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a 3rd time and wish you all the best for the future.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Location of this hotel directly at the Atlantic Ocean is fantastic. The hotel and room are renovated and clean. The food is very good but not exeptionel. The prices are acceptable to good considered the location and quality.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view over the Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.