We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold rooms and kept-hot breakfasts” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Atlantic Hotel to your Saves list
The Atlantic Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cold rooms and kept-hot breakfasts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Great location and I had booked a "superior room with sea views" - which is what I got. Good large room and refurbished bathroom. Comfortable bed - so far so good. Went downhill from there as I had arrived on 1 April and when I asked why my radiators weren't working I was told "there is no central heating after 1st April" ! The night time temps were 4 degrees C and it was only 6 degrees outside at 7pm according to my car thermometer. This is Cornwall - not the Caribbean! I said it wasn't good enough for a room costing over £100/night b&b and eventually the lone receptionist on Sunday evening (this is a big hotel) said she'd bring me up a portable elec heater. Which I then kept and used continuously when I was in the room - which faced north/west toward the sea so sunshine didn't get to the room at all in April. The breakfasts are OK, but the cooked options are kept warm in hot trays - more like a 2-3 star hotel which this isn't. Good marks for fresh fruit/dried fruits and fresh orange juice though - despite the ubiquitous tinned grapefruit segments. Staff seemed minimal and only one eating option was open at this time. If you're going after 1 April and before - what? Xmas? (joke) then take a portable heater with you as I can't believe they have dozens to hand.......

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    145
    42
    31
    59
See reviews for
88
329
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Hotel first impressions good, room OK staff quite friendly however the room ,despite opening the window, balcont door & switching off the radiator was like a sauna ,far to hot to get a good nights sleep.
On the 3rd day the lift broke down hopeless when you have to climb two flights of stairs with a wife who was just recovering from hospital treatment. Wrote to the hotel director & mentioned two other relatively small housekeeping issues, received a rather patronising letter & offer of an upgrade if we were to stay again. Rather poor response & will definitely NOT be staying again,pity the owners don't really understand customer service despite there boasts of real 4* treatment, Agree with the last review Newquay is rather run down!!.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

went to this hotel for four days, found the hotel was excellent.The staff were friendly and the rooms lovely only problem was that our room was really hot as the radiator did not turn off. The swimming pool was lovely and is going to be upgraded, one complaint was the position of the tv it was on the side wall and did not have a swivel bracket so watching tv gave you a neck ache the other down side was the actual town (Newquay) l know its March but there were quite a lot of shops closed and to be honest the town was quite run down, l would definately go back to the hotel but not the town!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Fantastic experience.Food gorgeous.unbelievable service from all staff.will not wait long before returning to dine.Well done to all at the Atlantic.
paul and family

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

A superb hotel!! This was our second visit and once again we were more than happy with all aspects.

The room, a suite with sea view, couldn't have been cleaner and was equipped with everything you would need. The bathroom was an impressive size with lovely large sky light, bath & shower, huge mirror and his and her glass sinks.

We enjoyed champagne & oysters and also had an outstanding steak in the restaurant. I'm not surprised it was busy all through the evening.

The staff were all more than helpful and even extended our departure time. I very much look forward to visiting again in the near future and thoroughly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Reception finished refurb 2 weeks ago, a tremendous blend of old and new. Rooms are first rate and again recently refurbished, very trendy and new. Views are out of this world. Location is great being a few hundred yards from Fustral beach, whilst being 15 minute walk to the town centre. Price was good £113 for a double inc of breakfast and vat. Breakfast was excellent, freshly squeezed orange juice, buffet and cooked, and cooked ingredients were first rate, quality produce.
1 single criticism is there is no gym. There is a pool which is ok but not fantastic.
We didn't eat in the resturant as we were in town but it looked really good.
So all in all a really good place.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

It was our 4th stay at the Atlantic Hotel Newquay in the past 10 months and we had another fantastic time. We stayed overnight in a sea view suite on the 3rd floor with views to die for. The room was clean,spacious with every creature comfort you could wish for, with the most beautifully appointed bathroom. We ate in the evening at the Atlantic restaurant, the food and service was superb. The breakfast in the morning was excellent, a great selection of various options and the best cooked breakfast we have had in any hotel ! The walks around the headland are stunning and Newquay town centre is a stretch of the legs away. We are now looking forward to our 5th stay at this hotel in March 2012 but this time we are very excited to be staying for the weekend with other family members to celebrate my 40th Birthday !!

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic with impressive views but we prefer the rooms on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Hotel

Address: Dane Road, Newquay TR7 1EN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#9 Business Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Atlantic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning location, breathtaking views of the coast and a short walk from the Harbour and Town centre, The Atlantic Hotel provides the perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. Whether it is a family holiday or a romantic getaway you will not be disappointed with your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Newquay
The Atlantic Hotel Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Atlantic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.