We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Narrowcliff, Newquay TR72PQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed in the hotel during one of the many winter storms. We were upgraded to a room facing out over the bay - the receptionist told us this was because our original room could be very noisy when it was windy. We were really pleased - the room was huge and gave us a lovely view! The hotel in general is quite dated and the breakfast is expensive, but it provided us with a cheap, warm base with a reasonably comfy bed. Staff were lovely.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    72
    26
    9
    4
See reviews for
44
87
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Sunday 26th January our Twinning Committee organised our yearly lunch at the Hotel Bristol. I had never been to this hotel before and was unsure of what to expect and taking a party of 21 was a little worrying. We enjoyed a great lunch served by polite, attentive and very skilled staff, our greeting at the entrance was very smooth and the bar was a delight. Staff well trained and some old fashioned friendly courtesy and attention to detail which has gone a long way to us using this hotel again later this year. well done.

Room Tip: cannot comment as only used restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marazion, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

I was here for a work conference, can't really fault it. The conference room was great, plenty of water & sweets!! The food was wonderful, the staff great, hardly noticed them!! The room was lovely BUT I had no radiators over night as they were broke, so it was chilly but they brought me a heater. To be honest it was a a great stay, would recommend it and would seek to stay here for pleasure at another time.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I stayed here for 1 night as I had a meeting booked here the following morning. The hotel staff were fantastic - nothing was too much trouble. Dinner and breakfast was good and the small attention to detail really paid off - the milk served with coffee was brought to me having been heated for example. The rooms here are basic and the bathroom was a little tired but that said it was clean and comfortable and offered good value for money. I will be sure to stay here again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The only negative comment i can give about this hotel is when the wind blows the windows move slightly as they are the old type sash of which allows the wind through. This means the rooms can get a bit chilly in the winter as there is only one small radiator in the room. Everything else about this hotel is very good indeed. All the staff we came into contact with were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. We stayed over the new year period and i have to say it was one of the best new years events i have been to and at my age i have been to a fair few. The food was very good, just the right size portions, excellent waiting staff and then the entertainment was nicely balanced for all age groups. I did not hear one complaint everyone i spoke to.thought it was a fantastic evening. I do not say this often, but this is a hotel i would definitely go back to without hesitation. I would recommend you stay at this hotel as it's location is ideal for the shops, restaurants, beaches and entertainment as well as the great amenities within the hotel itself

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed two nights over the New year period.

Initially we were in room 297 situated at the rear of the hotel. A small room but was sufficient for what we needed. Unfortunately when we got into bed we established that the mattress was not great in that it dipped so we ended up rolling into the middle. At 03:00 we were both up as we could not sleep because not only did the mattress dip it was very hard. We stripped and turned the mattress (at 03:00) but this did not help. In the morning we spoke with the receptionist and she advised that she would look into it. Shortly after this we were advised that we were going to be moved rooms. We were then allocated room 248 - excellent room with a sea view. If you can afford a sea view room, you most book it. The bed in this room was also excellent so we had a good nights sleep on the second night and were pleased at how quickly our problem was addressed.

Breakfast on both mornings was great with plenty of choice. Staff were also smiley and efficient for breakfast service.

The hotel is a little dated but as Best Western Hotels advertise, they are hotels with character.

Hotel is in a good location around a 5 - 10 minute walk from the town centre. Not too far out but enough so that you are not near the nightlife.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

This was a 3 night room only stay over new year and booked the new year dinner after arrival.

Room- very clean, fairly comfy bed, bathroom fine, my only negative was the draught from the bedroom window, left us a bit chilly in the room.

Hotel- the hotel has a good seafront location, within walking distance of shops and restaurants, car parking at the rear of the hotel. I found all areas to be clean

Staff- I have to say, the staff at this hotel are all fantastic, they work hard, constantly meeting and greeting everyone with a smile and made us feel welcome, The organisation and commitment they all show was really commendable. Thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

New Year's Eve dinner and disco-the organisation for this event at the hotel was very good, a fantastic meal, very organised and smiling staff. Dinner in the restaurant, then through to the disco/bar, no fighting for seats in the bar/disco, each party had a table reserved for them following the meal in the restaurant. A great atmousphere.

Overall- a fantastic stay, definitely will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR72PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#7 Family Hotel in Newquay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family run hotel. Set above Tolcarne Beach with views of the Atlantic Ocean. Civil Wedding Licence, meeting rooms, free wi-fi, restaurant & bar meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newquay
Best Western Hotel Newquay
Newquay Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.