We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Narrowcliff, Newquay TR72PQ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great family friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in the Hotel Bristol for 2 nights in August 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had a fantastic sea view, the sun shone and the room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Free wi-fi was a bonus. The decor was a little old fashioned and the plumbing a bit noisy but overall I thought that was a really good family friendly hotel and good value compared to others I have stayed in. Breakfast was excellent and the staff were exceptional. As people have said in other reviews, the staff really cant do enough for you. They even opened the bar for us because we fancied a drink an hour or so before it was due to open.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    66
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
39
81
8
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taplow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I have stayed here before when working in the area on business, as on this occasion.
Turned up on the off chance of a room ashad to say unexpectedly just for one night, got there late, so quick shower and out for something to eat in the town.
Room was "in the eaves" but with a slightly obscured sea view from one of the front towers, the room was large, as was the bathroom, and clean, as you would expect. Decor a little dated perhaps, but other might like it - not a big deal for me as I'm probably only in the room for 6 hours (sleeping).
On this occasion if was a Friday night so I had a late start, allowing me time for a full breakfast - what excellent service, nice smiley staff, every single one with a "good morning" (and sounding like they meant it and I'm sure they did !!)
Service was swift, efficient and courteous and with a great view.
Checkout was also efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHB, Managing Director at BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks for posting a review. Pleased to read that the staff made you feel welcome and the service was excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Hotel Bristol was able to accommodate us very last minute. We stayed for two nights and couldn't fault it. The decor is slightly dated but I think adds to it's charm and character. The hotel breaky was fantastic, beds comfortable and our three little girls loved the barbie colouring books and pencils the receptionist gave them :) we found that the staff just couldn't do enough for us and were extremely kind and helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if we ever find ourselves in Newquey again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHB, Managing Director at BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks for posting a review. We are delighted you and your family had a great time. Hope you had a safe journey back to Tasmania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINGSWINFORD
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I am staying here for 2 nights with work,the hotel is old /shabby and in a great need of an upgade/decor renovation,it is very old.On the plus side my room has an amazing beach/sea view and is clean which is a must.The car park at the back is dimly lit but the staff are friendly.Another average hotel for the price & i know it is the holiday season but i would look elsewhere before i would return.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view-Fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHB, Managing Director at BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks for your review. Sorry that you felt we needed an upgrade - We are always trying to improve our decoration but with a 1920's hotel it can be an uphill task. Pleased you found the room clean and staff friendly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We checked in to this hotel in May for a 4 night break after having it recommended to us by Family members. We went with no expectations, however, after spending the previous night in a B & B around the corner, the duty receptionist at the Bristol saved the day when she said our room was ready at 10am!! We knew we had to get out of the B & B when we learnt that none other than Ms Alex Polizzi was due to arrive!! Uh oh!!
Upon arrival at the Bristol we were greeted with a very welcoming smile from a lovely Receptionist and a very helpful hand from the Porter. We were taken to our room, room 350, which has a Double bed and a Single bed in the sea facing bedroom, a fairly large bathroom with a lovely light up mirror for the ladies and a truely amazing seperate lounge. The lounge is almost a complete circle with a window all the way round. It was perfect for us.
After setteling in we went down for our evening meal. A lovely 3 course menu with a nice selection to choose from. It was lovely to be silver served at our sea facing window table.
The staff honestly cannot do enough for their guests. After our "challenging" experience at the B & B, we just weren't ready to go home after the 4 nights at this hotel and really wanted to stay longer. Our room wasn't available, but the staff didn't just stop there. They, along with the Manager/Owner phoned other guests to move things around, even going and photographing rooms to email them!! They didn't fail to impress, we were able to stay for a week in our lovely room.
All in all a truely lovely experience which we cannot wait to replicate in October.
Highly recommend this hotel to everyone we talk to including the doggy travellers as our 2 boys thoroughly enjoyed themselves and were made so welcome.

Room Tip: Only in a position to highly recommend our room, the Turret Suite, Room 350
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHB, Managing Director at BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thanks for writing such a comprehensive review of your stay with us in May. We are so pleased we exceeded your expectations and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We've just come back having spent 9 days in the hotel. The food was sublime, the staff friendly, polite and went out of their way to be helpful. We had a family room, on entering my 7 year old was really happy to see a bucket and spade and fishing net on his bed. We also got a coolbag full of picnic food everyday FREE OF CHARGE as we had a family room.
I think the hotel manages to be family friendly as well as catering for individuals, couples and groups. It is lovely and quiet in the evening, we had the perfect night's sleep and were not disturbed by other guests. The swimming pool was lovely and never busy, which was perfect for us. The rooms were cleaned every day and were always spotless, they also changed the sheets half way through the week and changed the towels every day. The food was something else, even if you didn't want anything from the menu it was no problem for the chef to cook you what you requested. The breakfast was always plentiful and filling. Will definitely go back again, as we have done for the last 7 years :-)

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a stunning view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHB, Managing Director at BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you writing a review of your most recent stay with us. We are all pleased you had such a great time. I'm glad you enjoyed our summer family promotion and took advantage of a free picnic for families on our dinner, bed & breakfast rate. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and couldn't really fault it-yes some decor was dated but this is an independent hotel-if you want faceless, contrived designer decor there are plenty interchangeable hotels out there!
Loads of pluspoints:
Quiet comfortable night
Quiet indoor pool-probably the cleanest I have ever used!
Great beds & clean well equipped rooms and bathrooms
Free carpark adjacent to hotel
Great position to visit beaches and get into town
We didn't sample the breakfast but the dining room was impressive

To have made us give an excellent rating I believe this hotel should capitalise on it's uniqueness as there is a lot of competition locally from modern hotels. The hotel has a fantastic history but no mention of it anywhere but a short page in the room guide? This is a unique selling point. as is the art deco features-really popular with a new market & I would guess most of remaining the decoration here is original?
On a service note-couldn't fault the efficiency but there was a lack of smiley friendly personal service that I would expect from an independent hotel. We were not asked how our night was or given any invitation to stay again,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHB, Managing Director at BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. We are glad you had a great time. I am sorry that checkout was not as you would have expected. I have reminded the team to make sure we ask guests if their stay was enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR72PQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#7 Family Hotel in Newquay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#8 Business Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family run hotel. Set above Tolcarne Beach with views of the Atlantic Ocean. Civil Wedding Licence, meeting rooms, free wi-fi, restaurant & bar meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newquay
Best Western Hotel Newquay
Newquay Best Western
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.