We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tired old beauty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Save Saved
You added Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 51 hotels in Newquay
staffordshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A tired old beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed for 3, nights which was really good value for money £149 via a groupon voucher and I think that was about the right price.the actual building is grand and it oozes charm, downstairs is still quite grand but the bedrooms are really tired, old dark furniture etc...huge shame. Breakfast was pleasant and plentiful although we only made it once but the staff were willing to meet your requirements.i would stay again but not at their normal rates , nice , pleasant , heaps of potential , hope someone shows it the love it deserves.
Ohh, location great for Newquay although Newquay wasn't really for us ..more for hens, stags, etc but we found it to be a good base.

Room Tip: We had a front room which could be a little noises and I should imagine very noises in the height of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    135
    81
    29
    30
See reviews for
67
183
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
northeast
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

stayed here two nights recently bed and breakfast
no complaints about breakfast at all
the reception staff were most unfriendly unsmiling and that is the reason we wont be back
they made us feel as though they were doing us a favour
the rooms were very old fashioned but clean
the room was stifling hot but managed to get a fan through reception

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Due to this hotel's centralised location, me and my girlfriend decided to stay here for two nights during a weekend visit for a wedding. Little did we know that we would be spending the weekend in what might as well be a nightclub.

The hotel was pretty much what we were expecting. Old style rooms and old style furnishings. The room was a good size and as we paid for sea view room, we pretty much got the view that we were expecting. Be warned, if you have a preference for modern hotels, this is the wrong place to stay!

My biggest complaint has to revolve around the noise of the hotel, making our two nights "sleep" extremely uncomfortable. I fully appreciate that hotels host functions, however being a travelling professional who stays in hotels 2-4 nights a week, I have never visited a hotel who have not notified guests that there will be louder than normal noise/music due to an event. This should really be a common courtesy and I have found from experience that hotels always notify guests via e-mail, a courtesy phone call or even a sign, where as this hotel offered none of these.

Our room seemed to be directly above the 'event' room as we could feel the constant speaker bass thumping through our floors, cupboards and the bed, thus making the first night absolutely dreadful when trying to get an early night's sleep for a wedding the next day.

The receptionist advised there were no free rooms so we did not even have the option to change rooms. The 2nd night was even worse as the music went on close to 1am, again ruining my girlfriend's sleep whilst she was feeling unwell.

A hotel's main priority as you are probably aware should always be the comfort of their guests. A combination of 2 night's of bad sleep made our visit that less bit enjoyable and the best sleep we got in 3 days was our journey home to London!

Our room also had a leaking shower so there was hardly any water coming out of the shower head, but once again we could not change rooms as we were told the hotel was fully booked.

The only thing that has saved this hotel from getting a 'terrible' rating is the great location and the fact that we really enjoyed the breakfast. The hotel is less than 5mins from Newquay Station and is surrounded by places to eat and drink.

The hotel reception was far too busy in the morning so I did not escalate my unhappiness in person, however I did e-mail the Hotel Manager via their website (the e-mail bounced back as the address does not exist!). I then forwarded my complaint to Reception via the link on the website and am still waiting for a response.

Overall, our stay in this hotel was extremely poor. I also think it is extremely overpriced for the money that we paid and besides the location and breakfast, there are no positives I can really give this hotel.

Room Tip: Check the weather forecast if possible before booking a room with a view. We booked a sea view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel Victoria is definitely in need of a refurb!
We checked and the lady on reception was very helpful. We finally found our room which smelt so bad, it smelt like someone had sprayed a horrible amount of hair spray. The floors creaked really loud, the bed mattress wasn't comfortable, the furniture in the room looked like it would fall apart if you touched it, not to mention the furniture that had already fallen apart. The old television was on a stand which wasn't high enough to see if your in bed! The bathroom had a fan that sounded like a motorbike, it came on every time you turned on the bathroom light.
It's very loud from the traffic if your based in a front room.
Breakfast was slow,we ordered food but some come and some
didn't, we had to keep reminding the staff what we had ordered.
Overall the experience here wasn't nice, we had booked for two nights but left after one.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerphilly
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family and I stayed here for a weekend from a purchase of a KGB deal. It was a lovely hotel. It is old and in need of modernisation but it had so much character and was interesting.

if you are looking for a modern hotel then this is not the hotel for you. If you want a hotel with character, that is clean, comfortable and central location then this is ideal.

Check in
The receptionist was very friendly and professional. She was informative about the hotel and its facilities. She gave us all the information that we needed and made us feel comfortable.


Rooms
We had booked a double room and a twin room. My husband and I were given a 'triple room'. the room was huge. It was immaculately clean and smelt so fresh. We had a shower and a bath in our room. Absolutely cannot fault the cleanliness and comfort of the room.

Twin Room
My son and his friend were given a twin room on the second floor. This was a lot smaller than our room and had this been our double I would not have been impressed. There was only a shower. Despite this, the room again was so clean and the beds comfortable.

The hotel offered free wifi on the groundfloor. There was plenty of sofas, tables and chairs and a couple off different rooms where you could sit in quiet, watch tv, have afternoon tea. Look out over the sea or play games.

Spa
We used the pool, steam room, spa and sauna. The pool and spa was lovely. The steamroom didnt have seating so two plastic chairs were in there. this was not comfortable and could do with a seating area made and tiled like other steam rooms. Sauna was lovely.

Berties Pub.

on arrival at the hotel we went to have a look around the pool area, etc. we went into the downstairs area of the pub and the manager was there. We apologised and said we were 'exploring' so he showed us around the whole area. That was really kind. He gave us a little history on the pub and hotel and we found the tour interesting. In the evening we drank in the pub. Drinks were not hotel prices and was really popular.

What is important is that the noise from the pub surprisingly did not overspill into the hotel.

Breakfast.

The food itself was faultless. There were juices, cereals, fruit ham cheese and croissants on a buffet and you ordered cooked breakfast with the waitresses.

We didn't have a good experience with the waitress service on our first day and thought that was because we joined our son's table.

this was not so. Day two was also a disaster. A table was pointed at and we were told to 'sit there'. We were not offered a hot drink and no waitress came near us. We went to find a waitress to ask for tea but after waiting 20 minutes and asking 3 different waitress a total of 5 times we finally got tea! We were then insistant that our breakfast order was taken so we didnt have to wait longer.

When we complained to the waitress who brought our tea she apologised and spoke to her supervisor who offered to refund us for our breakfast. This was a disapointment because the food itself was lovely and had the waitresses had some customer service training then this would improve the whole experience.

Overall it was a lovely hotel. Yes it is in need of modernisation but who cares when it is so clean,comfortable and really good food. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We got a kgb deal for two night stay and had an incredible time. The hotel was nice and clean and the decor was very vintage. We got a room on the second floor and it was massive but the bed was uncomfortable and upon asking we were switched to another room on the third floor which was nice and comfy. The breakfast was very good and service was nice. The reception staff was very polite and helpful. We used the suana and jacuzi facilities as well and was nice. The location is ideal as it is very close to town and nearby beaches. The only problem we faced was there was no heating as they were experiencing some problems. Overall i would reccomend this hotel to anyone looking forward to a relaxing stay in newquay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I spent three days at the Hotel Victoria. Beautiful old building full of character, excellent room, fabulous food, and brilliant staff without exception. Just a pity about the rest of Newquay ...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay

Address: East Street, Newquay TR7 1DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#16 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Victoria has one of the best locations in Newquay, central but over looking the town's main beaches. Whether you're on business or pleasure the AA 3 Star Hotel Victoria is one of Newquay's finest hotels. Sitting on the cliffs above the golden sands of Great Western Beach with stunning sea views, but with the town centre's shops, bars, restaurants and attractions all on your door step, this is the ideal setting.The Hotel Victoria's rooms are individually styled all with en-suite and many with sea views. The Victoria has an indoor pool, spa bath, sauna, steam room and small gym. There are two restaurants on site; the hotel’s restaurant La Rochelle, and a Mexican restaurant, Senor Dicks. The hotel has limited parking available at a small extra charge. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Newquay Victoria
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.