We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Headland Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Headland Hotel - Newquay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Headland Hotel - Newquay to your Saves list
The Headland Hotel - Newquay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Headland Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently stayed at the Headland, which has a fantastic location above Fistral Beach; the hotel looks out over the sea facing due west; the sunsets can be stunning, which you can see from the restaurants; this is the third time we have stayed there and have always enjoyed the overall hotel atmosphere; all the rooms we have stayed in have been spacious with sea views; this time the overall hotel service was let down by a poorer service in the main dining room which was not something we have experienced before; reception and the other dining bar area - faultless; overall though we did enjoy our stay

Room Tip: Ask for the Fistral Beach view; this is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to post your comments. We in turn respond by looking where we can improve our service based upon the observations you have made. I’m sorry that on this occasion you felt service was below our normal standards but am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    382
    106
    41
    34
See reviews for
492
854
36
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

After visiting the Headland for the previous 12 years, i decided to return with my son for a mini break. We had a lovely time, the weather was superb and the hotel up to it's usual high standard and the wonderful addition of a first class Spa. Would love to return with my girlfiends for a treatment weekend!

Room Tip: the hotel has various gradings of rooms dependent on budget so check this out before you go, we stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back for a Spa weekend and are delighted that you and your son enjoyed your recent mini break. It’s especially rewarding to welcome back regular guests and for them to see the ongoing investments made year on year and I’m so pleased you enjoyed the Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

What can I say but splendid. We stayed for a weekend in September as a last minute break. Have stayed in Newquay many times but never at the Headland. We booked a courtyard room (the cheapest) and as it states on the website you can request a double room instead of a twin subject to avaliability. I wasnt too hopeful as it was so last minute, however we recieved a quick response by email to say a treble room had been reserved for us. When we arrived the staff were lovely and helpful and showed us straight to our room, and even gave us a history of the beautiful hotel. The room itself was clean and comfortable, however the room literally looked out at a wall (it does say this when booking) but you get what you pay for. We ate at the hotel on our first night, and the food and hospitality was fantastic. Breakfast was lovely, lots of variety and kept us full for most of the day. The spa and swimming pool is lovely and relaxing, and beautifully decorated. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
On behalf of the team here, thank you for your comments – we love to get positive feedback from happy guests! I look forward to your return visit and perhaps you may consider one of our Coastal, Ocean or Fistral view rooms next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

What an amazing location, right on the sea, next to the crashing waves. We stayed in the cottages (huers 3) which was just as lovely as the pictures. The sea 'glimpse' was much better than we'd expected - with a great sea view over the roof tips of the other cottages. The staff were great and incredibly welcoming of our dog (who also loved the location by the dog friendly beach!) - the cottage had an enclosed rear garden so we could let the dog out, and pooh bags and dog blanket were even provided. Cleaning staff were happy to come and clean around the dog if we were out, and even play with her. The weather was quite stormy while we were there and I can sympathise with the hotel, trying to maintain the building in such an exposed location - some glass was broken during the storm but was taken care of very swiftly. The hotel constantly seeks feedback on what they could do better, which I thought was great. Great location for surfing on fistral beach - you have to give it a go! Also recommend the boathouse in Newquay harbour for food - another great location. We also made good use of the spa in the hotel, all lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we’re delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are truly exposed to the elements which our guests can experience first hand on our Storm Watching breaks – it’s wild and dramatic and not for the faint hearted! However, you can then rebalance and enjoy sublime relaxation in the Spa which I’m pleased you used and enjoyed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed in one of the ocean view cottages 3 times in the last 3 months. The cottages are very beautifully appointed and comfortable. The ocean view cottages have little gardens with outdoor furniture and the views are amazing. It is a short walk into town (Newquay) or to Fistral Beach. The walks along the cliffs are stunning. The best thing is that The Headland is extremely dog friendly, down to supplying "poo"bags and treats. Staff are all friendly and nothing is any trouble. A great place to go for a relaxing break with the family and dog !

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I’m delighted that you and your dog had a good time with lots of lovely coastal walks and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Headland Hotel hosted our conference in September 2013. Claire Robison, our Events Manager, did a superb job in helping us to pull everything together and was always at hand during the event. The conference went without a hitch, the facilities were fantastic (a beautiful conference room with views over the ocean), the food was wonderful and plentiful and the hospitality at the hotel was second to none. All of the delegates were pleased with their rooms and many remarked on the wonderful service from all of the hotel staff who were courteous and helpul at all times. Thank you to all involved in helpling us to deliver an amazing conference that was enjoyed thoroughly by all who attended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you on behalf of Claire and our Events team at the Headland Hotel. I am delighted that your conference was a success and your delegates enjoyed our hospitality. It was a pleasure working with you and please do contact me again when planning your next conference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have stayed a couple of times at the Headland, love the location, and everything about it. However, this year over the course of one week we had terrible service at breakfast. ordering eggs benidict seemed to be impossible. It came late, cold, only one muffin, not at all. it actually became a joke every morning. I did complain but nothing was done about it. my advice would be stay away from eggs benidict at the Headland and you will be fine here.

Room Tip: go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
I apologise that on this occasion your breakfast did not meet your expectation. Your comments have been forwarded to the Restaurant Manager and, as procedure, we do react to all feedback by reviewing internal training and service standards. I can reassure you that since your stay in July measures have been put in place and I look forward to welcoming you back for a perfect Eggs Benedict next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Headland Hotel - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#2 Family Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's only five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Headland Hotel - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel - Newquay Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Headland Hotel - Newquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.