We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruby Wedding celebration” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Headland Hotel - Newquay

Save Saved
You added The Headland Hotel - Newquay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Headland Hotel - Newquay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book Direct for Best Deal
Ranked #5 of 51 hotels in Newquay
Hemyock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ruby Wedding celebration”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have been visiting the hotel and a cottage for 6 years both by ourselves and with foster children and decided to book a suite (expensive but well worth it) for a week to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary in late July - we were not disappointed as once again everything was of a high standard. In our room we were welcomed with a card, strawberries, meringue and chocolates and of course a view to be cherished.
There was a slight problem with a meal one evening but this was quickly resolved.

Unfortunately I injured my back slightly whilst there but the staff, particularly in the restaurant, could not have been more helpful - nothing was too much trouble. It was also nice that those staff who had seen us before asked after the children we care for.

We usually visit during the school half term holidays - wild and windy Cornwall offers much - there is always much to do through the Headland and we look forward to a return trip later this year.

We cannot recommend it too highly

Room Tip: A room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
I am glad to hear you will be joining us again. It will certainly be our pleasure to welcome you all back to the Headland. I would like to thank you for taking time to review the hotel for other potential guests to read it really does make a difference and we appreciate you making the effort. I hope the sun is shining on your next visit; it has been a summer of two halves so far this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    870
    260
    74
    38
    30
See reviews for
341
607
24
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed for 5 days and really enjoyed it. The highlight for me was the friendly and attentive service of the staff. I had severe back pain and this made it difficult for me to manage my dog Leo. The staff assisted me in every way possible and seemed pleased to do it.
The hotel's location is breathtaking. The food was of a very high standard.
Overall I would rate this hotel a definite 5 star. Indeed I would go so far as to say it was the best hotel I have ever visited in England.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely compliment and I must say I am forced to agree with you! I am sorry to hear you suffered with some back pain but very pleased that our staff were able to assist you. They are a true credit to us and I am pleased that you experienced them at their very best. I hope you will return to The Headland in the future, it will be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We booked a little cottage on the Headlands site - supposed to be a romantic getaway for our 25th wedding anniversary but we ended up taking the dog and our youngest as well. Excellent self-catering accommodation with everything we needed. Very dog-friendly and the sea views were wonderful. Cocktails on the veranda at the hotel and two special meals did not disappoint. Would go back again at the drop of a hat.

Room Tip: Whether you get a sea view or not, being out on a peninsula the sea is all around you anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
That’s wonderful news! I am glad to hear you had such a wonderful stay even if it wasn't the romantic stay you were hoping for! Thank you very much for taking time to review the hotel we will look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Stayed at the Headland for 4 nights from 21 July 13. Hotel & service was exceptional. Breakfast was one of the nicest Hotel breakfast we have had. Location can not be beaten Fistral Beach & just a short walk into Newquay where we found Family Friendly Pubs with good food at a reasonable price.

My husband, 8 year old son & I all enjoyed our stay. We were surprised how much we enjoyed our time at the Hotel & in Newquay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to have welcomed you and your family. Newquay town is lovely, especially by night; there are lots of family friendly places and the views all across town are exactly how you explained - unbeatable! We are so lucky to have all this on our doorstep and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a week in june we had our two dogs with us. i have to say it was a great holiday. the hotel is lovely and all the staff are very friendly. if you do have dogs and are looking for a nice comfortable place to stay in this area you should definitely consider this one. there are some lovely walks in the surrounding area and of course the beach on your doorstep. i should also mention that the food was very tasty.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to review the hotel. I am so pleased to hear how you – and your dogs enjoyed your stay so much! We have such lovely grounds here which are ideal for dog walkers and the beach as you say is a mere stone’s throw away. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Headland in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had four days with my family at the hotel in mid July 2013. This was our first time spending our vacation in UK, and we concluded that it was worth it ! We had a suite perfectly suitable for a family with 2 kids (Age 8 and 12). The room was very nice, and especially the bathroom was great. The best thing however, was the view to the ocean. We could open the double door, put the chairs in the opening, and just sit and enjoy. The beds could have been a bit more soft, but this seems to be a common standard for the UK-hotels. We had breakfast every day, and lunch one day, and the food was good. We had to wait for some minutes before seated for breakfast, as the hotel was fully booked. Maybe it could be an idea to provide all the food in the buffet instead of having some extras ordered by the waiter in the high-season. All hotel staff where friendly, and supported us in all questions we might have. A laundy room available for self-washing was very nice. Outside area was under renovation, and this will make the hotel even more attractive in the future. SPA area was just about to finish so we did not have the opportunity to try this feature this time. The outdoor swimmingpool is rady for an upgrade, with new locker-rooms.
Location of the hotel is very good, but you need car or bus to take you to the city center. We had a rental-car, so for us it was no problem. Good parking space at the hotel-area.

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean view is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of the hotel and I am pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectations. The views really are spectacular and recently we have been extra lucky to have the sun make an appearance too! Thank you for your constructive comments regarding the breakfast, I shall certainly ensure the Restaurant manager is informed. On your next visit the Spa and Gym will both be open and you can spend your days relaxing and rejuvenating yourself! With best wishes from the Headland team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay in a 3 bedroom cottage at the Headland Hotel and I can honestly say it was fantastic!We woke up every morning to a beautiful view,ate on the terrace and used the hotels fantastic spa facilities.We will definitely return there.Loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
That’s wonderful news to hear you will be back soon. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back
With best wishes from The Headland team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Headland Hotel - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 Business Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel - Newquay 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog!Our stunning Leisure Area opened last year and is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.We are currently working on the final stage of The Headland Spa which will be complete in autumn 2013. This includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. We are endeavouring to keep the disturbance to our guests to an absolute minimum, and would hope that the allure of the spa relaxation to come will overcome any slight inconveniences that might occur along the way. During some of these works, it may be occasionally necessary to transfer some of the dining arrangements from our main Restaurant to The Terrace, The Ballroom, or one of our more intimate private dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your The Headland Hotel - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel - Newquay Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Headland Hotel - Newquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.