We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Headland Hotel - Newquay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Headland Hotel - Newquay to your Saves list
The Headland Hotel - Newquay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Beautifully located with excellent food and amazing service. Much away from the rustle and bustle of Newquay, whilst still being in walking distance. Dogs are welcome, but fear not, very clean and fresh smelling at all times. Enzo the bar attendant, makes the bet cocktails you will ever taste.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
It is very thoughtful of you to write a review of the Hotel, and I appreciate you taking the time to do so. I am so pleased to read your comments, we are very lucky to have Enzo join the team at The Headland, he is clearly making an excellent first impression to our guests. He is very happy to have received a mention on the website and we hope that you will back soon, perhaps in the summer where you can sip cocktails on the veranda and watch the sunset over the beautiful Fistral Beach which just happens to be located right on our doorstep!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,286
    382
    108
    41
    34
See reviews for
493
857
36
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bewdley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

lovely hotel in just the best location just above fistral beach and set on headland.gracious old hotel.service excellent.staff friendly and helpful..the food we enjoyed in both terrace and restaurant excellent.just the most relaxing haven.also love the cottages...beautifullyarranged for all your needs.thank you to the headland .

Room Tip: ocean and fistral view rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
And thank you for such a wonderful review of our Hotel and Cottages! I am so pleased to read your comments. I have ensured that the Restaurant and Terrace staff are all aware of your feelings regarding your dining experience. I am especially pleased to read how relaxing you found both the Hotel and Cottages. We like to make sure our guests feel as comfortable as possible and also add a little touch of luxury as well. I hope you will return to the Headland soon for another relaxing break.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

You will not be disappointed, wether you stay at the hotel or in the cottages. Staff are extremely warm and friendly nothing is too much trouble.the accommodation is wonderful as well as the spa , what can I say , book a few days to revitalise yourself.

Room Tip: Sea view's are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review of our Hotel. I have passed your very kind comments on to our staff who are delighted to have such positive feedback. Our spa is really wonderful and you are right in saying it is the perfect place to revitalise yourself. A lot of our guests say they feel the weight lifting from them as soon as they arrive and that truly is our aim. I hope you will be joining us again at the Headland and we shall look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The headland is in a perfect location, with amazing views. Sadly my son has grown out od Cornwall.....so he says!
I would spend all my holidays in this amazing location.
Rooms. lovely, & food & drink ..just perfect.
I would highly recommendthis place if you are going with the hotel option.
I will definatey be back!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms where possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our Hotel. I agree we do have the perfect location and we are so thrilled to hear our guests comments when they have enjoyed their stay so much. I would imagine your son only thinks he has grown out of Cornwall but I am almost certain that the beautiful vast beaches, stunning sunsets and the roar of the ocean will soon entice him back! In the meantime we will be very pleased to welcome you back to Headland to see the Atlantic Ocean in all it’s glory straight from your bedroom window.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
447 reviews 447 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed in the cottages adjacent to the hotel for two short spells before and after Easter. The defining feature of the hotel is its location, directly overlooking Fistral Beach and the Towan Headland. We stayed there during a cold blustery spell and the location seemed particularly special in those circumstances. The cottages are well appointed and both of ours had a sea view. There is a limited housekeeping service, so although you self cater food-wise, someone comes and makes your bed every day! The porter service was good with someone bringing our luggage to the cottage even though we arrived at 10pm. Overall we had a great stay and would recommend this place and we particularly liked having a cottage to ourselves but the amenities of the hotel within close reach. A couple of things to watch though - the hotel is undergoing some major building work at the moment and the rear of the building is covered in scaffolding. We didn't notice it much (or hear it) in the cottages but in the main hotel it probably would be been distracting. Secondly, the hotel is particularly welcoming of dogs, as other reviewers have noted. This is great if you are a dog owner but not so brilliant if you don't like dogs or are allergic to them - they really are everywhere all over the hotel and you do have to watch out for dog mess on the pathways. But overall, a great place.

Room Tip: Seaspray 2 cottage had a great sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I would like to thank you for reviewing the Headland. I have to say I am a little disappointed to hear that you saw some dog’s mess on the pathway. I can assure you that each guest who brings a dog with them are given bags to clean their dogs mess up and we have specific bins around the grounds. It is so unfortunate that you have experienced this and I can only apologise on behalf of the Hotel as we understand that some dog owners do not take the responsibility we clearly state they must upon booking. Our grounds man does regular sweeps of the hotel and cottage grounds and will always clear any mess if found, it seems you happened upon it before we had a chance to clear this up. I would say also, that should this ever happen we are more than happy for guests to tell us so we can rectify this situation as soon as possible.
With regards to the building work, we are carrying out essential maintenance works and are letting each guest that books a room or cottage information so they are aware. There is also information on our website regarding this matter.
Again I would like to thank you for your review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your time at The Headland. We are very fortunate to have such a wonderful location and I am pleased to hear that you felt it was still special even if the weather was less than perfect. We are hoping of course for a lovely hot summer and I hope that you will join us over the high season to enjoy long walks along the beach with the warm sand between your toes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Hotel is beautiful set right on the coast you can see the sea and beach all around you. The room was nice and comfortable we had the family suite so was nothing fancy but all you coudl possibly need. The pool area downstairs was amazing so quite me and my partner had the area to oursleves for a hour the pool, sauna and steam room were brilliant we went there everyday we stayed because it was just so relaxing. We had dinner at the hotel every night as the food was amazing i had a trio of pork which was fabulous the wine was expensive at £9.50 for a large glass and the staff didnt give us the side vegatable we ordered but we were compensated with a dessert wine which again was great. The service was very good. Woudl go back again 100%. Recommended highly to everyone we know.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the Headland. I am delighted to read your thoughts and feelings about the hotel. It really is lovely place to relax and rejuvenate, the Wellness Area was designed to do just that and I am sure you will be pleased to hear that we are planning a brand new Spa and Gym facility so relaxation can last the whole day through!
Thank you for bringing to our attention that you were not given the side dish you ordered for one of your meals. I am pleased that the matter was dealt with promptly and that you were duly compensated.
We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Headland very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked a family stay during the easter break and even though we arrived late for check in, we were welcomed very warmly and the room was ready for us to hit the sack. Having a 1.5 yr old girl travelling with us, we frequently required the baby bottles washed and the hotel staff didnt disappoint. Every request of ours was catered to without any fuss and was promptly fulfilled.

We were spoilt for choice at breakfast, it was wonderful and the staff were very helpful. We had dinner only once in our room and don't have any complaints. Towels etc were provided and the bathroom accessories were frequently replaced. Bottles of still and sparkling water were always available, so were the tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

The Coastal View family room was spacious for us (family of four). The view was spectacular from the room and we could also keep an eye on our car in the exclusive car park in front of the hotel. We were also able to get an exclusive view of the sunset from behind the hotel and the view of the restaurant was no less spectacular.

Had a nice walk down the coastal path from the hotel to the Fistral beach (the Hotel is just 5 mins walk from the beach) and enjoyed the views.

All in all, I would gladly choose this hotel over any other hotel in Newquay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
I must say I am forced to agree with you! The views from the Hotel are spectacular and are something many people really don’t expect from a UK holiday. It is very nice to read how you felt you were catered for at all times, our staff do like to make people feel welcome from the moment they arrive to ensure you enjoy every second of your holiday experience. Our breakfasts are a real morning feast, guaranteed to cater for all tastes and designed to set everyone up for the day - weather they are relaxing in the pool or venturing out for a bracing cliff top walk.
We are planning a wonderful new spa and gym facility later this year which we are very excited about. So next time you visit you can take the little one for their first dip in the pool or if you are brave enough – their first dip in the Atlantic Ocean! We certainly hope to see you all again soon at the Headland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Headland Hotel - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#3 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog! Our stunning Leisure Area is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.The Headland Spa, Cornwall's only five bubble rated Spa, includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul mud chamber, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Headland Hotel - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel - Newquay Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Headland Hotel - Newquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.