We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Headland - Pride of Cornwall!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Headland Hotel - Newquay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Headland Hotel - Newquay to your Saves list
The Headland Hotel - Newquay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Newquay
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“The Headland - Pride of Cornwall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

A very memorable stay at a brilliant first class hotel! Service was perfect, friendly and welcoming. Rooms comfortable, and neat and tidy. Wonderful views, of the Atlantic and the Fistral beach, especially whilst dining. Breakfast, dinners, and afternoon teas were first rate. Will go back again! A quality modern hotel, but with a hint of quality hotels of old!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for a wonderful review and very much appreciate you taking the time in doing so. We genuinely hope that we deliver a careful balance of understanding modern day comforts and expectations whilst maintaining timeless care and attention to the service that you should expect in a hotel such as The Headland. We hope you have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,116
    334
    102
    41
    33
See reviews for
430
752
28
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I visited The Headland Hotel, Newquay in May 2012 with a friend of mine, both of us pensioners and both have walking difficulties. We stayed for 2 nights in a sea facing twin room.
The room was spacious and very comfortable although the beds were very close together.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean with many different types of areas to relax in. We ate in the conservatory bistro and found the food very good. We ate breakfast on the last morning in the restaurant and found it was plentiful and of good quality. The staff were very helpful and even accompanied my friend to the buffet and carried her plate back to the table for her.
Altogether a good experience.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms do not have a sea view so make sure you ask for one on booking (if desired)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, and that our staff were able to assist you and your friend when required and to make your stay even more comfortable and manageable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Love the Headlead. Was only there 1 hour and was feeling so relaxed, leaving the London worry behind. Food , staff, room everything great.. New swimming pool area with sauna and steam very nice but could get very busy at times. Want to get back there right now

Room Tip: You pay for what you get. So for a Big sea view room costly but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am sure prospective guests of The Headland or those contemplating a return visit would like to imagine themselves being put in the same place and state of mind as you found yourself, we all look forward to welcoming you back ,the Spa opens in May 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We came here as part of a conference. Overall service was very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was well-cooked but rest of the meals were only okay. Rooms were spacious and comfortable and of course you're mostly paying for the views. A word of caution: beware you check if you order room service that you clarify the additional service charge. It's very clearly written in their guest information book that ordering from the room service menu does not carry a service charge (as opposed to if you order from the restaurant menu and have it brought up to your room, which carries £5 pp surcharge). However, one member of staff made a mistake and told us there was a service charge - had to get her to double-check; she was apologetic after this.
On checkout the prices of some of the drinks on our room service bill were more expensive than on the printed room service menu.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience of our Hotel following your recent stay on business. I will ensure that we do a double check on our bedroom literature pricing and ensure that any genuine oversight is rectified in due course. I trust that our staff dealt with your concerns effectively at the time, as our beverage tariff is intended to be consistent throughout the Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uffculme, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our last visit to this hotel seems like forever away. It was one of the most memorable mid-week breaks I can remember. We stayed for the Storm Watching break and weren't disappointed, massive waves over Fistral Beach which the Headland overlooks. The rooms are in keeping with the age of the hotel and are kept scrupulously clean. All the staff are always very helpful. The meals are, as you would expect from a top hotel, excellent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your review following your last 'Storm Watching Escape' at The Headland. Just to let you know that these breaks have returned once again from early November, when once again you have the opportunity to watch the Atlantic in all its might from one of our cosy cottages, you can find it on our website now at the moment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night, the hotel setting is lovely and spectacular views of the sea, it is worth paying extra for sea view rooms, the rooms themselves were ok, I have seen better at other luxury hotels and the bathroom was basic, the communal areas were really nice and staff very friendly. We were there for a meeting and Claire was very helpful. The breakfast was very good.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
. Thank you for giving your positive feedback following your recent overnight stay with us. It would be hard not to agree with you regarding making the choice to occupy a sea view room due to the uninterrupted, jaw dropping views of the Atlantic from so many of our bedrooms. Thank fully with so many categories of room on offer enables us to be able to accommodate the majority of those who would also like to enjoy The Headland experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A first time visit for myself and a wonderful 3 night stay in what can only be described as living in the lap of luxury.

the rooms were to a high standard and the staff couldn't be anymore helpful or friendly. they were all so nice . Excellent service from all involved. Hats off to all the staff not only on the reception, but John in the main dining room. The food is of the highest quality and he ensured that everyone's needs were met.
The Headland Hotel a stay that I will never forget.

We will be back in February 2013 ...... see you then!

Room Tip: all rooms are quiet but if you want a view book a Fistral suite or Best room they both have the ulti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryl R, General Manager at The Headland Hotel - Newquay, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you very much for complimenting us on what was clearly a very enjoyable stay for you. I will ensure that John ,our assistant restaurant manager is aware of his mention by you, and look forward to welcoming you back in 2013 ;a very exciting year as we prepare to launch the Headland Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Headland Hotel - Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Headland Hotel - Newquay

Address: Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1EW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Newquay
#2 Spa Hotel in Newquay
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#5 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Headland Hotel - Newquay 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newquay's original 4* hotel and 5* cottages, surrounded on three sides by the sea. With stunning views of Fistral Beach, the Atlantic Ocean and Newquay Bay, this is your perfect beachside escape. Families, surfers, businessmen, couples - everyone is made to feel at home. Don't forget you can also bring your dog!Our stunning Leisure Area opened last year and is complimentary for Hotel and Cottage guests to use. Facilities include a heated spa pool with bubble seats and a jet stream, hot tub, aromatherapy showers, Swedish sauna and Cornish salt steam room.We are currently working on the final stage of The Headland Spa which will be complete in autumn 2013. This includes a host of exciting features including a robed dining area and relaxation lounge, a nail salon for manicures and pedicures, a Rhassoul, St. Tropez tanning room, a hydrotherapy bath and a suite of luxury treatment rooms including a VIP suite for exclusive use. We are endeavouring to keep the disturbance to our guests to an absolute minimum, and would hope that the allure of the spa relaxation to come will overcome any slight inconveniences that might occur along the way. During some of these works, it may be occasionally necessary to transfer some of the dining arrangements from our main Restaurant to The Terrace, The Ballroom, or one of our more intimate private dining areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Headland Hotel - Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headland Hotel Newquay
The Headland Hotel - Newquay Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Headland Hotel - Newquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.