We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maharajah Indian Restaurant

The Maharajah Indian Restaurant
39 Cliff Road, Newquay, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 180 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: Indian, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Maharajah restaurant which was established in 1980 is open from 5.30pm until late, seven days a week. The restaurant in the only real Indian restaurant in Newquay (and possibly Cornwall) here you will find traditional Indian food served in a restaurant with the most outstanding sea views.
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant service food second to none clean restaurant views fantastic value for money tried other places in Newquay gone back to marhrajah love the cornish lust

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Great review, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    619
    158
    58
    29
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Exellent across the board”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I frequently use this exellent restaurant and take away. It is by far one of the best in the southwest, a large menu with many dishes all cooked by experts,a beautiful elegant restaurant, cleanliness, very well spoken staff and a busy thriving atmosphere all of which make this place a top restaurant, I am a local hairdresser and I always can confidently recommend this establishment to any of my customers

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your great review and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraddon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent birthday meal with the girls.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Having just left the maharajah very very full, I can highly recommend.
There was 6 of us girls for a birthday meal. Upon arrival we received a very friendly welcome. Quick service with amazing food! Could not fault in anyway.
We've all experienced many 10** meals here and continue to return (even those that aren't 100% on Indian food are catered for well)
Best Indian in town xx

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your great review and I hope the birthday girl enjoyed her evening. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, great view.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This restaurant is one of the best in the area. The views out to sea are absolutely brilliant, and the food is great to match. It's not too expensive, and the quality is good.
I have both visited the restaurant, and bought takeaway, and the food was delicious in both instances.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Newquay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly staff, quick service, delicious food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We arrived without a reservation and were seated no problem. The staff were attentive without being overbearing. The food was to a high standard and service was prompt. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maharajah Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Maharajah Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maharajah Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.