We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality Indian Food and really friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maharajah Indian Restaurant

The Maharajah Indian Restaurant
39 Cliff Road, Newquay, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 180 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: Indian, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Maharajah restaurant which was established in 1980 is open from 5.30pm until late, seven days a week. The restaurant in the only real Indian restaurant in Newquay (and possibly Cornwall) here you will find traditional Indian food served in a restaurant with the most outstanding sea views.
St. Austell
1 review
“Top quality Indian Food and really friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My girlfriend and a couple of friends of mine get serious withdrawal symptoms if we don't get to have a meal at the Maharajah once a week. I lived in Leicester for five years and my friends lived in Birmingham, and the quality of the food exceeds anything we have eaten in those two cities and this is in Cornwall! The restaurant has a really friendly vibe and it is always busy. The food is exceptional and they don't stint on portions.One of my favourite dishes is the Kodapuri which is a hot dish packed with flavour. Unlike some Indian restaurants, if you like it hot, then they don't fail to deliver. However, my girlfriend often has the Pasanda which is a very mild dish, but that too is really rich in taste and flavour. I'm particularly impressed with the Biriani they do here. All too often with a Biriani you get the Rice dish with a really insipid Curry dish to accompany it. Not so here; both the Rice and the Curry are packed full of flavours and ingredients.
The owner Saleem is a real character and always remembers the locals and the regulars, and often has a bit of cheeky banter which I really enjoy.
All in all a superb restaurant which I can't recommend highly enough!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    158
    58
    30
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“magic place, magic food and warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

we were working down in newquay for 6 weeks fitting out a shop. we were treated to delicious food and service on our weekly visits to the Maharajah which served exceptional mouth watering currys. the owner even dropped of some wonderful indian snacks to us during lunch as a total surprise. if your in Newquay it a must visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
I am pleased you have enjoyed your meals (and the lunch snacks!) and look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best Indian restaurant outside London.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I was in Newquay again last week and revisited The Maharajah for the 5th time. Without doubt this restaurant is well worth going to. The quality of food & service is second to none. I have been to several top Indian restaurants in London and other major cities throughout UK and this one at Newquay matches them all. I had the opportunity to see their kitchen when I visited last and I was astonished to see the cleanliness. It was so clean it was every bit as good as a dentist surgery. It goes without saying this restaurant is a must to visit.
Mr JH

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your great review. I do hope you will come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great food and friendly service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was in newquay on business and visited the Maharajah for food. I was made to feel very welcome by the Staff, the food was excellent and the service was prompt with a friendly smile, which made the experience very enjoyable, I would definitely recommend this establishment.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your great review and your recommendation. I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic curry house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Everything about this restaurant from the moment you step in, oozes quality and attention to detail. The waiting staff are very friendly and efficient and the food is exceptional. Probably one of the best Indian restaurants I've eaten in (I am a member of the Curry Club).
The sea view from the table I was allocated to was excellent with a lovely ambience, supplemented by a superb meal. I recommend you try their chicken madras (one of the best I've ever had).
Pricing is on a par with similar restaurants but the quality of the food is simply exceptional. Great value for money. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mfbSWEngland, Manager at The Maharajah Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
I am so pleased you enjoyed what we have to offer at the restaurant and hope we will have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maharajah Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Maharajah Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maharajah Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.