We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic welcome, fabulous food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant

Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant
Lusty Glaze Beach, Newquay TR7 3AE, England
+44 1637 872444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 172 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $33
Cuisines: Bar, Coffee Shop, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: "Leisurely lunches, cosy coffees and seaside suppers, welcome to Lusty Glaze Beach Bar and Restaurant...Nestled just a short walk from the centre of Newquay on the North Cornish coast. Come rain or shine Lusty Glaze has a relaxed, intimate and friendly atmosphere to enjoy freshly cooked and sourced culinary delights. Head chef Nat creates a beautiful menu for each season utilising the best local produce complimenting the current season, with some rather tasty specials to go alongside. We also specialise in Hot Rock dinning for a truly unique experience! Singing with your supper...Every week we hold a free live music evening featuring some of our favourite local artists spanning a range of different genres, these nights are always special, everyone relaxes and unwinds to the soft sounds of the Atlantic paired with the beautiful tones of our acoustic singer. Even though we now have a 'master chef' leading our kitchen, it is still very likely that your chairs won't match, your spoon and fork may be different patterns and your waiter will be wearing flip flops... We are still the laid back family-friendly restaurant that we always have been!
Swindon, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic welcome, fabulous food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've just come home from a weekend in Newquay. We went to Lusty Glaze beach restaurant to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary, having read the excellent reviews on tripadvisor. I booked the restaurant a few days before and was told that they were hosting a wedding so the outside areas would not be available, but service wouldn't be affected and the restaurant was still open. My husband doesn't really like the cold so dining inside wasn't a problem. We received a warm and friendly welcome from a lady who I assume was the owner. Due to the weather most of the wedding party were milling about inside, but this wasn't a problem for us as long as they didn't think we were imposing!
We were given a complimentary glass of bubbly for our special occasion, and although we were served by a lady who didn't work there normally (just filling in for the wedding) and as such didn't know the menu very well, nothing was too much trouble. The food was out of this world, we both had the hot stone steak, rib eye and sirloin. The side of chips and garnished salad was delicious too, along with the garlic bread. We had apple strudel and crunchy cheesecake for dessert and couldn't manage a mouthful more.
The male owner took the time to come and talk to us too after our meal. We were entertained by an acoustic band playing for the wedding party and were made to feel welcome to join in afterwards if we wanted.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a romantic meal for two. We even suggested it would be a great place to go as a group.
The stairs back up to the car park were a killer, but stopping to admire the view helped a lot!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    54
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and food but take a jumper!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

A group of six of us went here recently for dinner. The location is great, sat at the top of a small beach in a cove.
The food and service were great. We all had different things from the menu and all enjoyed what we had. There is a nice selection of specials as well as the 'hot rock grills'.
I do have 2 pieces of advice if you go here. 1 - I am informed by one of our party that there are 136 steps down, and more importantly back up again afterwards, so be prepared for that! 2 - Take something warm to wear! We were there for sunset, which was beautiful, but after the sun goes and the wind picks up off the sea, it did get pretty chilly. We discovered this after arriving which meant I had a 'challenging' jog back up the 136 steps to the car to get jumpers/coats!
I would definitely recommend a visit here; good food, good service, great location.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Big changes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We called to Lusty Glaze recently for an early morning coffee, and were very impressed with the improvements the owners had made since we were last there a couple of years ago. The whole set up was very chilled, and the decor and furniture added to the atmosphere, especially as it was a lovely day. However, there were a couple of areas we wanted to comment on.
Firstly, the cushions on the covered seating were wet and couldn't be sat on, as was the seating - whether they'd been left out the night before or were just damp I don't know, but it's something I was surprised at. Secondly we asked for a large cappuccino and a mug of tea, but the cappuccino was very small, and on checking with the girl who took our order, were told they only did one size.
The charge of £5.50 was exorbitant, and it made me wonder why hot and cold drinks prices weren't shown on the table menus, when meals and alcohol prices were. The prices may have been displayed behind the counter but I couldn't be bothered to check, but apart from this, Lusty Glaxze is well worth a visit - just make sure you check prices etc first.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milly97, Owner at Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thanks so much for your comments in relation to the changes that we have made. Unfortunately the Great British Summer has not been kind to us this year and I suspect that the deck furniture has become wet during the morning when you arrived. Our staff put the cushions out and clean the area each morning at the crack of dawn.

With regard to the charge for the Cappuccino and tea, we are disappointed that you feel that £3.00 and £2.50 for a mug of tea is exorbitant. Our aim is to supply everything at the highest quality and therefore we do not use low cost products on our menu or in the beers/spirits we provide, this of course is reflected in the price. We do however feel that our prices are fair. It is also important to understand that the goods and services that we sell go towards providing other services that are free such as daily beach cleaning which is done by hand 50 weeks a year, free toilets, lifeguard services and of course keeping this private beach open to the public, all of which comes at a considerable cost.

Thank you so much for appreciating the effort that we have put into bringing Lusty Glaze back to a good standard this year. 2013 will see many more changes that will help move us in the direction in which we are aiming. We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Quirky & unique with lovely service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We came here to celebrate our first wedding anniversary in August. As locals, we'd heard great things about the restaurant so decided to try it out.

First of all, the service was wonderful. Not rushed, and quite personal, in the sense that the staff took the time to speak to you about the food on offer etc. One even came and warned us that a beautiful sunset had started - as we were indoors.

Food was great. We both had steak, which came on hot-stones, so you could cook it yourself to your own liking. Really cool! Meat was tender, chips were thick cut and the salad was fresh. Dessert was to die for. Really recommend the Oreo Cheese Cake and the Dairy Milk Mousse.

Newquay town is just so busy this time of year, I urge you to visit this place so you can actually get a bit of space! Plus, you get to eat 100 yards from the beach, and if you're lucky - see the sunset.

Thank god we walked home, as we needed it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milly97, Owner at Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review! I am so sorry we didn't know that you were celebrating your 1st Anniversary. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY and congratulations! We are delighted that you came back to share your day with us and that you had a good time.

See you again in 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food. Great setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful setting. A lovely family atmosphere. Simple but good food well presented. A night out to remember. Make it there before sunset. You'll want to enjoy that amazing view as you tuck into the matching flavours set before you! Go for it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milly97, Owner at Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We have had some of the most amazing sunsets this year despite the rain. It seems that the sun likes to put in a nightly appearance just as it is going to bed! Thanks for appreciating our venue and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lusty Glaze Beach Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.