We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porthcove cornwall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porth Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Porth Cove to your Saves list
Porth Cove
Watergate Road | Porthcove, Newquay TR73LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 108 Newquay B&B and Inns
United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Porthcove cornwall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Me and my mother came to Porthcove just for 4 days while i was visiting my sister in cornwall, and i was pleasantly suprised, the prices were the best around for july 2010 at around £35 a night if i remember rightly and that was includng breakfast! Jim and Yvonne were so welcoming and friendly and really put me and my mum at ease, they were so helpful to us and reccomended us the best places to visit and the best paths to walk on the coast out front, the rooms were basic with small bathrooms but they were clean and beautifully decorated, and OMG the views from the bar and dining room downstairs were to die for, i could have happly sat there all night each night and watched the sunset in awe, it was amazing. I would reccomend plus plus that everyone should try Porthcove when visiting cornwall.
Thank you Jim and Yvonne for the beautiful memores and i shall be back again at some point definatly.

Room Tip: there not all sea view so ask when booking if you want to have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We went there in September 2010 for a short break, had a family room for 2 adults + 2 kids aged 8 & 5. We were made to feel most welcome by Jim and Yvonne. Great breakfast and we played pool/snooker/billiards on the free table in the bar with the kids in the evenings. Opposite there is an amazing beach down loads of steps, we took our wetsuites and swam in te sea for hours. All in all a good value hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I found this a perfect base from which to explore Cornwall. I set out each morning, contented, after a good nights sleep and a hearty breakfast. I had reservations about the size of the single room that I had booked but I needn't of worried. I liked the room and Jim offered to upgrade me to a larger one but I'd settled in by then. The breakfast room was airy and had one of those 'living flame' type gas fires which I enjoyed staring at as I savoured the particularly tasty mushrooms.
The only negative criticism I would make is that being a cautious driver of my well cared for Rover 75 I found it impossible to get into the car park which was accessed via a narrow driveway alongside the hotel. I parked on the 'Bus stop' opposite the hotel and in Trevelgue Rd (1 minute walk away).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Porthcove Hotel is a lovely hotel which has recently been refurbished, the owners Jim and Yvonne are lovely, the hotel is clean and tidy and has a a nice bar and lounge that has a small snooker table in, the breakfast are excellent, the room is very clean and tidy with a nice tv/dvd in, Jim and Yvonne and lovely host's and we will who left an extra treat of Easter eggs for my girls, we will definitely be returning, there are 3 beaches quite close all are brilliant depending on your requirements.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

In a nice, quiet location on the hill up from Porth beach.
Clean, friendly and comfortable. No issues or problems with our stay and would return again.
Not a lot in the immediate area, just the Mermaid pub down the road which is very busy but do good food.
Newquay is a 5 minute drive away but no longer the surfer dude/family friendly resort it used to be. Now caters for the stag/hen party types which made it quite uncomfortable walking around late afternoon and evening. Not nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We had a lovely long weekend stay with Jim & Eve,they were always available for help with things to do and places to go.
The guesthouse has wonderful views over Porth beach from the rooms and terrace and access to the beach is directly opposite,we had some wonderful walks particularily into Watergate Bay

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porth Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth Cove

Address: Watergate Road | Porthcove, Newquay TR73LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 108 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
we are a family run guest house with a range of rooms to suite all needs,because of this it has a more personal feel.we run an honesty bar and have ample free off road parking.we also offer free WiFi in all public areas,and are situated directly above the stunning Whipsyderry beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Porth Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porth Cove Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porth Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.