We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Base Surf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Base Surf Lodge to your Saves list
Base Surf Lodge
20 Tower Road | Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I can't fault my stay at Base Surf Lodge. Its situated perfectly, just a few minutes walk from Fistral beach and the town centre meaning everything you need is just on your door step. Rob was really helpful and made us feel at home. There were also many facilities such as a fridge, microwave, oven/stove (which helped make self-catering easier) and places to keep and surf boards etc. you bring since the surf school is in the garden. I couldn't recommend a stay here more, excellent value for money. Thanks for an amazing holiday.

Only suggestion would be to supply a hand towel in the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Owner at Base Surf Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for the review and supporting our business. We have now put in hand towels in the bathrooms so guest dont have to supply there own.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westerronfeld, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

we had a great week ad your hotel. thanks a lot :)
its much fun, learning to surf with the surf instructor dale. and it works.
its just a 5 minute walk to the beach and the price ist very good for newquay-prizes.
some of the rooms and the bathroom are a bit small but its ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Owner at Base Surf Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Glad you and your family had a good stay it was fantastic meeting you all. Hope that you all continue surfing in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've stayed in Base Surf Lodge twice now with a friend and we've had an amazing time both times. It's in a great location, near both fistral beach and the town, and is easy to find and park near. The facilities are good and the bathrooms have just been redone. Everything is very clean and well looked after. Breakfast is also good and there's always tea and coffee available. Rob, who owns it, is helpful and friendly and there's always a relaxed atmosphere at the lodge. We also had lessons with the Big Green Surf School which were fantastic! We'll definitely be coming back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Owner at Base Surf Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thanks for the review, we are always happy to have return guests and we are so pleased that you guys have comeback for two years on the trot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place has great facilities, great rooms and the guy who runs it is awesome. He was super nice and gave us tips about the best surf spots and how to avoid the crowds. I don’t think we had been there a full day before we were checking availability to come back and stay again. The bathrooms look newly refurbished and were super clean. We had a room with an ocean view and the breakfast was more than the usual with fruit and yogurt. This place was such great value. We will definitely be back here again!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view to the water (over the golf course)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Surf Lodge has a perfect location in Newquay, a 5 minute walk from the high street and a 10 minute walk from fistral beach not to mention the fantastic on site surf school - Big Green Surf School. The accommodation was great with large clean rooms, excellent facilities and plenty of space to chill out. The owner was very down to earth giving you his knowledge and advice for the town as well as just being a great guy to talk too! Overall it was great value for money and I look forward to returning there in the future!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Owner at Base Surf Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Glad you had a good time and enjoyed the facilities hopefully see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Rob, the owner, is helpful, down to earth and friendly. Also just a nice character to meet. Rooms were clean, shower/bathroom was lovely! Breakfast also good. Definitely the right place to stay if you want a good break and be left comfortably to your own devises. I travelled by myself, and this was an ideal place to stay while I surfed and checked out the coastline. Will definitely be returning to Cornwall, and this will be the place I return to without question. A real find.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Owner at Base Surf Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Really pleased you had such a good time and will catch up with you in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Location - excellent, just a short walk from town or Fistral beach and easy to find.

Rooms - bright and airy, clean with comfortable beds and a beautiful view of the sea. The only negative being there seemed to be only one double plug socket in the room, at the opposite end from the (great big) mirror - not ideal for a hen party.

Breakfast - delicious and great selection; croissants, brioche, crumpets, crusty bread, muffins, yoghurts, cereals, juice, tea and coffee

Bathrooms - newly refurbished and clean. Split male/female with the females having two showers and one toilet.

Staff - Rob very friendly and helpful with directions, allowing us to stick around in the lounge after the 10am check-out.

Other - outside garden with BBQ, lovely seating area on bottom floor for sitting in a group (breakfast, evening, etc.) and open until 11pm, access to a fridge, toaster, microwave, kettle and hob... wish I'd known about the free wi-fi

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob S, Owner at Base Surf Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed what the lodge had to offer and thank you for the tips. We have added a poster of the Wifi code to make access more obvious and added socket multipliers to each of the larger rooms. Thanks for the help and best of luck with the wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Base Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Surf Lodge

Address: 20 Tower Road | Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base is a long established surf lodge ideally situated overlooking Fistral beach, the UK's finest surf break! The lodge is also a short easy walk to Newquay's centre with its buzzing nightlife, restaurants and shops.We have built a strong reputation for quality, comfort, affordability and, above all, fantastic vibes in a unique, chilled-out atmosphere.The lodge boasts comfortable dorm-style accommodation in rooms of 2, 4, 5 or 6 with crisp cotton linen supplied. Most rooms have panoramic views of Fistral or Newquay Bay beaches.We offer bed and continental breakfast from as little as £15 pppn, a cool, med-style basement lounge, free hot drinks, secure surfboard storage, and a sun-trap, BBQ patio set in tropical palms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Base Surf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Surf Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Surf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.