We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I cannot recommend this hostel enough!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Base Surf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Base Surf Lodge to your Saves list
Base Surf Lodge
20 Tower Road | Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1LR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“I cannot recommend this hostel enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Great welcome, excellent hostel. A wonderful wood and leather bar in the basement. One of the most competitively priced, and probably best surf schools in Newquay. Located 5 minutes walk from Fistral beach it is perfectly placed. My friend and I received virtually one on one tuition. If you want to learn how to surf from scratch then I cannot think of a better option.

Rob and Dale gave us advice about where to go out, and were damn nice guys. I can now surf, stand up and do turns after about 4 days total of surfing, and it is all thanks to Dale's top notch tuition. We will definitely be going back.

I cannot recommend this Hostel enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Straight away we were welcomed and shown to our room. Rob is a fantastic host he helped us get the best out of our stay and was very accomodating, also he made us a great continental breakfast each morning. Surf video's are on in the morning in the communal area and there are loads of surf magazines to read.

The rooms are clean secure comfortable and the garden is a great chillout spot. The showers are always hot and clean and also look out for Rob's toilet paper art.
The surf equipment is well maintained and great quality.
We wanted to learn to surf & rather not stay in a stag filled central hostel, Base was ideal for this!

Our surf lessons were top notch taught by Dale, he really helped us to get the best out of our surfing. By the end of our 3 night stay I could stand up & he even had us doing tricks too I managed to ride a perfect headstand all the way in! they sorted out a surf and stay package for us so there was no need to go to another surf school and the groups are taught small so you really get their full attention.

All in all I had a fantastic time and its thanks to Rob & Dale that I now have a new passion. Can't wait to go back and Base is where i will be staying!

Cheers guys!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends over the easter break. Close to the nightlife but pretty chilled and away from hen/ stag mania!! Rooms are clean and brekkie is free. We got 5 quid off our surf lesson with same and our instructor spent over the time in the water with us coaching. Excellent for beginners. Great that they leave you shower after the lesson too!!

Room Tip: Dont park in the church car park across the way - they charge you on a Sunday even!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Rob is a great host. This place is also his home and he makes you feel very welcome. The rooms are clean and warm. The showers are hot and powerful. The location is great for easy access to Fistral beach. Rob offers a good healthy breakfast and, with some surf and stay packages, a basic lunch (salad and sandwiches) which we took advantage of. The lunche was just the ticket after an energy-expending surf. Would definitely recommend. Excellent value too.

Room Tip: If you want a room to yourself you need to let Rob know as it's busy at the weekends and most ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Really fantastic light, airy, spacious and very clean rooms. The owner is a very helpful, friendly guy who is obviously really knowledgeable about how to get the best out of the local area. Great location- you can see Fistral beach from the Lodge, and town is only a minute or twos walk away. Super sunsets too. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-on-Crouch
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

A group of 10 guys (sadly all over 40) visited during May.
Young Rob is making a good go of this Lodge with the rooms and beds very clean.
Lots of hot water, toilet rolls and a good breakfast.
To be recomended.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Base Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Surf Lodge

Address: 20 Tower Road | Fistral Beach, Newquay TR7 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base is a long established surf lodge ideally situated overlooking Fistral beach, the UK's finest surf break! The lodge is also a short easy walk to Newquay's centre with its buzzing nightlife, restaurants and shops.We have built a strong reputation for quality, comfort, affordability and, above all, fantastic vibes in a unique, chilled-out atmosphere.The lodge boasts comfortable dorm-style accommodation in rooms of 2, 4, 5 or 6 with crisp cotton linen supplied. Most rooms have panoramic views of Fistral or Newquay Bay beaches.We offer bed and continental breakfast from as little as £15 pppn, a cool, med-style basement lounge, free hot drinks, secure surfboard storage, and a sun-trap, BBQ patio set in tropical palms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Base Surf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Surf Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Surf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.