We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Express

Shanghai Express
28-30 East Street, Newquay, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 180 Restaurants in Newquay
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Solihull, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great Service, Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Staying in Newquay, came across this little restaurant on TripAdvisor. Great Place to eat, as other reviews say, don't be put off by entrance. quick service and great tasting food. if in the area again, would go back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    35
    13
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Went here Saturday with my wife and daughter for the third year running in Newquay and the food is fantastic . Lenny who owns it always looks after you with the portions . highly recommend . Don't let the doorway put you off

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great price for takeaway, speedy service and reliable quality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We came here for a quick takeaway and were not disappointed. Food was ready in a matter of minutes and was tasty and well prepared. Perfect for Chinese in Newquay. Next time we're in town we will eat in!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent little Chinese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Don't be put off by the appearance of this place it's well worth a visit , the quality of the food and the prices are great as are the staff . We had several takeaways from there during our recent stay and will definitely be back again in September.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Takeout food was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

After having a bad experience down the road at Wah Hing and walking out, my wife and I came to this restaurant and got a takeout (as it was about half the price of eating in) and took it back to our hotel. The good was delicious and some of the best Chinese takeout I've had. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Express also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to Shanghai Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.