We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porth View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Porth View B&B
Save
You added Porth View B&B to your Saves list
16 Porth Way, Newquay TR73LP , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 109 Newquay B&B and Inns
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We are lucky to have found this B&B in Porth, Newquay.

Porth View is one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. We stayed for 2 weeks. The room is immaculate, comfortable, well equiped and tastefully decorated. Everywhere is cared for each day to maintain this high standard with regular fresh towels and bedding etc throughout the whole stay. Breakfast is superb, and is varied slighlty each morning.
Sandra is the perfect host. So friendly, and nothing is too much trouble.
We think the best way to sum up our experience at Porth View is by quoting from a little plaque that hangs in the B&B. It says something along the lines "Many come here as guests and leave as friends". We will definitely be recommending Porth View to all our friends.
Thankyou Sandra and Jim for two wonderful weeks, we will miss our morning chats. Thank you also for helping our daughters after their tents flooded in the bad rain. Hope to see you again.

Tony and Sheila Saxon, Selby, North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquaysandra, Owner at Porth View B&B, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review ,it was lovely to meet you both ,and yes, missing are chats ,hope to see you again soon .take care Sandra & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
24
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

A lovely warm welcome with friendly service. Sandra went above and beyond the call of hostess! Breakfast was amazing and very individual which was great if you have special dietary needs. We could come and go as we pleased and Sandra was always on hand to give advice about places to go. excellent value and it was lovely that the dog was made so welcome too! Would definitely go back, thanks for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquaysandra, Owner at Porth View B&B, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us ,it was lovely to meet you both and Ted ,thanks for the review ,hope to see you all again soon Sandra & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Porth view is a lovely b and b with fab views ..Sandra is an excellent host very warm and friendly..and very helpful..
Beds are really comfortable.
Breakfast very filling and tasty.
We loved it here..there is a balcony decking area with tables and chairs to sit out and enjoy the views over porth..
Close to bus routes and the beaches 5 min walk.
I highly recommend this b and b ..
10 ++++

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquaysandra, Owner at Porth View B&B, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thanks for your lovely review ,it was nice to meet you both ,and hope to see you again .sandra & jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

A super B and B, far better than some top price hotels in the area, comfortable spotless bedroom, a first class breakfast, just a beautiful home from home tasteful decor and much thought has gone in to every need of their guests, from the pen to the tea making facilities and the biscuits unbelievable even a pair of scissors to help open those little pots of milk and the nice fat information pack to peruse all that is on offer in the area. The Proprietors are the most genuine I have ever met. On a practical note the Guest house is ideally situated with a bus stop to the airport and also the town outside the door, if only Newquay wasn't so far away and so awkward for me to get to I would chill out here at least once a year. If you are lucky enough to have googled and found this Guest House book quickly as you have certainly struck lucky. Good luck to you Sandra and Jim and congratulations on owning such a wonderful home. Thank you for all your help.

Room Tip: Just Book it is an absolute delight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquaysandra, Owner at Porth View B&B, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review ,it was nice to have met you and enjoyed are chats ,hope to see you again one day .Sandra & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We booked the Porth View based on the reviews on trip advisor and its location (we already know the area), we stayed for a week with our 5 month old son (his first trip away).

There is not much we can add to what other people have already said. We were made very welcome on arrival, the Breakfast was superb with slightly different variations each day, the rooms clean and tidy.

Sandra was a mine of useful information on the local area, and places to eat and visit etc, coupled with this there was plenty of visitor information in the room and in the open areas which proved very usefull.

We will be looking to return here again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Porth View B&B, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank You for your review ,it was lovely to meet you all ,,and so glad Jonathan had his first Cornish holiday with us and hope to see you all again ,look forward to see him walking xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We were very lucky and fortunate to have found this fantastic B&B in Newquay. As every other guest realised and have written here, this B&B is truly a hidden gem in Newquay. We went for the Jubilee bank holiday and stayed for 3 nights. We decided on Porth View purely based on the reviews here by other guests and because of close proximity to a beach. Also, as a family we wanted to be slightly away from the town centre, which can get noisy at nights.

We were absolutely delighted to note that the Porth beach was literally 3 minutes walk and was visible from the front deck. Sandra welcomed us at the door. She is a very warm and friendly person and right from the start she made us feel at home and ensured we had were comfortable throughout our stay. Just after we arrived she gave us all the insider tips on where to eat, which beaches are family friendly, the shortcut walk to the town centre and on places to visit in Cornwall. All this while having some nice tea and biscuits.

Breakfast was included and it was very sumptuous indeed. Veg options were available and all dishes were freshly prepared and served hot every morning. It was full English breakfast including juice, cereals and coffee/tea. The breakfast really used to fill us up so much that on couple of days we skipped lunch and managed with some snacks while exploring different places.

The house in general and the room in particular was very well kept with all modern amenities including Wi-fi, TV and DVD player with ensuite.

Newquay was such a good base for us. From here, we were able to cover all parts of Cornwall by car during the day and return back to Newquay. We have made friends with Sandra and Jim and we hope to return on another holiday soon! We even had a group photo taken :)

Thank you for having us Sandra.

P.S. we were 3 adults and 1 toddler (3 yrs old).

Room Tip: Sandra is quite flexible and tries to fit in guests' requests as much as possible. Feel free to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Porth View B&B, responded to this review, June 24, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review ,it was nice to meet your lovely family and that you all enjoyed your time with us ,and loved your first time in cornwall ,hope its not to long till we see you all again Sandra & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed for a couple of days, room was comfortable with views of Porth. Sandra was warm and friendly and helpful. We had a huge full english breakfast each morning. Excellent value for money. Only a short walk down to Porth which has a wonderful white sandy beach.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquaysandra, Owner at Porth View B&B, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review ,so glad you enjoyed your stay with us ,hope to see you both in the future sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porth View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porth View B&B

Address: 16 Porth Way, Newquay TR73LP , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porth view is a small friendly bed and breakfast within walking distance of two lovely beaches porth and lusty glaze,both bedrooms have modern furnishing and new en suites and wi-fi and tv with freeview and dvd, aiso tea and coffee facilities , hairdryer, breakfast is severed in the privately of your bedroom or on the decking outside which as sea views ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Porth View B&B Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porth View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.