We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Lodge Newquay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Lodge Newquay to your Saves list
Ocean Lodge Newquay
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   61-63 Tower Road, Newquay TR7 1LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Reading the not so great comments below, i find it hard to believe we stayed in the same place. Absolutely brilliant lodge, great value, brilliant bar and brilliant location. Craig was fantastic at helping us out from the very first phone call. Also the service we received when we arrived was top notch. I organised a trip for 18 people and every single one of them said how good the lodge was. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    18
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
3
3
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Went away with a group of friends on a stag do in Newquay. The Ocean Lodge is an absolutely fantastic place and is perfect for groups of friends / large groups going away, who want a chilled out and friendly environment.

The owner Craig I cannot thank enough, he is friendly and helpful without being in-your-face at all. He gave us a warm welcome, and promptly opened the bar upon request! This was much needed after a 360 mile journey :-)

The rooms are really well looked after and clean, and the decor is really cool and in-keeping with the surf-vibe, perfect for Newquay. All the facilities were spot-on, as was the breakfast, all-in-all for the price we were absolutely delighted.

In terms of location you are situated literally 2 minutes walk from a beach, and bars and restaurants, and Craig was really helpful in recommending good places to go to eat / drink, and was able to advise on activities and events in the area.

I really would not hesitate in recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Went to Newquay for a week with friends and not knowing what to do, Craig and his family immediately informed us on what to do and what's good!
Is very near one of the main beaches and is close to nightlife and restaurants!
Had an even better week thanks to him!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Came down for a week to Newquay with some of the lads while we were on summer leave from the Army and can't fault it! Craig and family made us feel really welcome and couldn't be more helpful, it was a great place to chill out after a big night and a great place to have a big night! Many, many laughs, good banter and a good location, we'll definitely be staying there again when we go down. Its just awesome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great place to stay, great price and great atmosphere. Stayed as part of a band playing at board masters and couldn't be made more welcome. Craig and Carole are amazing! All people staying get close and have a great time at the on site bar listening to music and enjoying a drink. Thank you guys for a great experience and will be seeing you very soon!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We brought a corporate group down to Newquay as part of a 'Surf's Up' incentive trip during the first week of July - We had the a fantastic time and are so glad we chose to hire out Ocean Lodge exclusively for 40 guests. The rooms were clean and tidy, with comfy beds and en-suite shower rooms. The communal area was perfect, providing a relaxed chill out area for the group to meet and enjoy a drink at the bar.

Thank you so much to Craig, Danielle and Carol for you exceptional hospitality and keeping us sane after a few unfortunate events during the trip!! They went out of their way to make sure all our requirements were catered for and couldn't have asked for anything more!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgware, Middlesex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My friend and I (2 females) stayed for 2 nights on 27th July and were very impressed. I have stayed at various lodges in Newquay but Ocean definitely felt more family-run and caring. The staff are very accommodating - I am not just saying that - there are quite a few examples! One being the early hours of Monday when we brought home some stragglers we found in town (we didn't allow them upstairs...honest!!). We accidentally woke up the owner's wife Carol and she was very good about it, but once again...we are very sorry!

The breakfast is way better than other hostels who advertise 'continental breakfast.' Ocean provides toast, cereal, yoghurts, tea and coffee, orange juice, with fruit available all day.

The room is clean and looks modern, with an en-suite. Craig stays up to chat to revellers coming in at all hours, so this adds a nice personal touch. He is mindful of the safety of females staying there.

The cat Lady Rose is friendly and fearless. And Cass is a sweet little bonus!

The only request I would make is for more Nutella at breakfast for when I return, as I finished the last bit....it was delicious! :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Lodge Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Lodge Newquay

Address: 61-63 Tower Road, Newquay TR7 1LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Lodge Newquay 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Door to Shore, we are the nearest large Surf Lodge to Fistral Beach (the UKs premier surf spot) and Newquay Town Centre - all just a 3 minute walk away. Ocean Lodge is a cool and friendly budget Surf Lodge Hotel in the heart of Newquay. We offer modern basic rooms at great rates. Large groups of 80+ people can be catered for, exclusive booking of the hotel is also available upon request. We also offer a Light Breakfast (tea/coffee, toast/jams, cereal, Free Parking and Free Wifi (in the bar). Large groups are welcome including Stags, Hens, Sports Tours, Surf Holidays, Schools, University Tours, Walking Groups etc - we have plenty of storage for sports equipment. Funky on-site Bar and entertainment area with cheap drinks. Fresh Juices and Smoothies available and late night Bacon & Sausage Baps for hungry hounds. Ocean Lodge is situated just 3 minutes walk from Fistral Beach and the Bars, Clubs and Restaurants of Newquay. We also have an on-site Surf School (Adams Surfboards Surf School) who not only offer surfing but also Bodyboarding and a whole range of activities (Go-Karting, Paintball, Stand Up Paddle Boarding, Waverider etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Lodge Newquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Lodge Newquay Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Lodge Newquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.