We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you are looking for somewhere to stay in newquay stay here!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newquay Reef Surf Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newquay Reef Surf Lodge
Save
You added Newquay Reef Surf Lodge to your Saves list
5-7 Springfield Road, Newquay, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“if you are looking for somewhere to stay in newquay stay here!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just want to first say thankyou to Jacquie & her partner for a lovely week at the lodge, the couple really work their socks off to keep the hostel spotless and a welcoming place for us to chill out. I came down to Newquay with my friend, we are both 21 and were down for Boardmasters & all the comps and we had an amazing week!

I was really nervous to stay at a hostel, as the few i've stayed in before were awful, the newquay reef surf lodge in comparison is in a league of its own! I was so pleasantly surprised at how clean and lovely everything was. The bedrooms are a good size and even though we didn't have en suite we had a sink in our room which was handy! The shared showers were nice and big and always one free. A big group of us would always pre drink in the communal living room which is lovely and spacious and has pool. And on the one night we stayed in we all chilled round the sofas watching tv! Other great things about the hostel -

PRICE - it was the cheapest we found, we couldn't quite believe how nice the hostel was for just £90 for the 5 nights when other hostels in newquay were charging tripple that price! (and had worse reviews on here)

LOCATION - Perfect location, beach on the door step, asda round the corner, 5 mins walk from the clubs and 10 minutes to fistral beach for all the competitions

We were really fortunate to have met such a lovely group of people this week we had a fab time with them, and within 5 minutes of meeting them in the communal room we were out partying!

thankyou for an ace week, we will be back next year!!

Keeley

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Great price for money. Stayed the summer of 2013 with 4 other girls. We shared a room of 2 and a room of 4 with an en-suite with a spare bed after a friend dropped out. Our 4 bed was probably the smallest, making it extremely hard to move about and make it stuffy at night but I think the size is luck of the draw. Cheap as chips, clean, open, right next to nightlife and right next to shops/fast-food. The owners were lovely and very patient with loud guests! Great place for girls/lad holidays and would recommend 100%

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Rick came to the rescue when it turned out our booking at another lodge hadn't actually been made by the surf company we used to organise it. We were in Newquay for a stag and couldn't have found anywhere more perfect - we were in the sister-lodge across the road with big rooms, comfortable beds, and with no one else in the hostel our first night - a massive lounge that enabled us to get the party started in private. Couldn't recommend this place more!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Me and a group of 8 other lads stayed here for bank holiday in may fri-monday and paid £25 per night. Value was sensational. My only little flaw with the place is only one shower and toilet per floor but overall 3/4 in the building. Really nice owners who recognise what behaviour comes with a group of lads and girls. £20 deposit is required per person and if the room is left in a good state the money is returned. Please take your own towels, 2 or 3 for showers and the beach. Pool table in the communal room £1 per game. Sink and mirror in each room with place to hang clothes. About 2 or 3 sockets for chargers, docks iron etc. Situated right by asda with cashpoint, the entire strip of shops, bars, restaurants and takeaways. A cafe also round the corner with great food for the morning after a night out. Recommend a bar called Steam! Beer garden is immense with the right weather. Two beaches close by. Great place to be with a group of ppl and couldnt ask for more from the hotel/hostel itself. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

For £20 a night we were expecting your bog standard roof over your head jobby, what we found was the perfect accommodation for a group of girls for the weekend, we stayed in a room of 4 and a room of 2, the room of 4 had an en suite with a very spacious shower, and the mirrors were very handy in both rooms when it came to getting ready for the evening. The communal area was fantastic, and we made full use of it on the first night whilst watching TV and was great to have a drink in on the Saturday before heading out!
The lady who I'm assuming was the owner (although I didn't catch her name sorry!) was more than welcoming and beyond helpful! On the journey there we blew a tyre, and on the Saturday she helped me find a garage that would be open, even going as far as to walk with me! Even though I'm sure she had things more important to do, she was also very helpful with any questions we had.

Overall a great stay, this was my first trip to Newquay although some of the group had been before, however we will definitely be returning, and we will definitely be using this lodge again, fantastic thankyou so much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed for a weekend for a surf trip. Staff are so friendly and helpful, rooms are nice and more than affordable. Perfect location with the city centre and Tolcarne beach pretty much at the doorstep. Definitely returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gobowen, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Myself and a group of 15 other students aged between 17-18 stayed for a week last summer, and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves whilst we were there. So much so, we are now booking again for this year.

The accommodation is perfect for young people, particularly a group of friends as although it is basic, it is excellent value for money and you have all the facilities you could possibly need. There is a communal kitchen, which saved us a lot of money as we could cook instead of having to eat out all of the time. There’s also a room to chill out in, with sofa’s and a telly, and also a pool table. Right around the corner is an Asda, which we found very handy for getting supplies on the cheap.

The location is very central, meaning it’s just a short walk to reach the shops, restaurants, beach and nightlife. There is plenty of things to do in Newquay for all ages. Although half of our group were under 18, we were pleasantly surprised as to what was on offer in the evenings for this age group. For those over 18, Newquay has a vibrant night life. Reps visited the lodge to inform us of what was available to do during our stay, so we found our week packed with a variety of things.

If you are looking for a fun, cheap and memorable holiday Newquay is the perfect place to visit. We loved the lodge, it’s clean and has friendly and helpful staff, perfect for a student holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newquay Reef Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newquay Reef Surf Lodge

Address: 5-7 Springfield Road, Newquay, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Newquay Reef Surf Hotel Newquay
Newquay Reef Surf Lodge Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newquay Reef Surf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.