We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach Hut

The Beach Hut
Watergate Bay, Newquay | Watergate Bay, Newquay TR8 4AA, England
+44 1637 860877
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 180 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: $16 - $47
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great for those wanting nice food and relaxed atmosphere. We went in after a long walk down the beach and despite us being rather windswept, the staff were friendly and welcoming. Service was good and menu had good selection of different types of food.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    169
    57
    30
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not so great this time around...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Having eaten here on previous visits to Cornwall we were eager to go again, sadly we were left feeling rather disappointed.
The menu was pretty much the same as last year with a few items deleted.
The staff didn't seem attentive and the food was presented quite poorly.
I had celeriac soup which was tasteless, my husband enjoyed his pulled pork sandwich but complained there wasn't enough pork but far too many chips, our son ordered from the unadventurous children's menu.

I won't visit again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great food with fresh fish as you'd expect. Not so expensive as thought it would be as it is part of the Cornish "foodie" scene. There was even some sand stepped in to the entrance and we watched surfers as the sun went down. Quite a rough sea but a cosy atmosphere in the Beach Hut.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A little gem on the beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We visited for breakfast on a Sunday morning. We had a great view overlooking Watergate Bay and unlike many beachfront eateries it wasn't too cold!

The quality of the coffee served was excellent and my daughter's hot chocolate was spectacular with whipped cream, marshmallows and chocolate pieces.

The breakfasts were served quickly and were of high quality. The sausages were nice and meaty and the bacon tasty. The bread was thick and fresh.

This is a little gem of a find and well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a great find - we popped in for coffee and ended up going back later for dinner. Good food and staff, amazing views - looks right out onto the beach and you can take your dog in with you.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach Hut also viewed

Newquay, Cornwall
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Beach Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.