We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Newquay View Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newquay View Resort
Save
You added Newquay View Resort to your Saves list
Trevelgue Road | Porth, Newquay TR8 4AS, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off 2015 holidays!!
Ranked #49 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Newquay
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're coming on holiday to Newquay I'd seriously consider staying at a better holiday park. Owners are obnoxious and treat staff poorly. Food is expensive and the amenities are dirty. Newquay has got better parks. Spend your hard earned money elsewhere.

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    47
    28
    14
    19
See reviews for
75
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We booked the Newquay View resort through the sun holidays offer several months ago. One of the reasons for choosing this particular park was the amenities on offer and the fact we had never been to Newquay. The dates were selected as they coincided with my wife's birthday. A few weeks prior to our weekend I received an email to say it was their low season and reception would only be open until 5pm and if we arrived after this our key would be left in a red box outside reception. After a long drive on Friday we arrived around 7pm to a half lit (what seemed like abandoned camp site). I struggled to find the reception area in the poor light but had no problem finding our key pack. We then had to find the caravan which we located quickly enough but there was no clearly visible number to check it was ours, luckily it was. The caravan was actually very good, large, spacious and ideal for our small group. The 1 star review is because in with our Welcome pack there was an "opening times" sheet with times for all amenities. Now bearing in mind when you book through the sun there is a list of what amenities the park has and the reason we booked was because of these - to say we were gutted that every single amenity had "closed" next to it would be an understatement. Indoor pool - closed, shop - closed, chip shop and dinner - closed, main venue bar - closed! This meant that other than a reception with reduced hours there was not 1 thing on the site open and nothing for us to do. The camp is a fair distance from anything else (certainly a car drive not walking distance) so we were not best pleased so we hadn't brought much shopping as we planned to do this on arrival. There was no communication to say all amenities would be closed either by e mail or phone before we arrived and the website does not indicate things are closed in the low season either. In my opinion they should not have accepted our booking without informing us everything would be closed. Again we only booked this park because of its location and it's amenities. I feel misled and very upset that we had told our 4 year old all about Sammys surf club and the pool and were not able to visit either. Thankfully we went to Newquay zoo, out for a meal and to the Laapa Valley railway so we had things to do but we cut our holiday short by 1 night as it just wasn't worth staying on site. I can't leave anything other than a 1 star review as I had no opportunity to experience any of the amenities the park had to offer.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

Came here in november for three nights. Some things on thr site where not open as end of season which was understandable. We went to the pub om the site where staff where very friendly. The caravan we stayed on was great, very clean and had everything we needed. Location was good but you do need a car to get around, not really walking distance to much. Overall brilliant few nights stay.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

we been coming here for 10 years (trevelgue) this year NEQUAY VIEW RESORT nothing new with accommodation but I just need comfort warmth and a cooker and im ok got 3 grandchildren with me and it was ok ENTERTAINMENT the thing we use to go for ADAM AND HIS TEAM it was ok but lacked friendliness the team and Sammy needed a rocket up there but to get some umph! in them Sammy needed valium no photo no hugs of Sammy no mixing with audience team 2014 you need to get some fun in your blood BUT the guy that gets my 10 out of 10 is ANDREW (DREW) in the arcade he was helpful /friendly /and just a lovely lad who in my view had the worst job overlooking the arcadeGIVE HIM A TEAM JOB got the lovliest personality S WEEK will I go back not sure :((((((

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinta_NewquayView, Guest Relations Manager at Newquay View Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Patricia K,

We do value all feedback we receive so thank you for taking the time to submit your review.

As you know there is a new company here which took over in March 2014 - Peter Bull Resorts. With the new ownership there have been many changes made this year perhaps the most obvious being the new Park name! Our new entertainments team are a young group of talented performers from London's Stage and Production House. This year was of course their first year here and as with any first year there were certain aspects we were delighted with and a few aspects that we will tweak for next year – so watch this space!

Thank you for your very kind comments about Drew. He is a highly valued and popular member of staff. His incredibly helpful & friendly approach to work has gained him many fans this season!

We do have a long term renovation program in place for all aspects of the park so I do hope you change your mind and give us another chance to impress you especially as you have been coming here for such a long time! We are working extremely hard on improving the standards of the holiday park overall so it would be lovely for you to come back to experience this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Check in at four but our caravan wasn't ready, Kate apologised and gave us bar vouchers which was nice and unexpected as we didn't moan or complain. We didn't get the caravan we was promised on booking only had two rooms instead of three and they didn't have another spare for us. No linen package on arrival and had to request this twice before it finally arrived four hours after we first asked. The caravan was nice from first sight but after looking around was very disappointing the rooms all smelt and everything was damp so sleeping was uncomfortable, cobwebs on all lights with four bulbs not working. Worst of all the handle to the grill was not the correct item and found out whilst cooking hot food as it wouldn't hold the pan and fell and burnt me. To which the many half heartedly apologised had it replaced but kept repeating "there was nothing she could do about it" other issues but not so bad. Big problem was with caravan 81 there are two large hedges wirh two steps inbetween to access caravan at night is pitch black and cannot see the steps which is highly dangerous a small light would definatley fix this issue.
After all these problems there is a positive point. They have only had the site since January and they have seemed to pushed alt into the venue and site and they look like they trying but unfortunately wasn't good enough for this season I think within four years it will be a great site if they put the effort in...

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinta_NewquayView, Guest Relations Manager at Newquay View Resort, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Dear Naython J,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Newquay View Resort. We do value all feedback both positive and negative so we know what we are getting right and which areas we still need to enhance. As you have noted yourself the Park is under new ownership as Peter Bull Resorts bought the Park in March 2014. This has not given us as much time as we would of liked to make any changes before the holiday season in Cornwall. However we do have a long term renovation plan in place for Newquay View Resort so watch this space! As you have seen we have started with a full refurbishment of the Venue clubhouse. We will also be looking at improvements in all areas of the Park and in particular we will be looking at our accommodation. We want to not only improve the caravans we have but we are also looking at new caravans and maybe lodges, surf pods and even glamping! I am sorry to hear that you encountered some issues during your stay and the constructive criticism will be passed on the relevant departments. I do hope that you consider returning in the future when we are further along in our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

Our Fourth visit this year and was looking forward to seeing all the changes going from Trevelgue to Newquay View. Our first change was the price! We paid three times the amount we had previously so could only assume they had made it 'very special'. As we liked to book a particular caravan it was explained that this van was now a part of their 'Gold' range......was we looking forward to the visit albeit a lot lighter in the pocket! Picked the keys up as normal, knew exactly where we were going.......same caravan, same spot. A bigger TV, a new microwave, a new toaster, beds made and the most horrible green thick and heavy crockery! The van itself had never been dirtier. What a big disappointment! I could not understand how these changes could warrant the massive increase in price - must have been spoilt when it was Trevelgue. Had to buy my mum who is a pensioner a cup as they were just too heavy (prior to adding the drink) and a glass for us both as drinking from thick, heavy bright pink, green, purple and yellow glasses was not very inviting. Why change the cutlery? The white set and clear glasses surely were better for the 'Gold' vans and added finesse instead of lowering the tone! What is with the white bed linen? Oh my, this was a disaster with my kids! On this visit, we were missing quite a few items from the kitchen including the washing up bowl, we did not have enough bedding or covers. A request was taken to reception but by tea time the next day nothing had arrived it was left to Security to provide most of the missing items. Staff were not very friendly and morale seemed to be very low. The bar Manager was on another planet; was rude and did not have any people skills whatsoever! For the size of the park you would have thought the new play area would have a bit more about it. The shop seemed to be one of the improved areas as it actually had food to buy in it this year and was under different ownership. The Entertainment Team were very young and this was their first year, their manager had walked out on them and they have to follow a schedule drawn up by the outside entertainment company which does not allow them much personal movement, they just need to interact more. They could never be a comparison to the old 'Adam & Team' entertainment as they were in a class of their own and as it was in-house was adapted, they were just fab. All in all, our holiday was a little disappointing. When I queried the justification of the price of the van with reception, I was asked whether the TV was larger and whether there was a new microwave, toaster and were the beds made! Mmmmmmmmmmm. The site seems to have lost something along the way of changing hands, lost the friendliness, lost the communication, lost the team spirit...lost us! Sadly we will not be re-visiting Newquay View after our happy years there but the worst of it is, is when you know that Newquay View are not bothered, Trevelgue would have been and that is why people went back time and time again.
Putting money into a new venture does not always mean it's a good place. You need to have the right staff to make it work.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

This was the second time we had been to this park and I have got to say that the staff were very friendly .. especially a lady who worked at the venue . I think her name wad Daisy ..Nothing was every to much trouble , she made us feel very welcome for all of our holiday ..Not many people say alot about the staff so i thought i would give them a mention ... Daisy if you ever read this comment we would like to thank you from the bottom of our hearts . The kids loved you.
Make sure you are there next year as we are coming back
Keep up the good work Newquay View Resort !!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newquay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newquay View Resort

Address: Trevelgue Road | Porth, Newquay TR8 4AS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Newquay
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Big changes for the new holiday season are underway at the re-launched Newquay View Resort on Cornwall’s spectacular Atlantic Coast.Now under the professional ownership and management of the Peter Bull Resorts Group, you’ll find that we have invested over £500,000 on improving our accommodation and park facilities.With new caravans in our hire fleet and enhancements made to all of our existing caravans, we aim to offer our customers the very best quality at an affordable price. This year, you’ll even find the beds have been made for you on arrival, with crisp new monogrammed linen.Our exciting new entertainment team have planned a fantastic club programme, including cabaretnights and all your favourites. The popular café returns under new management with extra takeaway options that can be ordered from your caravan, as well as those important cooked breakfasts and delicious evening barbecues.For children, new for 2014, we have ”Surfing Sami’s Wipeout Club” providing daily fun andentertainment plus that all-important welcome from Sami on arrival. Also in place is a brand new children’s playground and we have refitted the amusement arcade with new machines. Our heatedindoor & outdoor pools will be open throughout the main season.To welcome back our tourers and campers, we have upgraded all the washrooms, showers, toiletsand the launderette to make your stay more comfortable and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trevelgue Holiday Park Hotel Newquay
Newquay View Resort Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newquay View Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.