We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really liked it but a few improvements needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cotehele Lodge

Cotehele Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cotehele Lodge to your Saves list
Cotehele Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   84 Tower Road, Newquay TR7 1LY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 109 Newquay B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“We really liked it but a few improvements needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We just stayed at Cotehele Lodge this weekend gone (8th July - 12th July). We stayed in the Towan Suite at £90 per night. The room was very spacious, very well decorated, and clean on arrival. It was not really a "Suite" as such, just more like a room with an on-suite bathroom. The owner (Nick) was very friendly on arrival and let us check in early 11am, but i did let him know in advance of our time of arrival. The location was very good, about a 5-10 min walk from Fistral Beach, 5 min walk into the town centre and there was a Sainsbury's 2 mins away.
We had a really good stay. The only things i would improve were the houskeeping. We asked for our room to be cleaned and were told we would need to put the sign on out door. This was on the reverse on the "Do not disturb" sign but we were not told this when we checked in, which is why we asked for it to be cleaned. On the second day we put the make up our room sign on the door, but the room wasn't vacumed, the bed linen was not changed throughout our stay (4 nights) and the bath was not cleaned. There was also a funny smell on the towels! We requested late checkout on the day of our departure and were unable to do so as there were more guest coming to our room, so we had to check out at 10am which i feel is very early as checkout is normally 12noon in most hotels and B&B's.
Breakffast was served between 8am-9am which once again was very early when you are on holiday so we just got breakfast from the cafe down the road. All in all it was good stay just a few improvements to be made,and i would stay there again.

Room Tip: Towan Suite and Fistral Suite both quite good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquaynick, Owner at Cotehele Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2011
Sorry but if a guest puts do not disturb on the door I generally leave them alone and do not go in their room . On the second day the cleaner went in your room but she could not hoover as all your belongings were on the floor .she did not no what to do with the bath as you had tipped candle wax all over it . we only make your bed on a daily basis and change every 3 days . Most hotels and b&b s i have stopped in operate a 10am ish check out time but many do not let you check in till after 3pm we are a small b&b and try and get the rooms ready for you as soon as possible especially if we no you would like the room early a lot of wedding guests require this however in off peak times we can sometimes offer late checkout but not in july sorry .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    10
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

a very good hotel that is well furnished and decorated to a high standard, the owners nick and sonja are great hosts and run pobably the best b and b in newquay

Room Tip: rooms at the front have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

We were a group of three girls traveling down to newquasy for my 21st birthday. Friendly family, nice welcome. rooms were very clean and tidy. bed was comfy. Didnt have the breakfast in the morning, but i think it is good that they bring it to you rooms. It was easy to get in and out of the hotel when you wanted to, garanteed you have to be quiet. was not a problem. would definatly come again! and recomend this guest house to couples or familys. thank you.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nuneaton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

Having stayed at Cotehele lodge several times previously we were looking to our holiday with our teenage sons in August. Nick and Sonja's welcome has always been so warm and sincere making us feel welcome and comfortable.
Having spoke to Nick prior we knew that Cotehele had recently undergone a refurbishment. However nothing prepared us for the surprise on our arrival.What a superb transformation. This establishment must now rank among Newquays premier establishments.
The thought and quality of the furnishings and decor has to be experienced to be appreciated. Cotehele lodge is traditional but through meticulous planning has a contemporary refreshing aura. What is wonderfully absent however is that sometimes souless feeling that pervades some businesses vying for the upper sector of the hotel market.
I absolutely could not fault our stay with its superb welcome, facilities and location. We left feeling rejuvenated and content. For those wanting a special holiday at very reasonable rates you absolutely be entralled with cotehele. Cant wait for our next visit(s)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

My husband and I decided to visit Newquay for a few nights from the 25th July 2010. We were about to abandon the idea of having a break in Newquay as many of the main hotels wanted over £400 for a 3 night stay which is out of our price range.

After trawling the internet for several hours I found the Cotehele Lodge. I was slightly aprehensive about booking into a B and B as we have never done so before, but after reading other reviews on here I decided to take a chance. I booked the superior double room by phone after looking at the Cotehele Lodge web-site, and to my delight there was an additional £20 taken off the room price for booking early which was honoured when I phoned up. We got an amazing price for a 3 night stay and it was within our budget that we were looking for.

We arrived around 2pm and were greated with a very friendly smile and a very neat, and tidy hallway. It looked as though the entire building had recently received a full refurbishment which was lovely.

We were shown straight up to our room which was number 5 and were greeted with a large double bed, clean carpets and a clean and immaculate bathroom. The wardrobe had ample hangers for your clothes and beside each side of the bed were handy 3 chest of drawers for your personal belongings. There was also a complimentary tea, coffee and hot chocolate tray - I recommend the hot chocolate it is lovely! There was also free internet within the building which was great as we brought our laptop.

If you require breakfast in the morning it is served in your room and we had fold away chairs and tables to eat off which was very handy and convenient. Breakfast was lovely and is served between 8am and 9am. Whatever time you asked for it, it was there on time and it was hot and there is plenty to choose from so I really recommend it. After browsing the town centre the £5 they charge for breakfast is very reasonable since I did not find breakfast cheaper anywhere else.

The lodge is very conveniently placed. There is a Spar shop across the road and a large Sainsbury's which is a 3 minute walk away. The town centre of Newquay is a 5 minute walk if that.

The owners are lovely and are always on hand to offer advise on the best places to visit. We were recommended to go to the Healeys Cyder Farm which is free to go in and you get to sample cider, wine and jams for free. Beware though as it all tastes so good you end up spending a fortune! We went back to the cider farm twice to pick up more homemade jams and cider to bring home!

All in all we had a lovely few days away and the Cotehele Lodge is a lovely place and I would highly recommend it for great value for money and its good location. We will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

The accommodation is absolutely perfect. The bedroom is very well decorated, and noticeably well cleaned and maintained. All rooms include a TV with freeview and a DVD player. There is also a lovely dining table in the window of the room upon which breakfast is served. The breakfast is amazing!!! All ingredients are locally sourced and perfectly cooked. The en-suite bathroom is very clean and ideally sized, including both a bath and shower. The bed is very comfortable and the bedding is very tasteful and clean. All-in-all the accommodation was far superior to any other accommodation I have found in Newquay and is within 5 minutes walking distance to both Fistral beach and Newquay shops in town.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

We've been coming Newquay for many years and stayed at various guest houses but this has got to be the best one so far and we will be stopping there again in the near future. The location is really good only 5 minutes away from town centre and beach. Very friendly hosts and nothing is to much trouble for them. The breakfast is really good. With free range eggs and real thick cut bacon.I would recommend this guest house to anyone.

All the best
Ady, Vicky and Tyler from Leicester x

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cotehele Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotehele Lodge

Address: 84 Tower Road, Newquay TR7 1LY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cotehele Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cotehele Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotehele Lodge Newquay, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotehele Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.